Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

smatovic
Posts: 2658
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic

Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by smatovic »

Heyho,

here my new OpenCL Chess approach:

https://github.com/smatovic/Zeta/tree/zeta_cl_0960

Same Version runs on AMD and NV,
needs settings in config.cfg,
currently only Linux 64 supported.

Changes:
- Randomized Best First Minimax Algorithm with Qsearch at Leaf Nodes
- fixes in Move Generator

Issues:
- plays weak
- no castle or en passant moves

Outlook:
Unrandomized child selector ala CNS or CCNS.

Have fun...

--
Srdja
jm_thompson
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:35 pm

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by jm_thompson »

Interesting project.
Are you planning to release a Windows version any time soon?
smatovic
Posts: 2658
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by smatovic »

Interesting project.
Are you planning to release a Windows version any time soon?
Jim made an windows 64 bit compile but it crashed on his system,
i added the windows exe into the bin folder on github:

https://github.com/smatovic/Zeta

Be sure to place the config.cfg and zeta.cl files in the same folder like the .exe. Maybe you will need to edit the config.cfg file too.

--
Srdja
jm_thompson
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:35 pm

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by jm_thompson »

Thanks. I'll try it and let you know if it works.
tttony
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:33 am

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by tttony »

smatovic wrote:
Interesting project.
Are you planning to release a Windows version any time soon?
Jim made an windows 64 bit compile but it crashed on his system,
i added the windows exe into the bin folder on github:

https://github.com/smatovic/Zeta

Be sure to place the config.cfg and zeta.cl files in the same folder like the .exe. Maybe you will need to edit the config.cfg file too.

--
Srdja
I have downloaded and I changed in config.cfg:

opencl_platform_id: 2; // my GPU is AMD

I run zeta-cl-64-ja.exe I type go or test and it just output move a1a1 nothing more and this is the zeta_cl.debug content:

Code: Select all

nodes: 270 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 1.000000 
nodes: 0 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 0.000000 
nodes: 964 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 1.000000 
nodes: 191 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 0.000000 
nodes: 0 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 0.000000 
nodes: 781 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 1.000000 
nodes: 351 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 2.000000 
nodes: 287 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 1.000000 
nodes: 223 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 1.000000 
nodes: 351 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 1.000000 
nodes: 127 ,tnode: 0 ,ab-nodes: 0 ,movecount: 0, bestmove: 0 ,sec: 1.000000 
smatovic
Posts: 2658
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by smatovic »

I run zeta-cl-64-ja.exe I type go or test and it just output move a1a1 nothing more and this is the zeta_cl.debug content:
hm, strange, it should print some errors if it couldnt init the OpenCL device...

ah, before the go or test command you need to type "new" to set up the board!

--
Srdja
tttony
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:33 am

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by tttony »

smatovic wrote:
I run zeta-cl-64-ja.exe I type go or test and it just output move a1a1 nothing more and this is the zeta_cl.debug content:
hm, strange, it should print some errors if it couldnt init the OpenCL device...

ah, before the go or test command you need to type "new" to set up the board!

--
Srdja
I type: new and then go, it seem windows hangs, after that a black windows comes and 2 seconds later windows goes normal and windows says that there was GPU driver problem
smatovic
Posts: 2658
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by smatovic »

I type: new and then go, it seem windows hangs, after that a black windows comes and 2 seconds later windows goes normal and windows says that there was GPU driver problem
Maybe i will setup a Windows-Box and test it with the next Beta Version...

--
Srdja
smatovic
Posts: 2658
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0962

Post by smatovic »

Zeta 0962 - Code Release
updated version:

https://github.com/smatovic/Zeta/tree/zeta_cl_0962

changes:
- mods in move generation
- simplified main loop
- best move child selector
- less register usage
- no move sorting

issues:
- no castle or en passant moves
- plays weak

notes:
- on my nv gts250 this version makes about 500Knps on average

Still no Windows binaries available.

--
Srdja
smatovic
Posts: 2658
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic

Re: Zeta OpenCL Chess - Alpha Release 0960

Post by smatovic »

There are now windows compiles in bin folder

https://github.com/smatovic/Zeta

Thanks to Dann Corbit.

Note that this is still a buggy Alpha Version.

--
Srdja