Polyglot 1.4w Released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Sven
Posts: 4052
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:57 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Full name: Sven Schüle

Re: Polyglot 1.4w5 Released

Post by Sven »

F. Bluemers wrote:

Code: Select all

Engine->Adapter: info depth 9 time 765 nodes 681518 score cp 147 pv d5f4 e2f4 f8f4 d2d4 f4f8 h1f1 f8f1
Engine->Adapter: bestmove d5f4 ponder e2f4
Engine->Adapter: info string QNodes: 525672 BCuts: 132249 NullRatio: 78.86 HashRatio: 24.54 PawnHashRatio: 96.18 EvalNodes: 525672 EvalPrune: 323409 EvalRatio: 61.52
Engine->Adapter: info depth  2
Engine->Adapter: info currmove f4e2 currmovenumber 1
So if this is the engine's reaction on "stop", does Polyglot ignore "bestmove d5f4 ..." here? For me it looks as if it does, and therefore I'm afraid I don't get the point yet, in why setting SyncStop might make any difference in this case.

Probably caused by my UCI blindness so far :shock:

Sven
F. Bluemers
Posts: 868
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:21 pm
Location: Nederland

Re: Polyglot 1.4w5 Released

Post by F. Bluemers »

Sven Schüle wrote:
F. Bluemers wrote:

Code: Select all

Engine->Adapter: info depth 9 time 765 nodes 681518 score cp 147 pv d5f4 e2f4 f8f4 d2d4 f4f8 h1f1 f8f1
Engine->Adapter: bestmove d5f4 ponder e2f4
Engine->Adapter: info string QNodes: 525672 BCuts: 132249 NullRatio: 78.86 HashRatio: 24.54 PawnHashRatio: 96.18 EvalNodes: 525672 EvalPrune: 323409 EvalRatio: 61.52
Engine->Adapter: info depth  2
Engine->Adapter: info currmove f4e2 currmovenumber 1
So if this is the engine's reaction on "stop", does Polyglot ignore "bestmove d5f4 ..." here? For me it looks as if it does, and therefore I'm afraid I don't get the point yet, in why setting SyncStop might make any difference in this case.

Probably caused by my UCI blindness so far :shock:

Sven
i guess "stop|" just means stop,from the protocol:

Code: Select all

* stop
	stop calculating as soon as possible,
	don't forget the "bestmove" and possibly the "ponder" token when finishing the search
notice that there was a pondermiss
(Engine->Adapter: info depth 9 time 765 nodes 681518 score cp 147 pv d5f4 e2f4 f8f4 d2d4 f4f8 h1f1 f8f1
Engine->Adapter: bestmove d5f4 ponder e2f4)
and that the move was still from that search.
F. Bluemers
Posts: 868
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:21 pm
Location: Nederland

Re: Polyglot 1.4w5 Released

Post by F. Bluemers »

OK,I hacked something up

1:to activate draw offers the engine has to define the "UCI_DrawOffers" parameter with the option command at startup.
2:to offer a draw or accept a draw offer:just send
"info string DrawOffer" to polyglot.
3:if winboard sends "draw" polyglot sends
"setoption DrawOffer draw" to the engine.

download beta:
www.geenvis.net/polyglot1.4w6.exe

Best
Fonzy
BubbaTough
Posts: 1154
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:18 am

Re: Polyglot 1.4w5 Released

Post by BubbaTough »

OK,I hacked something up
Sweet! As soon as I get home and sneak some time I will try it out.

-Sam
krazyken

Re: Polyglot 1.4w5 Released

Post by krazyken »

FYI it seems the 1.4w5 is missing the copying.txt file that I'm supposed to refer to. Will the 1.4w6 source be up soon? I'd like to give the draw features a try as well.
F. Bluemers
Posts: 868
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:21 pm
Location: Nederland

Polyglot 1.4w6 Released

Post by F. Bluemers »

krazyken wrote:FYI it seems the 1.4w5 is missing the copying.txt file that I'm supposed to refer to. Will the 1.4w6 source be up soon? I'd like to give the draw features a try as well.
The zip now contains source and exe of the 1.46w version.
Including "copying.txt".

