Page 1 of 2

Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 8:42 pm
by David Dahlem
I have Prodeo 1.7 installed as a winboard engine in Arena 2.01. After several games Arena crashes and Task Manager shows several Prodeo processes stil in memory Apparently Prodeo is not closing properly. Anyone else noticed this problem? Is there a command line option that will ensure that Prodeo closes at the end of each game?

Regards
Dave

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:02 pm
by Elorejano
Same here
Regards

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:06 pm
by mclane
you have to modify the wb2uci file....

there is a line:

TerminateHard = true
; In WIN XP or Win NT TerminateHard = true

after installation is says FALSE and you have to change it into TRUE.

as the above line shows. this way the program will be deleted from memory after each game when a new engine is loaded.

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:13 pm
by Graham Banks
mclane wrote:you have to modify the wb2uci file....

there is a line:

TerminateHard = true
; In WIN XP or Win NT TerminateHard = true

after installation is says FALSE and you have to change it into TRUE.

as the above line shows. this way the program will be deleted from memory after each game when a new engine is loaded.
This is what I have in my wb2uci file if it helps further:

[ENGINE]
Name = ProDeo 1.7
Author = Ed Schröder
Filename = rebeluci.exe

[OPTIONS]
Program = prodeo.exe w4 prodeo.eng
InitString = BookOff/n
LevelExtend = strict
Analyze = false
UseUndo = false
Logfile = false
LevelType = 2
SimulateHint = true
TerminateHard = true
Protocol = 1
Visible = Ponder,Logfile,Extras

[EXTRAS]
Personality=setvar personality personal\%s.eng|combo|ProDeo|ProDeo|Strong Club Player|Average Club Player|Absolute Novice Player|Q3 - Tactical Engine
Anti-GM=setvar antigm|combo|off|off|active|strong|smart
Playing Style=setvar playstyle|combo|normal|aggressive|active|normal|solid|defensive
Strength=setvar playstrength|combo|strong|novice|club player|strong
Opening Book=setvar bookfile books\%s.bin|combo|prodeo|prodeo
EOC database=setvar eocfile eoc\%s.eoc|combo|prodeo|prodeo
EOC Usuage=setvar eocuse|combo|none|none|moderate|strong|book

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:36 pm
by David Dahlem
Thanks for the replys and proposed solutions. Perhaps my original question wasn't clear. Prodeo is a winboard engine and i prefer using it without an adapter. So, can Prodeo run as a winboard engine in Arena without this problem?

Regards
Dave

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:42 pm
by Graham Banks
David Dahlem wrote:Thanks for the replys and proposed solutions. Perhaps my original question wasn't clear. Prodeo is a winboard engine and i prefer using it without an adapter. So, can Prodeo run as a winboard engine in Arena without this problem?

Regards
Dave
I'll have to leave this to somebody else to answer. As Ed provides ProDeo to use as either a WB or a UCI engine in his download file, I've always chosen the UCI option.

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:53 pm
by David Dahlem
Graham Banks wrote:
David Dahlem wrote:Thanks for the replys and proposed solutions. Perhaps my original question wasn't clear. Prodeo is a winboard engine and i prefer using it without an adapter. So, can Prodeo run as a winboard engine in Arena without this problem?

Regards
Dave
I'll have to leave this to somebody else to answer. As Ed provides ProDeo to use as either a WB or a UCI engine in his download file, I've always chosen the UCI option.
An ideal solution: Ed will see this and release Prodeo as a pure UCI engine, without the need for an adapyer. Or else a winboard version without this bug. :lol:

Regards
Dave

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 11:52 pm
by David Dahlem
Not sure if this will work, but i will try it: With ProDeo as a wb engine and this on the command line in Arena - -

w4 prodeo.eng TerminateHard

I'll keep an eye on Task Manager while the tourney is running. But this will have to wait, LSU-Alabama starts in a few minutes. :)

Regards
Dave

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 1:50 am
by Ferdy
David Dahlem wrote:I have Prodeo 1.7 installed as a winboard engine in Arena 2.01. After several games Arena crashes and Task Manager shows several Prodeo processes stil in memory Apparently Prodeo is not closing properly. Anyone else noticed this problem? Is there a command line option that will ensure that Prodeo closes at the end of each game?

Regards
Dave
Arena crashes - don't blame all to Prodeo :(. Arena has to be re-checked also why it crashes. There is a new version of Arena than the one you used.

Re: Prodeo 1.7 problem

Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:24 am
by gerold
Ferdy wrote:
David Dahlem wrote:I have Prodeo 1.7 installed as a winboard engine in Arena 2.01. After several games Arena crashes and Task Manager shows several Prodeo processes stil in memory Apparently Prodeo is not closing properly. Anyone else noticed this problem? Is there a command line option that will ensure that Prodeo closes at the end of each game?

Regards
Dave
Arena crashes - don't blame all to Prodeo :(. Arena has to be re-checked also why it crashes. There is a new version of Arena than the one you used.
ProDeo 1.7 works ok as wb in Arena 1.1 and also 3.0.
Rebeluci exe. does not work installed as uci eng. in Arena for some reason.