What is strongest Rybka 4? -- and is Houdini cheating ?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

frcha

What is strongest Rybka 4? -- and is Houdini cheating ?

Post by frcha »

I am having some strange results in my engine vs engine tournaments without houdini 1.5 - rybka 4 seems very strong -- it is about even to ivanhoe over a long series of games -- at time control of 0+4s I use this control to offset any possible bugs in arena and also to possibly make R4 stronger since supposedly you need to change their settings to make it perform better.

Are there known proven to be stronger parameters for R4 in testing eng vs eng for various types of time controls?

Now when I started playing Houdini vs R4 -- I am getting very lopsided results -- it totally demolishing R4 up to 130elos!!! Its not doing so well against the latest stockfish only up by 50 elo. I am playing a 100 game gauntlet match of H vs R4 and H vs SF 2.01
Its ponder = off and 0+4s and with the silver suite.

Is it possible for an engine to gain an advantage by simply being able to grab most of the cpu and hold on for just a tad longer? I notice from the task manager than when its houdini's turn to play - it grabs the cpu usage to 99 very quickly while Rybka 4 each process takes a little longer to reach 25 (4 cpu) .
Its probably nothing but can anyone chime in with this? Can an engine actually gain elo from these types of matches by taking hold of the cpu quickly ?
zullil
Full name: Louis Zulli

Re: What is strongest Rybka 4? -- and is Houdini cheating

Post by zullil »

Just so I'm clear---you have quad-core cpu? And each program is running using 4 threads? And neither is pondering?

[EDIT] I'm asking because my first thought was that Rybka's SMP parameters might some tweaking. I assume Rybka allows you to adjust something like Minimum Split Depth and Max Number of Threads per Split Point?