Best
Fonzy
krazyken

Re: Polyglot 1.4w6 Released

Post by krazyken »

Thanks!
F. Bluemers
Posts: 868
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:21 pm
Location: Nederland

Polyglot 1.4w7 Released

Post by F. Bluemers »

No fixes/additions this time.
I tried fixing the source,so that it would compile under linux/unix again.
I cannot test this myself,can someone try..?

Best
Fonzy
krazyken

Re: Polyglot 1.4w7 Released

Post by krazyken »

I haven't the time to look at this in depth right now, but the short answer is no:

Code: Select all

$ g++ -O4 -pthread -o polyglot *.cpp
adapter.cpp: In function ‘void adapter_loop()’:
adapter.cpp:192: error: ‘adapter_step’ was not declared in this scope
adapter.cpp: In function ‘bool xboard_step()’:
adapter.cpp:256: error: ‘xboard_get’ was not declared in this scope
In file included from pipe.cpp:4:
pipe.h:1:21: error: windows.h: No such file or directory
In file included from pipe.cpp:4:
pipe.h:37: error: ‘HANDLE’ does not name a type
pipe.h:38: error: ‘BOOL’ does not name a type
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘void PipeStruct::Open(const char*)’:
pipe.cpp:141: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:142: error: ‘nOutput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:158: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:159: error: ‘nOutput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘void PipeStruct::Close() const’:
pipe.cpp:165: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:166: error: ‘nOutput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘void PipeStruct::ReadInput()’:
pipe.cpp:170: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘Boolean PipeStruct::CheckInput()’:
pipe.cpp:178: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:181: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘void PipeStruct::LineOutput(const char*) const’:
pipe.cpp:199: error: ‘nOutput’ was not declared in this scope
search.cpp: In function ‘void search_perft(const board_t*, int)’:
search.cpp:162: error: ‘my_timer_elapsed_cpu’ was not declared in this scope
User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1383
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:56 am
Location: London, England
Full name: Jim Ablett

Re: Polyglot 1.4w7 Released

Post by Jim Ablett »

krazyken wrote:I haven't the time to look at this in depth right now, but the short answer is no:

Code: Select all

$ g++ -O4 -pthread -o polyglot *.cpp
adapter.cpp: In function ‘void adapter_loop()’:
adapter.cpp:192: error: ‘adapter_step’ was not declared in this scope
adapter.cpp: In function ‘bool xboard_step()’:
adapter.cpp:256: error: ‘xboard_get’ was not declared in this scope
In file included from pipe.cpp:4:
pipe.h:1:21: error: windows.h: No such file or directory
In file included from pipe.cpp:4:
pipe.h:37: error: ‘HANDLE’ does not name a type
pipe.h:38: error: ‘BOOL’ does not name a type
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘void PipeStruct::Open(const char*)’:
pipe.cpp:141: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:142: error: ‘nOutput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:158: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:159: error: ‘nOutput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘void PipeStruct::Close() const’:
pipe.cpp:165: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:166: error: ‘nOutput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘void PipeStruct::ReadInput()’:
pipe.cpp:170: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘Boolean PipeStruct::CheckInput()’:
pipe.cpp:178: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp:181: error: ‘nInput’ was not declared in this scope
pipe.cpp: In member function ‘void PipeStruct::LineOutput(const char*) const’:
pipe.cpp:199: error: ‘nOutput’ was not declared in this scope
search.cpp: In function ‘void search_perft(const board_t*, int)’:
search.cpp:162: error: ‘my_timer_elapsed_cpu’ was not declared in this scope
Compiles with Cygwin with the following small changes >

Adapter.cpp (add to prototypes section)

Code: Select all

// prototypes
#ifndef _WIN32
static void adapter_step      ();
static void xboard_get        (xboard_t * xboard, char string[], int size);
#endif
Util.h (add to end)

Code: Select all

#ifndef _WIN32
#define my_timer_elapsed_cpu   my_timer_elapsed_real
#endif
Compile with >

Code: Select all

g++ -O4 -lpthread -opolyglot *.cpp 
Original used -pthread
Need to be -lpthread with cygwin.

Jim.