assert

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Henk
Posts: 7220
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:31 am

Re: assert

Post by Henk »

flok wrote:Thank you all guys but I'm more looking for things like "in situation x, check if alpha > score and score < tt val" etc.
Like: in null move, check if alpha = beta - 1 and so on.
If you use fail hard you know what to check. But fail hard is slower.

mar
Posts: 2559
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Full name: Martin Sedlak

Re: assert

Post by mar »

lucasart wrote:Undefined behaviors and subtle bugs are pervasive in C, and even more so in C++. If you're coding in a more robust language like D or C#, you shouldn't have this kind of problem.
nonsense.

if you index local arrays out of bounds, that's your problem.
C# is slower compared to C/C++/D, I don't see how D is more robust than C/C++ except that it zero-initializes by default (not talking about language features).

(if you think so, maybe you should switch to D/C#)

in fact, C++ is of course more "robust" than C, you can use std::array which checks bounds in debug mode and of course more.

Valgrind/DrMemory won't catch all problems, but they're pretty good.

now back to OP: asserts are nice but they also slow your code in debug mode, so too many of them probably hurts
elcabesa
Posts: 855
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 1:32 pm

Re: assert

Post by elcabesa »

You can find a lot of assert in position.h and position.cpp of Vajolet source code. It's probably not perfect but can give you some idea
Harald
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:07 am

Re: assert

Post by Harald »

If you want to test only parts of your code then you can do things like this:

In an header like basics.h

Code: Select all

// Which tests should be performed
#ifdef _DEBUG
#define ASSERT_BASICS&#40;c,t&#41;              &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
#define ASSERT_PRINCIPAL_VARIATION&#40;c,t&#41; &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
#define ASSERT_MOVE&#40;c,t&#41;                &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
...
#else
#define ASSERT_BASICS&#40;c,t&#41;
#define ASSERT_PRINCIPAL_VARIATION&#40;c,t&#41;
#define ASSERT_MOVE&#40;c,t&#41;
...
#endif
And in a file like move.cpp

Code: Select all

void Move&#58;&#58;set&#40; ColorType color, SquareType from, SquareType to,
                PieceType piece, PieceType capture,
                PromotionType promotion
              )
&#123;
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; color == White || color == Black, "Error&#58; bad color in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; from >= 0 && from < 64, "Error&#58; bad from in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; to   >= 0 && to   < 64, "Error&#58; bad to in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; piece >= Pawn && piece < 8, "Error&#58; bad piece in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; capture >= NoPiece && capture != King && capture < 8, "Error&#58; bad capture in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; promotion <= PromoteToKnight, "Error&#58; bad promotion in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    move_ = from | &#40;to << 6&#41; | &#40;promotion << 12&#41; | &#40;piece << 14&#41; | &#40;capture << 17&#41; | &#40;color << 20&#41;;
&#125;
F. Bluemers
Posts: 868
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:21 pm
Location: Nederland

Re: assert

Post by F. Bluemers »

flok wrote:Hi,

I'm looking to improve my program.
For that I'm adding asserts all over the place to check input variables, outgoing values, and so on.
I've also added an assert that if we're in a null move, then beta == alpha + 1.
My question now is: what other things are there to check for?


regards
The last question also shows why one should not overrate assert(),you already have to now what to look for...

Anyway,you can add asserts for hashtable initialized
board is valid before and after makemove
alpha<beta
remaining depth< limit or your killer and other tables
remaining depth>=0
various checks on a move(squares in range,piece,etc)
User avatar
hgm
Posts: 27811
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller

Re: assert

Post by hgm »

Knowing what I am going to test in an assert for me is almost the same as already realizing how I calculated it wrong. I get many errors in my engines, but when I finally smoked them out, they are always in a completely unexpected place, which I never imagined could go wrong, and would never have and the idea for to test it with an assert.

When you have a lot of incrementally updated stuff, it is very advisable to also have a routine to calculate it from scratch, and compare the two.
jdart
Posts: 4367
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: assert

Post by jdart »

Some things I do in debug mode:

Check that all scores returned by eval or from the hash are in the range of valid values (-MATE, +MATE).

Sanity check all moves returned from the move generator or the hash., or added to the PV array I.e. a valid piece is on the start square, the dest is not a same-color piece, etc.

I have a check after each move made that the hash code after the move (updated incrementally) matches the value calculated from scratch (not incrementally)

If you have C-style arrays, do a bound check on the index before access. (Or consider using <array> if C++).

