Can't get old Fritz Engines Recognized in Fritz 11

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
mhalstern
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:09 am

Can't get old Fritz Engines Recognized in Fritz 11

Post by mhalstern » Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:49 am

I Installed Fritz4 and Fritz5 from my CD. I copied the files:

fritz311.eng
fritz401.eng
fritz120.eng
fritz500.eng
fritz311.dll
fritz401.dll
fritz120.dll

into:

c:\program files\chessbase

and

c:\program files\chessbase\engines

and

c:\program files\chessbase\chessprogram11

Fritz11 does not see these engines as active or inactive engines. Are these supported in Fritz11? I once managed to get Fritz5.32 as an available engine, and I see the Fritz 5-32.eng in the c:\program files\chessbase\engines directory?

Thanks

User avatar
Mike S.
Posts: 1480
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:33 am

Re: Can't get old Fritz Engines Recognized in Fritz 11

Post by Mike S. » Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:43 am

I am not 100% sure, but I think these are not supported anymore because they are 16 bit engines (from the Windows 3.11 era). 32 bit versions should work.
Regards, Mike

mhalstern
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:09 am

Re: Can't get old Fritz Engines Recognized in Fritz 11

Post by mhalstern » Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:16 pm

Mike S. wrote:I am not 100% sure, but I think these are not supported anymore because they are 16 bit engines (from the Windows 3.11 era). 32 bit versions should work.
I had initially accepted your answer, but am hoping that there is a way around this. On my 32 Bit Windows XP System, Fritz 3, 4 and 5 all work, in their own directories, using their own Gui's.

Jim Walker
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:31 am

Re: Can't get old Fritz Engines Recognized in Fritz 11

Post by Jim Walker » Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:40 pm

I may be wrong but when the 32 bit OS came out it still supported 16 bit programs. When the 64 bit OS came out it still supported the 32 bit programs.

tmokonen
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Kelowna
Full name: Tony Mokonen
Contact:

Re: Can't get old Fritz Engines Recognized in Fritz 11

Post by tmokonen » Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:17 pm

mhalstern wrote:
Mike S. wrote:I am not 100% sure, but I think these are not supported anymore because they are 16 bit engines (from the Windows 3.11 era). 32 bit versions should work.
I had initially accepted your answer, but am hoping that there is a way around this. On my 32 Bit Windows XP System, Fritz 3, 4 and 5 all work, in their own directories, using their own Gui's.
That's because you're running those 16 bit engines in their own 16 bit GUIs. Those 16 bit engines will not load in a 32 bit ChessBase GUI, unless some enterprising code monkey in a back room somewhere has written a special adapter.

Post Reply