ProDeo 1.7 available ...

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
David Dahlem
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:06 pm

Re: Pro Deo under Arena Interface

Post by David Dahlem » Wed Nov 02, 2011 10:57 am

Werner wrote:
Amstaff wrote:Hello Ed, thank's for the update of ProDeo. I bought one of your ChessMachines in the early 1990s and have been a Schoeder customer since then.
When running ProDeo under Arena do I run it as a UCI or Winboard engine? Would the engine be the ProDeo.exe or RebelUCI.exe?
Can the hash tables be changed under the Arena interface?
Thanks for any help,
Best wishes,
Gerald
Hi Gerold,
just installed ProDeo inside Arena 3.0. I think both is possible:
wb: use ProDeo.exe
uci: use RebelUCI.exe

I Installed as wb and found inside commandline parameter:
w6 Rebel4.eng - with w6 you have 256 MB hash. I think, Rebel4.eng is an older parameter.

When you install it as uci you can set parameters inside wb2uci.eng:
[OPTIONS]
Program = prodeo.exe w6 ProDeo2.eng


PS: you allways can control your setting after running ProDeo: have a look into the file param.txt inside the ProDeo folder.
If i understand the meaning of your last sentence, param.txt doesn't control anything, it just shows the parameters currently in use. w6 prodeo2.eng, for example, on the command line in Arena will control which parameters will be used, in wb mode.

User avatar
Werner
Posts: 2492
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:09 pm

Re: Pro Deo under Arena Interface

Post by Werner » Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:15 am

David Dahlem wrote:If i understand the meaning of your last sentence, param.txt doesn't control anything, it just shows the parameters currently in use. w6 prodeo2.eng, for example, on the command line in Arena will control which parameters will be used, in wb mode.
correct!
Werner

User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 5241
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:04 am

Re: ProDeo 1.7 available ...

Post by Rebel » Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:22 am

Ovyron wrote:This is great Ed!! I'm very happy that this project is continuing, Rebel is the engine that gives me the most nostalgia! :)
Great artwork Uly :wink:

User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 5241
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:04 am

Re: ProDeo 1.7 available ...

Post by Rebel » Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:36 am

David Dahlem wrote:W e l c o m e t o P R O D E O 1.6
Thanks for pointing out David.

I knew it something was forgotten but at my age I can afford some form of sloppiness :wink:

User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 5241
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:04 am

Re: ProDeo 1.7 available ...

Post by Rebel » Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:51 am

Check your inbox.

Frank Quisinsky wrote:Hi Ed,

it's possible for you to send me via eMail to configuration I have to used for my Oldie-Mix tourney.

For me it's not a problem to switched to an other configuration and to replay the games. Possible because this long time tourney is in the beginning.

That would be great!
I will used the setting you have interest on it.

Ah, important for SWCR is:
No learning, no own opening book (all engines are playing with my Shredder Random Book) and 256Mb for hash-tables max.

It would be great if you can send me by mail the setting you like for this long time tourney.

Best
Frank

User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 5241
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:04 am

Re: ProDeo 1.7 available ...

Post by Rebel » Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:57 am

Evert wrote:
Werner wrote:I wonder what this Benjamin personality is?

"•Basically 1.7 is about tuning, activating various settings already present in previous versions and a more modern search approach collected in 4 personalities of which at least one should give the Benjamin version of ProDeo a good elo jump."

I did not find it inside the download.
It probably just means the latest or "youngest" version of the program (Benjamin was the youngest son of Jacob).
Yep.

And unexpected at old age.

User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 5241
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:04 am

Re: Pro Deo under Arena Interface

Post by Rebel » Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:04 pm

Amstaff wrote:Hello Ed, thank's for the update of ProDeo. I bought one of your ChessMachines in the early 1990s and have been a Schoeder customer since then.
When running ProDeo under Arena do I run it as a UCI or Winboard engine? Would the engine be the ProDeo.exe or RebelUCI.exe?
Can the hash tables be changed under the Arena interface?
Thanks for any help,
Best wishes,
Gerald
Hi Gerald,

You can use both WB and UCI
WB - use ProDeo.exe
UCI - use Rebeluci.exe

Hashtables, see the readme file:

Code: Select all

. You can increase (or decrease) the Hash Table size by editing the 
  WB2UCI.ENG file. Modify the "w1" item of the parameter: 
       
           Program = prodeo.exe w1 prodeo.eng
  
  into:    w0,w1,w2,w3,w4,w5,w6,w7,w8,w9,wa,wb,wc or wd

           w0=   4Mb | w1=  48Mb | w2=  64Mb | w3=  96Mb | w4= 128Mb 
           w5= 192Mb | w6= 256Mb | w7= 384Mb | w8= 512Mb | w9= 768Mb 
           wa=   1Gb | wb=  1½Gb | wc=   2Gb | wd=   3Gb

  Save the file and restart the program. The change is permanent.

. You can turn off Pro Deo's opening book by removing the ";" character
  from the parameter:     ; InitString = BookOff/n

User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 5241
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:04 am

Re: Pro Deo under Arena Interface

Post by Rebel » Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:05 pm

David Dahlem wrote:Will the .eng personality files from previous versions of Prodeo be compatable with Prodeo 1.7?
Keep an eye on: http://www.top-5000.nl/parameters.htm

It will be updated frequently.

ernest
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: Pro Deo under Arena Interface

Post by ernest » Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:48 pm

Werner wrote:wb: use ProDeo.exe
uci: use RebelUCI.exe
Hi Werner,

I suppose that rebelUCI .exe (dated 22/07/2003) is just a Wb2Uci adapter,
and ProDeo.exe (dated 29/10/2011) is also needed for UCI.

Paloma
Posts: 926
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:07 pm

Re: Pro Deo under Arena Interface

Post by Paloma » Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:50 pm

You can use both WB and UCI
WB - use ProDeo.exe
UCI - use Rebeluci.exe
Hi Ed,

one thing puzzles me:

ProDeo.EXE . . . 604.188 . . . 11.12.2007 . . << from prodeo16.zip
ProDeo.EXE . . . 610.332 . . . 29.10.2011 . . << from prodeo17.zip

rebeluci.exe . . . 241.664 . . . 22.07.2003 . . << from prodeo16.zip
rebeluci.exe . . . 241.664 . . . 22.07.2003 . . << from prodeo17.zip

While the new prodeo.exe is bigger in size and from Okt/2011, rebeluci.exe has the same size and both from 2003 ??

Seems to me only prodeo as WB is Vers.1.7
That can not be.

Or will be rebeluci with personalities to version 1.7?
.

Post Reply