--Jon
Ras
Posts: 2488
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 8:19 pm
Full name: Rasmus Althoff

Re: assert

Post by Ras »

mar wrote:if you index local arrays out of bounds, that's your problem.
That's only one of the countless pitfalls. C has tons of undefined behaviour. Like shifting by more than a variable's width, signed integer overflow or pointer aliasing. Together with increasingly hostile compilers, you can't even rely on well-tested code.

Under Linux, GCC offers a lot of sanitizer options that are useful during testing, and I'd advise to use them.
User avatar
lucasart
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 1:29 pm
Full name: lucasart

Re: assert

Post by lucasart »

Harald wrote:If you want to test only parts of your code then you can do things like this:

In an header like basics.h

Code: Select all

// Which tests should be performed
#ifdef _DEBUG
#define ASSERT_BASICS&#40;c,t&#41;              &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
#define ASSERT_PRINCIPAL_VARIATION&#40;c,t&#41; &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
#define ASSERT_MOVE&#40;c,t&#41;                &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
...
#else
#define ASSERT_BASICS&#40;c,t&#41;
#define ASSERT_PRINCIPAL_VARIATION&#40;c,t&#41;
#define ASSERT_MOVE&#40;c,t&#41;
...
#endif
And in a file like move.cpp

Code: Select all

void Move&#58;&#58;set&#40; ColorType color, SquareType from, SquareType to,
                PieceType piece, PieceType capture,
                PromotionType promotion
              )
&#123;
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; color == White || color == Black, "Error&#58; bad color in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; from >= 0 && from < 64, "Error&#58; bad from in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; to   >= 0 && to   < 64, "Error&#58; bad to in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; piece >= Pawn && piece < 8, "Error&#58; bad piece in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; capture >= NoPiece && capture != King && capture < 8, "Error&#58; bad capture in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; promotion <= PromoteToKnight, "Error&#58; bad promotion in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    move_ = from | &#40;to << 6&#41; | &#40;promotion << 12&#41; | &#40;piece << 14&#41; | &#40;capture << 17&#41; | &#40;color << 20&#41;;
&#125;
This is pointless. Just clutters the code for no reason.

Assert already prints the source file name and line when it fires.
Theory and practice sometimes clash. And when that happens, theory loses. Every single time.
AlvaroBegue
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:46 pm
Location: New York
Full name: Álvaro Begué (RuyDos)

Re: assert

Post by AlvaroBegue »

lucasart wrote:
Harald wrote:If you want to test only parts of your code then you can do things like this:

In an header like basics.h

Code: Select all

// Which tests should be performed
#ifdef _DEBUG
#define ASSERT_BASICS&#40;c,t&#41;              &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
#define ASSERT_PRINCIPAL_VARIATION&#40;c,t&#41; &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
#define ASSERT_MOVE&#40;c,t&#41;                &#123; if ( !&#40;c&#41; )  throw &#40;t&#41;; &#125;
...
#else
#define ASSERT_BASICS&#40;c,t&#41;
#define ASSERT_PRINCIPAL_VARIATION&#40;c,t&#41;
#define ASSERT_MOVE&#40;c,t&#41;
...
#endif
And in a file like move.cpp

Code: Select all

void Move&#58;&#58;set&#40; ColorType color, SquareType from, SquareType to,
                PieceType piece, PieceType capture,
                PromotionType promotion
              )
&#123;
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; color == White || color == Black, "Error&#58; bad color in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; from >= 0 && from < 64, "Error&#58; bad from in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; to   >= 0 && to   < 64, "Error&#58; bad to in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; piece >= Pawn && piece < 8, "Error&#58; bad piece in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; capture >= NoPiece && capture != King && capture < 8, "Error&#58; bad capture in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    ASSERT_MOVE&#40; promotion <= PromoteToKnight, "Error&#58; bad promotion in Move&#58;&#58;set&#40;)" )
    move_ = from | &#40;to << 6&#41; | &#40;promotion << 12&#41; | &#40;piece << 14&#41; | &#40;capture << 17&#41; | &#40;color << 20&#41;;
&#125;
This is pointless. Just clutters the code for no reason.

Assert already prints the source file name and line when it fires.
Those are pretty bad examples, but sometimes you do want to have a message to go with the assert. I have seen this trick used before:

Code: Select all

    assert&#40;a1 >= 0.0f && "negative values not yet supported");
When the condition is not satisfied you get a message like this:

Code: Select all

Assertion failed&#58; &#40;a1 >= 0.0f && "negative values not yet supported"), function main, file kk.cpp, line 44.