Windows Vista: 32-bit or 64-bit?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
MikeB
Posts: 3532
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am
Location: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania

Re: Windows Vista: 32-bit or 64-bit? TEST #2

Post by MikeB » Sat Apr 14, 2007 2:34 pm

MikeB wrote:
MikeB wrote:Alternatively, you might want to consider Virtual PC 2007

Windows XP32 booting in x64 under VPC 2007
trying to show a photo
<img src="http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/44143807 ... GB.POAVuH9" border="0" />

MikeB
Posts: 3532
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am
Location: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania

Re: Windows Vista: 32-bit or 64-bit? TEST #2

Post by MikeB » Sat Apr 14, 2007 2:36 pm

MikeB wrote:
MikeB wrote:
MikeB wrote:Alternatively, you might want to consider Virtual PC 2007

Windows XP32 booting in x64 under VPC 2007
trying to show a photo
<img src="http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/44143807 ... GB.POAVuH9" border="0" />
I give up....must be someting really basic that I don't understand in trying to figure out how to show a photo in a post.

rlsuth
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:37 pm

Re: Windows Vista: 32-bit or 64-bit? TEST #2

Post by rlsuth » Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:40 pm

When I bought my copy of Vista 32-bit, there was a notice in the package telling me how to order the 64-bit version as well. Basically, once you have the 32-bit version, just go to http://www.windowsvista.com/1033/ordermedia and get the 64-bit version as well. It basically only cost shipping and handling.

Nid Hogge

Re: Windows Vista: 32-bit or 64-bit? Important! Wait First!

Post by Nid Hogge » Sat Apr 14, 2007 5:29 pm

Whatever you do, Wait a few days and DONT buy the computer before april 22. this is the date when there is a big price-cuts to the whole Core2Duo family of CPUS(about 40%). also a few more modeles.(E6320 E4300..)

In the past there wer'e problems with 64-bit driver support, but with Vista they are all gone because it ahs much better driver support.

64Bit shouldnt be that much higher priced so I say why not.

http://www.eetimes.com/news/semi/showAr ... =198700900

User avatar
Bo Persson
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Malmö, Sweden

Re: Windows Vista: 32-bit or 64-bit? TEST #2

Post by Bo Persson » Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:14 am

rlsuth wrote:When I bought my copy of Vista 32-bit, there was a notice in the package telling me how to order the 64-bit version as well. Basically, once you have the 32-bit version, just go to http://www.windowsvista.com/1033/ordermedia and get the 64-bit version as well. It basically only cost shipping and handling.
Valid only if you have bought the retail version of Vista. Not applicable to preinstalled OEM versions.

Kapaun

Re: Windows Vista: 32-bit or 64-bit?

Post by Kapaun » Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:34 am

hgm wrote:I want to buy a new computer with Core 2 Duo CPU.

But they seem to be sold with a 32-bit version of Vista in standard configuration.

What does this mean? Will I not be able too run 64-bit applications on this machine under this OS? Or is it just that the kernel of the OS itself is running in 32-bit mode (and thus might be a little slower)?
To be honest, if I were to buy a new computer now, I would probably try to get one with XP. And if I had to buy one in a year or two, I'd decide then what to do - but maybe I would switch to Linux...

Post Reply