Ultimate Definition Of Getting Screwed By Chessbase!

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Dann Corbit, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
velmarin
Posts: 1600
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:48 am

Re: Ultimate Definition Of Getting Screwed By Chessbase!

Post by velmarin » Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:52 am

Updates are cumulative,
with the last, perfect.

Fritz is a very complete program, we do use almost "professional" in quotes.
But it is a teaching program, multimedia viewer, games, ect, ect.

Anyway regarding updates, I have a computer without Internet,
turn ON , adobe, java, ect, I say they have updates for my ..
But I have no connection, hehe.

Software vendors will you have all day pending their updates, every day,
Many times there is nothing new, only require your attention.
if something works right,
so I prefer to continue without upgrading.

elpapa
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Full name: Patrik Karlsson

Re: Ultimate Definition Of Getting Screwed By Chessbase!

Post by elpapa » Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:50 am

George, isn't there an option to deactivate the old copy? What happens if you do this and then activate the new one?

User avatar
geots
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:42 pm

Re: Ultimate Definition Of Getting Screwed By Chessbase!

Post by geots » Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:20 am

elpapa wrote:George, isn't there an option to deactivate the old copy? What happens if you do this and then activate the new one?


I have not considered that. Once I did update the other and I didn't particularly like something that came with it, and I wanted to go back from like "27" to "26" and I could not see a way. My guess is, if I could deactivate the first one, then activate the 2nd- when I went back to the first one, without the activation- it would be back on update 1. I don't think the update would stay at 26 or 27- which would put me back at square 1, ie just transferring the problem to the other machine.

But you get a gold star for sure for trying to help me. I really do appreciate that.



All the best to you,

george

Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Re: Ultimate Definition Of Getting Screwed By Chessbase!

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Mon Aug 12, 2013 11:36 am

here is the original answer by ChessBase GmbH Germany:

Mit der Programmnummer sind maximal drei Aktivierungen des Programms möglich.
Vor einem Rechnerwechsel sollte man das Programm daher nach Möglichkeit deaktivieren.

Bekommen Sie eine Fehlermeldung beim Versuch der erneuten Aktivierung? Wie lautet die Meldung?


translation:
With the program number three activations (maximum) of the software are contingent. As far as possible, before changing a computer you should deactivate the program. Do you receive an error message during the attempt of the anew activation? How is the content of the notice?

My suggestion: please contact Steffen Giehring for further details.

steffen.giehring@chessbase.com

Best wishes,
Norbert

P.S.: you need CBPatch for activation of DF 13 - current GUI is version 27

User avatar
geots
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:42 pm

Re: Ultimate Definition Of Getting Screwed By Chessbase!

Post by geots » Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:07 am

Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:here is the original answer by ChessBase GmbH Germany:

Mit der Programmnummer sind maximal drei Aktivierungen des Programms möglich.
Vor einem Rechnerwechsel sollte man das Programm daher nach Möglichkeit deaktivieren.

Bekommen Sie eine Fehlermeldung beim Versuch der erneuten Aktivierung? Wie lautet die Meldung?


translation:
With the program number three activations (maximum) of the software are contingent. As far as possible, before changing a computer you should deactivate the program. Do you receive an error message during the attempt of the anew activation? How is the content of the notice?

My suggestion: please contact Steffen Giehring for further details.

steffen.giehring@chessbase.com

Best wishes,
Norbert

P.S.: you need CBPatch for activation of DF 13 - current GUI is version 27





As I told you in the message, I talked to Steffen and he gave me 2 more activations, which will solve things for the time being. To answer your question, after using for one activation, JUST ONE- it was telling me the serial number was already in use.

But my contention is this should have never been an issue. And I suppose I will have to ask for 3 or 4 more activations when and if I buy Fritz 14. This attempt to stop illegal activity with the disc is going to backfire on them. Just look at me. I was a hop, skip and a jump from using an illegal update patch. And when 14 comes out, lost of first-time cheaters are going to cross the line and get the full program, including Fritz 14 and gui, all cracked. They are not going to buy Fritz 14 and then have to beg for more activations. Trust me on that. And you can add them to the long list of people that have been doing that- and will keep doing it even if you gave them 40 activations. this is going to backfire and blow up in their faces. But at least for now I am ok.

AND I GREATLY THANK EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU WHO TOOK THE TIME TO TRY AND HELP ME. THAT MEANS A LOT TO ME.



Thanks again,

george

Post Reply