What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
AGove

What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by AGove » Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:34 am

Could someone please give me the direct link to the ChessBase 9 update? (I find that Playchess.com doesn't always give you the very latest version, so I've always used the direct link in the past, although now I've mislaid the details.) Thanks.

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5330
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by AdminX » Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:41 am

AGove wrote:Could someone please give me the direct link to the ChessBase 9 update? (I find that Playchess.com doesn't always give you the very latest version, so I've always used the direct link in the past, although now I've mislaid the details.) Thanks.
Chessbase 9
http://www.fritzserver.org/updates/c9.iup

Fritz 10
http://www.fritzserver.org/updates/gui10.msi
Last edited by AdminX on Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

AGove

Re: What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by AGove » Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:44 am

Thanks Ted!

AGove

Re: What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by AGove » Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:49 am

Now I get this error message:

"Cannot write to App.inc.
Please run IUPGrade.exe again from the program directory."

Just yesterday I started using Vista Premium - maybe that's the problem?

AGove

Re: What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by AGove » Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:36 pm

I had to turn off "User Account Control" and reboot before I could update, but it did finally work.

AGove

Re: What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by AGove » Thu Oct 04, 2007 6:51 pm

... although all my UCI analysis engines had to be reinstalled.

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5330
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by AdminX » Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:00 pm

Let me guess, you are using Windows Vista ... :? If I bought a new system today, as in right this moment. I would use anything but Vista. :lol: If it came with Vista, I would downgrade to Windows XP Pro, Windows 2003, or even Linux. Vista is so much a resource hog. Just not worth my time at the moment. Will test it again when the Service Pack comes out. But right now Vista is not for me. I want my CPU power for my apps not hogged by my OS.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

AGove

Re: What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by AGove » Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:26 pm

Ted,

My old PC expired suddenly and my new one happened to be bundled with Vista.

Vista Negatives:

Half way through analysing a game, my PC decided it needed to reboot after "essential updates" and didn't even give me enough warning to save anything. I was stunned by this behaviour.

My scanner isn't Vista compatible.

Vista Plusses:

It's pretty.

User avatar
Ovyron
Posts: 3836
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:30 am

Re: What is the link for the ChessBase 9 update?

Post by Ovyron » Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:14 pm

AGove wrote:Vista Plusses:

It's pretty.
I think you can buy WindowsBlinds and make your Windows XP look as good as Vista. That's what I did (If so: Vista Plusses: None.)
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Post Reply