ChessUSA.com TalkChess.com
Hosted by Your Move Chess & Games
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated

 
Post new topic       TalkChess.com Forum Index -> Computer Chess Club: General Topics Threaded
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Engin Üstün



Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 796
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:44 am    Post subject: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

there are new updated version from Tornado and EnginMax available again!

on my site : http://sites.google.com/site/mychessengines/files

enjoy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James I



Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 137
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 5:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

Hi Engin, thanks for the work you're doing on your engines. Unfortunately, Tornado 3.6.6 is losing some games by time forfeit. (32-bit compile running in Arena.) I haven't tried the 64-bit version. The time losses occur either with opening books or epd files, it doesn't seem to matter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vlad Stamate



Joined: 08 Jan 2009
Posts: 161
Location: San Francisco, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 6:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

Arena is notoriously known for causing engines to run out of time even though the engine itself would have not on its own.

Make sure you always run tournaments in Arena with time increment.

What is worse, even those for some engines the effect is not that bad (as in they will not lose on time) the fact that Arena "eats" time can adversely influence how strong an engine plays therefore totally skewing any meaningful result.

I long ago gave up on Arena for anything related to deciding how strong an engine it. I still use for other purposes but I am always mindful of this shortcoming.

Regards,
Vlad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James I



Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 137
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 7:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

vladstamate wrote:
Arena is notoriously known for causing engines to run out of time even though the engine itself would have not on its own.

Make sure you always run tournaments in Arena with time increment.

What is worse, even those for some engines the effect is not that bad (as in they will not lose on time) the fact that Arena "eats" time can adversely influence how strong an engine plays therefore totally skewing any meaningful result.

I long ago gave up on Arena for anything related to deciding how strong an engine it. I still use for other purposes but I am always mindful of this shortcoming.

Regards,
Vlad.


So if you don't like Arena, which other GUI do you recommend for tournaments? Two others I considered but were avoiding were:

1)Winboard 4.4.3. I like the new engine configuration feature, but as far as I can tell, you still have to manually edit the winboard.ini file to install engines.

2)ChessGUI. This one is promising, but a don't like the fact that if you have a Winboard engine that doesn't have an ini or config file, he recommends that you use the wb2uci adaptor. (I absolutely HATE using adaptors. Too much tweaking required.)

Also, it seems that many engines don't really have a problem with losing time in Arena. (Or at least it seems many engines never have time forfeits in Arena.) Could it be that those programmers knwo something others don't know?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graham Banks



Joined: 26 Feb 2006
Posts: 29819
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

Jimbo I wrote:

2)ChessGUI. This one is promising, but a don't like the fact that if you have a Winboard engine that doesn't have an ini or config file, he recommends that you use the wb2uci adaptor. (I absolutely HATE using adaptors. Too much tweaking required.)


Using the wb2uci adapter is easy. You do need to be aware that you must insert command line parameters when necessary though (which isn't all that often).
Try ChessGUI. You won't be disappointed.
_________________
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Engin Üstün



Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 796
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

yes, thats right with Arena and without time increment its a problem NOT the engine it self

I use mostly the Shredder Chess Classic GUI, free for 30-days or buy it for very cheap cost under 30 €
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James I



Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 137
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:13 am    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

Graham Banks wrote:
Jimbo I wrote:

2)ChessGUI. This one is promising, but a don't like the fact that if you have a Winboard engine that doesn't have an ini or config file, he recommends that you use the wb2uci adaptor. (I absolutely HATE using adaptors. Too much tweaking required.)


Using the wb2uci adapter is easy. You do need to be aware that you must insert command line parameters when necessary though (which isn't all that often).
Try ChessGUI. You won't be disappointed.


Actually I tried it before with a few engines, but when I thought about installing Phalanx Reborn (no ini or config file), I got frustrated and dumped everything. Maybe I'll try it again.

So Phalanx does use command line parameters. Do you somehow put the command line parameters in the wb2uci.eng file, or are they added via the GUI install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James I



Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 137
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:16 am    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

Engin wrote:
yes, thats right with Arena and without time increment its a problem NOT the engine it self

I use mostly the Shredder Chess Classic GUI, free for 30-days or buy it for very cheap cost under 30 €


OK, I'll either add an increment to Arena or switch GUIs. Thanks for getting back to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graham Banks



Joined: 26 Feb 2006
Posts: 29819
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:23 am    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

Jimbo I wrote:
So Phalanx does use command line parameters. Do you somehow put the command line parameters in the wb2uci.eng file, or are they added via the GUI install?


Have a look in the ChessGUI readme file - Matthias has listed what you need to do for each engine.

When using the wb2uci adapters, I put the command line parameters in the exe name inside the folder. Here is an example:

[ENGINE]
Name=Dirty 6J-22
Author=Andres Valverde and Pradu Kannan
Filename=DirtyUci.exe

[OPTIONS]
Program=Dirty.exe -hash 128 -degbb G:\egbb -dcache 32
_________________
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
James I



Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 137
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:31 am    Post subject: Re: Tornado 3.6.5 and EnginMax 5.12a updated Reply to topic Reply with quote

Graham Banks wrote:
Jimbo I wrote:
So Phalanx does use command line parameters. Do you somehow put the command line parameters in the wb2uci.eng file, or are they added via the GUI install?


Have a look in the ChessGUI readme file - Matthias has listed what you need to do for each engine.

When using the wb2uci adapters, I put the command line parameters in the exe name inside the folder. Here is an example:

[ENGINE]
Name=Dirty 6J-22
Author=Andres Valverde and Pradu Kannan
Filename=DirtyUci.exe

[OPTIONS]
Program=Dirty.exe -hash 128 -degbb G:\egbb -dcache 32


Ah, I understand. It does look easy; I think I'll be able to get it working without any trouble. At least I hope so. Smile

Thanks for the help, Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic       TalkChess.com Forum Index -> Computer Chess Club: General Topics All times are GMT
Threaded
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Enhanced with Moby Threads