Doom for Commercial Chess Softaware Unless...

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

fern

Doom for Commercial Chess Softaware Unless...

Post by fern »

....unless they can give to us a phenomenal better GUI and services package. With monster like robolito and others of the same class, who need a new Shredder or even Hiarcs, for God sake?
But of course if you give a very strong engine -even if it is not the strongest- AND a package full of frills, services, databases, tutorials etc, Chessmaster class but 5 times better, then surely I will purchase.
The times for just-the-engine.get-the-gui-elsewhere are dead.

I have been preaching this since 5 years at least and nobody gave me the due reason I have regards...

Fern
Dann Corbit

Re: Doom for Commercial Chess Softaware Unless...

Post by Dann Corbit »

fern wrote:....unless they can give to us a phenomenal better GUI and services package. With monster like robolito and others of the same class, who need a new Shredder or even Hiarcs, for God sake?
But of course if you give a very strong engine -even if it is not the strongest- AND a package full of frills, services, databases, tutorials etc, Chessmaster class but 5 times better, then surely I will purchase.

I have been preaching this since 5 years at least and nobody gave me the due reason I have regards...

Fern
For sure the best selling program in the world is ChessMaster.
It's about 1000 Elo weaker than the strongest programs.
Nobody cares. The program does what people need, and it sits on the store shelves where it can collect attention from potential buyers.

The really strong engines bundle anyway (E.g. Rybka comes from ChessOK -- {Aquarium Or ChessAssistant}, ChessBase, and have nice features to go with the power).
tomgdrums

Post by tomgdrums »