How to increase depth ?

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

NaltaP312
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:06 pm
Full name: Marc Paule

How to increase depth ?

Post by NaltaP312 »

Hello great team,

i'm developping an engine but it stop to the 11 or 12 depth when other engines like Stockfish go to 16 or more.
My engine have bitboard implementation with alpha beta and hash table but no killer move implemented again.

What is the best way to increase depth ?
How can i increase depth at the opening and not in the middle for example ?

Thanks for any help.
Regards and Happy NEw YEar for all programmers ;)
Yves
AlvaroBegue
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:46 pm
Location: New York
Full name: Álvaro Begué (RuyDos)

Re: How to increase depth ?

Post by AlvaroBegue »

Some ideas:
* Improve your move-ordering heuristics.
* Improve your hash.
* Tune your null-move pruning.
* Extend less.
* Prune more (specifically late-move reductions).
* Increase the speed of your program (in nodes per second).

Is that what you wanted to hear?
NaltaP312
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:06 pm
Full name: Marc Paule

Re: How to increase depth ?

Post by NaltaP312 »

Exactly.
So i will continue to study the wonderfull site ;) to understand how to improve each part.

http://chessprogramming.wikispaces.com/Bitboards

Thanks
Yves