hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Post by Steve B » Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:34 pm

mclane wrote:most often when they say nothing, the east german dedicated chess computers only have an old glass-melting fuse rotten.

exchange the corroded glass-fuse with another and the machines work again.

i think you are correct
both fuses in the SC2 are corroded
i do not want to disturb the fuses in my other SC2 as they are working perfectly
do you know where i can order these fuses?
and do you know the voltage?

ConFUSED Regards
Steve

User avatar
mclane
Posts: 15495
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:40 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Post by mclane » Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:49 pm

IMO these fuses you can get in almost any electronic shop.

only problem is to find out about the ampere number.

I would ask via telephone (if the shop has those kind of fuses)
and walk with the machine into the shop and ask someone there to
replace the fuses for you without damaging the computer.
also i think that in a computershop someone would be equipped
to help you.

normally these machines come with technical data and an electronic plan
about the components. on this plan there should be the accurate
numbers of the fuses. if you don't have such a plan, there should be those plans somewhere in the internet.

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Post by Steve B » Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:58 pm

mclane wrote:normally these machines come with technical data and an electronic plan
about the components. on this plan there should be the accurate
numbers of the fuses. if you don't have such a plan, there should be those plans somewhere in the internet.
correct again
the Schematic diagram does show the two fuses
one is marked ..T1.6 the other T125

i will try to get them replaced

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1-6-Amp-T1-6-T1-6 ... 0132333750

Ebay Regards
Steve

User avatar
mclane
Posts: 15495
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:40 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Post by mclane » Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:09 pm

i wish you good luck. my machine also lost the sound feature. i also think it is the fuse. as far as i can see there are 2 fuses. on for the main power AC/DC, and a second one close to the loudspeaker.

maybe the one at the loudspeaker is off. the wire in the little glass-tube is very thin and one cannot really see very good if it is still working.

after losing the 2 games the machine thought: shit. i will stop beeping :-)

so i will also try to get my second SC2 repaired somehow.

still we have no confirmation IF and WHICH version of fidelity was cloned.

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Post by Steve B » Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:05 pm

mclane wrote:i wish you good luck. my machine also lost the sound feature. i also think it is the fuse. as far as i can see there are 2 fuses. on for the main power AC/DC, and a second one close to the loudspeaker.
Thanks again for your advice and for your good luck wishes because it worked!
i went to the local Radio Shack and they sold me some 1 Amp ..240 Volt T fuses
4 fuses for $3
i replaced both fuses with the 1A Fuses
the SC2 works and with full sound!
:P
here is a photo quickly taken just now with my Cell Phone:
Image

and here is a game i just played against the PC Engine Pooky 2.7 running under Arena
the SC2 on level 5 loses again(of course)

[Event "Computer chess game"]
[Site "SB"]
[Date "2009.04.05"]
[White "RFT SC2 LEVEL 5"]
[Black "Pooky27"]
[Result "0-1"]
[ECO "A48"]
[Opening "Neo-King's Indian"]
[Time "15:35:51"]
[Variation "East Indian Defence, 1.d4 Nf6 2.Nf3 g6"]
[Time-Control "40/1500:40/1500:40/1500"]
[Termination "normal"]
[PlyCount "48"]
[WhiteType "human"]
[BlackType "program"]

