Page 1 of 1

Nepomniachtchi cries foul on Armageddon

Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:01 am
by AdminX
Chessbase wrote: "It was the final match of the day, and the cliffhanger of cliffhangers. After tying their standard and rapid games, Nakamura and Nepomniachtchi each survived must-win situations to push the match to sudden death. After a dramatic game, the American prevailed and it was all over. Or was it? To the astonishment of all, the Russian filed an appeal demanding the result be nullified."
Chessbase wrote: "As it turned out, his opponent was informed that during the game the American had castled with both hands, something the FIDE rules specifically cite as an irregularity."
http://en.chessbase.com/post/nepomniach ... armageddon

Image

[pgn][Event "FIDE World Chess Cup 2015"]
[Site "Baku"]
[Date "2015.09.19"]
[Round "3.9"]
[White "Nepomniachtchi, Ian"]
[Black "Nakamura, Hikaru"]
[Result "0-1"]
[ECO "A16"]
[WhiteElo "2705"]
[BlackElo "2814"]
[Annotator "Robot 1"]
[PlyCount "112"]
[EventDate "2015.??.??"]
[EventCountry "AZE"]

1. c4 Nf6 2. Nc3 g6 3. g3 Bg7 4. Bg2 d6 5. Nf3 O-O 6. O-O Nc6 7. Rb1 e5 8. b4
Be6 9. d3 h6 10. Nd2 Qc8 11. b5 Ne7 12. a4 Bh3 13. Bb2 Bxg2 14. Kxg2 Kh7 15.
Nf3 c5 16. bxc6 Qxc6 17. Qb3 g5 18. e4 Nd7 19. Ba3 b6 20. Qb5 Nc5 21. Rfd1 f5
22. Bxc5 dxc5 23. a5 Qf6 24. Ne1 f4 25. Rd2 Nc6 26. Nd5 Qd6 27. axb6 axb6 28.
Qb2 Rab8 29. f3 h5 30. Nc2 g4 31. Rf1 Qg6 32. Rdf2 Rf7 33. Qc1 Bh6 34. Qd1 Rg8
35. fxg4 hxg4 36. gxf4 g3 37. hxg3 Qxg3+ 38. Kh1 Rg4 39. Rh2 Rh4 40. Qe2 Rxh2+
41. Qxh2 Qxd3 42. Re1 exf4 43. Qh5 Ne5 44. Rg1 Qf3+ 45. Qxf3 Nxf3 46. Rd1 Ne5
47. Nxb6 f3 48. Kg1 Ng4 49. Nd5 Bf4 50. Nxf4 Rxf4 51. Rd7+ Kg6 52. Rd6+ Kg5 53.
Rd5+ Kh4 54. Kf1 Kg3 55. Ne1 Ne3+ 56. Kg1 f2+ 0-1

[/pgn]

Re: Nepomniachtchi cries foul on Armageddon

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 10:59 am
by reflectionofpower
Nepo should wear a bib and stop whining. When you're looking for a technicality to win then you are already in big trouble. Technicalities are not going to make you World Champion.

Re: Nepomniachtchi cries foul on Armageddon

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 11:12 am
by velmarin
The error of Nakamura does not lose the game, I think that the solution is another.
Here we have another error of Karpov, and the face of his opponent looking to the referee...:o

https://www.facebook.com/MemoryChess/vi ... 998821130/

Re: Nepomniachtchi cries foul on Armageddon

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:54 pm
by reflectionofpower
velmarin wrote:The error of Nakamura does not lose the game, I think that the solution is another.
Here we have another error of Karpov, and the face of his opponent looking to the referee...:o

https://www.facebook.com/MemoryChess/vi ... 998821130/
O man, It's Nepo again! I understand the rule but you know what Karpov is going to do. He's castling queenside.

Funny, someone on this facebook thread commented,"Poor Nepo, trapped in a world where people don't care about the castling rule."

heehee