Exclude moves feature

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
Howard E
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:49 pm

Exclude moves feature

Post by Howard E » Wed Dec 09, 2009 6:05 am

Rebel used to have the exclude move feature when analysing.
Any programs, or Gui's have such a feature? Thanks.

User avatar
Eelco de Groot
Posts: 4209
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Groningen

Re: Exclude moves feature

Post by Eelco de Groot » Wed Dec 09, 2009 6:23 am

Howard E wrote:Rebel used to have the exclude move feature when analysing.
Any programs, or Gui's have such a feature? Thanks.
Yes, sure, I am not sure about Winboard engines specifically but for UCI, if an engine follows the full UCI protocol you can let it exclude moves from analysis. This is a basic ingrediënt for the IDeA set-up in Aquarium, at least that's what I'm told 8-) You would have to look up exactly how to do it in the GUI that you want to use.

Regards,
Eelco
Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first
place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you
are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it.
-- Brian W. Kernighan

User avatar
Eelco de Groot
Posts: 4209
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Groningen

Re: Exclude moves feature

Post by Eelco de Groot » Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:04 am

Eelco de Groot wrote:
Howard E wrote:Rebel used to have the exclude move feature when analysing.
Any programs, or Gui's have such a feature? Thanks.
Yes, sure, I am not sure about Winboard engines specifically but for UCI, if an engine follows the full UCI protocol you can let it exclude moves from analysis. This is a basic ingrediënt for the IDeA set-up in Aquarium, at least that's what I'm told 8-) You would have to look up exactly how to do it in the GUI that you want to use.

Regards,
Eelco
This is not very precise I suppose, because the way it is implemented in the UCI standard is with "go searchmoves" after which the GUI sends all the moves to be searched. But there was a thread recently that many UCI engines do not bother with having the feature implemented yet, in which case the GUI is helpless. See also this thread by Dadi Jonsson:

http://www.talkchess.com/forum/viewtopi ... 46&t=29744

As far as I can see it works in the Shredder GUI with Stockfish and Rainbow Serpent, when in Analysis mode you can press 'Ctrl' when entering a move and the program will start only analyzing this move. Use 'Shift' for excluding a move.

Regards,
Eelco
Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first
place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you
are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it.
-- Brian W. Kernighan

bnst
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 10:16 am

Re: Exclude moves feature

Post by bnst » Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:07 pm

I bought the Shredder GUI pretty much because of this feature. It works nicely with any UCI engine.

Regards
Andreas

Howard E
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:49 pm

Re: Exclude moves feature

Post by Howard E » Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:17 pm

Thankyou both for the feedback.

Kaj Soderberg

Re: Exclude moves feature

Post by Kaj Soderberg » Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:22 pm

Chesspartner has it as well, but only Chess Tiger makes use of it under CP.
I suggested it to Ed on this forum, and it was then made clear that only small engine adjustments were necessary to make use of it.

Best regards,
Kaj

Post Reply