1.d4 Nf6 2.Nf3 g6 3.Be3 d6 {(d7d6 e3g5 f8g7 e2e3 e8g8 f1c4 c8e6 b1d2 e6c4 d2c4 )
+0.02/8 33} 4.c4 Bg7 {(f8g7 d1a4 e8f8 d4d5 f6e4 a4a3 f8g8 f3g5 e4g5 e3g5 ) +0.19/8 33}
5.Qb3 O-O {(e8g8 b1c3 f6g4 e3g5 h7h6 g5f4 b8c6 ) +0.84/7 8} 6.Nc3 Ng4 {(f6g4 e3f4
e7e5 d4e5 g7e5 c3d5 e5f4 d5f4 ) +0.34/7 34} 7.c5 dxc5 {(d6c5 d4c5 b8a6 c3a4 g4e3
b3e3 c8f5 ) +1.12/7 34} 8.dxc5 Nxe3 {(g4e3 f2e3 c7c6 f3g5 h7h6 ) +0.62/5} 9.fxe3 c6
{(c7c6 b3a3 g7c3 a3c3 d8d5 f3e5 c8f5 c3d4 ) +1.92/7 30} 10.a3 h5 {(h7h5 b3c4 d8a5 e1c1
g7h6 c4d4 c8f5 ) +2.22/7 31} 11.h4 Na6 {(b8a6 c3e4 d8a5 e1f2 a6c5 e4c5 a5c5 )
+2.87/7 32} 12.Rd1 Qc7 {(d8c7 f3d4 a6c5 b3b4 c7e5 b4c4 c8g4 ) +3.01/7 29} 13.Qc4 Qg3+
{(c7g3 e1d2 c8e6 c4f4 a8d8 d2c1 d8d1 c3d1 g3f4 e3f4 a6c5 ) +3.91/7 32} 14.Kd2 Be6
{(c8e6 c4f4 g7c3 d2c3 a6c5 f4g3 c5e4 c3c2 e4g3 ) +3.72/7 33} 15.Qe4 Nxc5 {(a6c5 e4b4
a8d8 d2c1 c5b3 c1c2 d8d1 c3d1 ) +4.08/5} 16.Qb4 Rad8+ {(a8d8 d2c1 g7c3 b2c3 d8d1
c1d1 f8d8 d1c1 b7b6 ) +4.17/7 30} 17.Kc1 Bxc3 {(g7c3 b2c3 b7b6 f3d4 g3e3 c1b1 e6d5
b1a1 ) +4.37/7 34} 18.bxc3 Rxd1+ {(d8d1 c1d1 b7b6 f3d4 e6d5 h1h3 ) +4.23/5} 19.Kxd1
Rd8+ {(f8d8 d1c2 b7b6 e3e4 e6b3 c2b2 g3f2 ) +4.53/7 21} 20.Nd4 Ne4 {(c5e4 d1c2 g3e3
c2b1 e3d2 h1g1 e4c3 ) +5.42/7 24} 21.Kc2 Qxe3 {(g3e3 d4f3 e4g3 h1g1 g3f1 g1f1 e3e2 )
+5.51/5 1} 22.Nxe6 Qd2+ {(e3d2 c2b3 d2d1 b3c4 e4d2 c4c5 d8d5 b4b7 ) +M4/4} 23.Kb1 Qd1+
{(d2d1 b1a2 d8d2 b4b2 e4c3 b2c3 ) +M3/3} 24.Kb2 Rd2# {(d8d2 b2a2 ) +M1/1} {Mate} 0-1



So you Need a 1Amp-240 volt T Fuse Regards
Steve

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Post by Steve B » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:36 pm

And just to make sure the SC2 is really working fine i myself played this game against it on level 4(1 minute avg.)

[Date "2009.04.05"]
[White "Steve B"]
[Black "SC2 LEVEL 4"]
[ECO "D11"]
[PlyCount "33"]

1. d4 d5 2. c4 c6 3. Nf3 dxc4 4. e4 Qa5+ 5. Bd2 Qa6 6.
Nc3 Nf6 7. e5 Ng8 8. b3 Be6 9. Ne4 Bd5 10. Nc5 Qb5 11. e6 fxe6 12. Ng5 Qb6 13.Ngxe6 Bxe6 14. Nxe6 Na6 15. Qh5+ g6 16. Qe5 Nf6 17. Bxc4

i reached this point with what i think is a winning attack but i decided to just call it a night ...
[d]r3kb1r/pp2p2p/nqp1Nnp1/4Q3/2BP4/1P6/P2B1PPP/R3K2R b KQkq - 0 17

Hard Core XXX Collecting Sunday Regards
Steve

User avatar
mclane
Posts: 15495
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:40 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Post by mclane » Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:33 am

i am very happy to see that your machine is alive again.

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Clones

Post by Sylwy » Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:51 am

fern wrote:I wonder if ever, at least in this field, socialists countries produced an original piece of hardware.
AS it is known, the Ural maiframes URSS computers were pathetic copies of IBM 360.
And of course the Ylushin commercial jet was a Boeing 707 badly copied.
etc
etc
etc

What about east germany of those times?

fern
Hi Fernando !

Even the eastern humans are cracked westmen !

Have a nice day !

Silvian
:lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: hardware clone: Thanks My God

Post by Sylwy » Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:03 am

Sylwy wrote:
fern wrote:I wonder if ever, at least in this field, socialists countries produced an original piece of hardware.
AS it is known, the Ural maiframes URSS computers were pathetic copies of IBM 360.
And of course the Ylushin commercial jet was a Boeing 707 badly copied.
etc
etc
etc

What about east germany of those times?

fern
Hi Fernando !

Even the eastern humans are cracked westmen !

Have a nice day !

Silvian
:lol: :lol: :lol:

At least the best two chess engines of our days are mastered by eastern humans:

-Rybka by a Czech
-Naum by a Serbian

Or maybe.........................................................................
Secret services ??????????

Silvian/extremely mazed
8-) :roll: :lol: 8-) :roll: :lol: 8-) :roll: :lol:

Christopher Conkie
Posts: 6068
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: hardware clone: RFT SC2- Intelligent chess

Post by Christopher Conkie » Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:55 pm

Steve B wrote:Well again i cannot replicate the game
on move 4 the CC10C will play 4.Be3 and not 4.Bb5 as played by your SC2

perhaps it is the longer thinking time..perhaps just random play

i think i am going to give up my short career as a Clone Detective

Retired Regards
Steve
:D

Post Reply