Stockfish 1.3

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Dann Corbit, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
mcostalba
Posts: 2684
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:17 pm

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by mcostalba » Sat May 02, 2009 9:52 pm

rhollay wrote:
mcostalba wrote:
rhollay wrote:Does it have it's own book? Glaurung's book.bin doesn't seem to work with Stockfish.
I have merged a patch from Tord to allow Stockfish to use the same book of Glaurung 1.xx series.

Can you please post the link of the book you are testing on ?

Thanks
Marco
Marco, I have tried the books which I downloaded from Tord's site:

http://www.glaurungchess.com/book.zip for Glaurung 1.2.1

and http://www.glaurungchess.com/g2book.zip for Glaurung 2.0

But neither work for me.
Thanks, tomorrow I will try to see what happens.

Anyhow if it doesn't work is a bug because it should.

tmokonen
Posts: 1174
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Kelowna
Full name: Tony Mokonen
Contact:

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by tmokonen » Sat May 02, 2009 10:24 pm

I didn't have success with Glaurung's book either, but I did had success with the Polyglot book performance.bin.

Tony

Christopher Conkie
Posts: 6073
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by Christopher Conkie » Sun May 03, 2009 12:12 am

mcostalba wrote:
Jim Ablett wrote:Image
Stockfish 1.3 JA by Marco Costalba

Windows x64 (Intel compiler 11) & Win32 (Msvc 8) pgo compiles.

Download:
http://www.mediafire.com/?ynwmnijnnin


Jim.
Thanks Jim !

And now let's see how this puppy runs! :wink:
Thank you for giving us the source for Plague 2.

:wink:

We will be changing everything back very soon.

What can I say.....this GPL stuff is very retro.......we believe there is a market for "backward" stuff these days.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytm8Vtxapns

Eizenhammer

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by Eizenhammer » Sun May 03, 2009 12:43 am

Christopher Conkie wrote: We will be changing everything back very soon.
Looks like you still have this pluralis maiestatis multiple person problem; Have all of you already seen a doctor regarding this matter?

Christopher Conkie
Posts: 6073
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by Christopher Conkie » Sun May 03, 2009 12:51 am

Eizenhammer wrote:
Christopher Conkie wrote: We will be changing everything back very soon.
Looks like you still have this pluralis maiestatis multiple person problem; Have all of you already seen a doctor regarding this matter?
No "we" don't think "we" should. And why would "we"? "We" know that would be a waste of time for the doctor......

After all......"we" are the doctor.........

Have you been to Mexico recently? If so, "we" can help "we" think.

Don't be a hound.....protect yourself against swine. "We" say......

mcostalba
Posts: 2684
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:17 pm

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by mcostalba » Sun May 03, 2009 7:12 am

rhollay wrote:
mcostalba wrote:
rhollay wrote:Does it have it's own book? Glaurung's book.bin doesn't seem to work with Stockfish.
I have merged a patch from Tord to allow Stockfish to use the same book of Glaurung 1.xx series.

Can you please post the link of the book you are testing on ?

Thanks
Marco
Marco, I have tried the books which I downloaded from Tord's site:

http://www.glaurungchess.com/book.zip for Glaurung 1.2.1

and http://www.glaurungchess.com/g2book.zip for Glaurung 2.0

But neither work for me.
Hi Robert,

I have upload a possible fixed version

http://www.mediafire.com/?syclraegm3b

Problem was the compatibility with Glaurung 1 patch that didn't work and also broke Glaurung 2 books reading.

Now you should be able to read Glaurung 2 books, still no Glaurung 1 but that will require more time.

Togheter with new sources I have also bundled a (poorely) compiled version for win 32 in case you need it.

Please could you report back if the new version fixes the problem for you?

Thanks
Marco

jpqy
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:31 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by jpqy » Sun May 03, 2009 9:26 am

Little test on a core i7 920 @3.911Ghz HT Off - Win Xp 32bit

5 min.games

-----------------Bright-0.4a-----------------
Bright-0.4a - Stockfish_13_win32_ja : 7,0/10 6-2-2 (=110110=11 ) 70% +147
-----------------Stockfish_13_win32_ja-----------------
Stockfish_13_win32_ja - Bright-0.4a : 3,0/10 2-6-2 (=001001=00 ) 30% -147

Stockfish loose to easy on time,and sometimes i get errors because this?!

JP.

mcostalba
Posts: 2684
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:17 pm

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by mcostalba » Sun May 03, 2009 9:52 am

jpqy wrote:Little test on a core i7 920 @3.911Ghz HT Off - Win Xp 32bit

5 min.games

-----------------Bright-0.4a-----------------
Bright-0.4a - Stockfish_13_win32_ja : 7,0/10 6-2-2 (=110110=11 ) 70% +147
-----------------Stockfish_13_win32_ja-----------------
Stockfish_13_win32_ja - Bright-0.4a : 3,0/10 2-6-2 (=001001=00 ) 30% -147

Stockfish loose to easy on time,and sometimes i get errors because this?!

JP.
What GUI are you using?

jpqy
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:31 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by jpqy » Sun May 03, 2009 1:31 pm

Hi Marco,i use Arena1.99beta3 and Arena2.01...TogaII has also that problem,i have always to follow the games or check them afterwards to see if there are no looses on time.But like Thinker it continious/directly move-play even with 0sec. and don't loose on time!

So,result against Bright was with Arena1.99b3...testsuites on Arena2.01.
Will now try stockfish on Arena2.01

Stockfish do testsuites very well...here a other one!

STS Testsuite: Open Files and Diagonals.epd

Level: 5 Seconds for all tests!!

Core i7 920 @3.911Ghz with "HT OFF"

Stockfish 1.3 32bit
80 of 100 matching moves
3/05/2009 11:44:05, Total time: 0:10:37 Rated time: 01:53 = 113 Seconds

JP.

mcostalba
Posts: 2684
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:17 pm

Re: Stockfish 1.3

Post by mcostalba » Sun May 03, 2009 2:04 pm

jpqy wrote:Hi Marco,i use Arena1.99beta3 and Arena2.01...TogaII has also that problem,i have always to follow the games or check them afterwards to see if there are no looses on time.But like Thinker it continious/directly move-play even with 0sec. and don't loose on time!

So,result against Bright was with Arena1.99b3...testsuites on Arena2.01.
Will now try stockfish on Arena2.01

Stockfish do testsuites very well...here a other one!

STS Testsuite: Open Files and Diagonals.epd

Level: 5 Seconds for all tests!!

Core i7 920 @3.911Ghz with "HT OFF"

Stockfish 1.3 32bit
80 of 100 matching moves
3/05/2009 11:44:05, Total time: 0:10:37 Rated time: 01:53 = 113 Seconds

JP.
When I (very seldom) use Arena I always set an increment as example 1' + 0.4'' becasue it takes some time to propagate the moves to engines so I need to "shadow" that time with an increment to make it work correctly.

In case you have Fritz GUI I would suggest that. It is a much better interface.

I will try some matches against Bright, but last time I tried with a version not so good as the released one I found not big problems in beating it....hmmmm....

Post Reply