MadChess 1.2 Released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Dann Corbit, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
User avatar
emadsen
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:51 pm
Location: Oak Park, IL, USA
Full name: Erik Madsen
Contact:

MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by emadsen » Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:00 pm

I've managed to add another 100+ ELO to MadChess. I estimate MadChess' playing strength is 2090 ELO at bullet time control. At blitz, I estimate its strength is 2140 ELO. The strength improvement is mostly due to more efficient move generation and an improved principal variation search algorithm. Those and other more cosmetic changes are detailed below.

Source code and EXEs available on the Downloads page.

1.Implemented a check evasion move selector.
2.Improved principal variation search algorithm.
3.Improved efficiency of aspiration windows. Window is increased in configurable steps instead of doubling.
4.Decreased positional bonuses.
5.Added bonuses for backward pawns, connected rooks (on file) and good attacks (attacks of greater value pieces).
6.Updated pawn endgame location values to encourage pawn pushes.
7.Improved time management of classical time controls (x moves in y seconds).
8.Improved memory usage of position cache.
9.Decreased allocations of move collection classes during search.
10.Removed duplicate search code at root node. Consolidated into a single search method.
11.Removed duplicate pawn promotion and en passant code. Consolidated into pawn class.
12.Added debug code to detect move generation errors.
My C# chess engine: https://www.madchess.net

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 35261
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by Graham Banks » Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:04 pm

emadsen wrote:I've managed to add another 100+ ELO to MadChess. I estimate MadChess' playing strength is 2090 ELO at bullet time control. At blitz, I estimate its strength is 2140 ELO.
Good progress Erik. :)
How do you think MadChess would cope against the engines in my Division 7? http://kirill-kryukov.com/chess/discuss ... f=7&t=6910
gbanksnz at gmail.com

User avatar
emadsen
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:51 pm
Location: Oak Park, IL, USA
Full name: Erik Madsen
Contact:

Re: MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by emadsen » Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:15 pm

I'm not sure Graham. I'll do some testing over the next few days and let you know. Thanks for your interest.
My C# chess engine: https://www.madchess.net

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 35261
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by Graham Banks » Tue Aug 13, 2013 6:09 pm

emadsen wrote:I'm not sure Graham. I'll do some testing over the next few days and let you know. Thanks for your interest.
MadChess 1.2 64-bit gauntlet currently running in TLCV.

http://home.pacific.net.au/~tommyinoz/client.zip
Host - GrahamCCRL.dyndns.org Port - 16074
gbanksnz at gmail.com

User avatar
geots
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:42 pm

Re: MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by geots » Wed Aug 14, 2013 7:03 am

emadsen wrote:I've managed to add another 100+ ELO to MadChess. I estimate MadChess' playing strength is 2090 ELO at bullet time control. At blitz, I estimate its strength is 2140 ELO. The strength improvement is mostly due to more efficient move generation and an improved principal variation search algorithm. Those and other more cosmetic changes are detailed below.

Source code and EXEs available on the Downloads page.

1.Implemented a check evasion move selector.
2.Improved principal variation search algorithm.
3.Improved efficiency of aspiration windows. Window is increased in configurable steps instead of doubling.
4.Decreased positional bonuses.
5.Added bonuses for backward pawns, connected rooks (on file) and good attacks (attacks of greater value pieces).
6.Updated pawn endgame location values to encourage pawn pushes.
7.Improved time management of classical time controls (x moves in y seconds).
8.Improved memory usage of position cache.
9.Decreased allocations of move collection classes during search.
10.Removed duplicate search code at root node. Consolidated into a single search method.
11.Removed duplicate pawn promotion and en passant code. Consolidated into pawn class.
12.Added debug code to detect move generation errors.





I think the fact that your engine works for another tester/testers is wonderful. But for me, your first release worked. Since it- you have not had one that will install in either of my intel i5s or either of my intel i7s. When I try to to install, it says the gui has encountered a problem and has to close. I could be wrong- but I am guessing whoever it works for is using Arena or some other gui besides Fritz chessbase. And since I am not switching guis to adapt for a programmer- I suppose I won't be using your engine. If for some reason I cannot fathom, it is important to you that it work for me- you have my email address. Let me know if and when YOU have checked it in a Fritz gui and it works with no problems. I have already spent too much time working with it to try and get it to work correctly. The beta testing of it is over. I wish you all the success in the world. But you might as well know the sad truth. A strict UCI engine that will not work correctly for most people in a Fritz gui is an engine that is going nowhere fast.

But still- I wish you luck. (And I do realize this is an older post of yours- but it is what it is.)


gts

Modern Times
Posts: 2772
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 9:02 pm

Re: MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by Modern Times » Wed Aug 14, 2013 7:23 am

It works just fine here George under the Chessbase Fritz 13 GUI.

What happens when you double-click the exe and type UCI ?


User avatar
geots
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:42 pm

Re: MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by geots » Wed Aug 14, 2013 10:43 am

Modern Times wrote:It works just fine here George under the Chessbase Fritz 13 GUI.

What happens when you double-click the exe and type UCI ?



Ray- you got me there. "Double click the exe" when? During installation as usual, or in console mode before installation? And type it where?


gts

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 35261
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by Graham Banks » Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:59 pm

geots wrote:
Modern Times wrote:It works just fine here George under the Chessbase Fritz 13 GUI.

What happens when you double-click the exe and type UCI ?



Ray- you got me there. "Double click the exe" when? During installation as usual, or in console mode before installation? And type it where?


gts
Before installation.
After doubleclicking on the exe, a pop-up console box will appear. Type uci and press enter.
Then it will come produce some uci info with a message at the end saying uci ok.
Close the console box and then install.
gbanksnz at gmail.com

User avatar
emadsen
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:51 pm
Location: Oak Park, IL, USA
Full name: Erik Madsen
Contact:

Re: MadChess 1.2 Released

Post by emadsen » Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:06 am

When I try to to install, it says the gui has encountered a problem and has to close.
George,

I'm sorry you've had difficulty running MadChess. I have tested it successfully with Shredder 12, Fritz 13, and CuteChess CLI.

First, verify you have all these files in the MadChess directory.

Image

Second, verify you have .NET 3.5 installed. Do you have this directory on your PC?

Image

As others have suggested, a good troubleshooting step is to run MadChessEngine.exe in a console window. Then type "uci" without the quotes and hit Enter. Do you see this?

Image

Lastly, search the Windows Event Log. Select Windows Logs > Application. Action > Find > Enter MadChess into the Find dialog. If you find any errors, send them to me.

Image

Regards,
Erik
My C# chess engine: https://www.madchess.net

Post Reply