Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Dann Corbit, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
mike angel
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:08 pm

Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Post by mike angel » Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:30 am

On my two Win7-machines -2 and 4 cores- Scorpio 2.76ja didnt run.
Both x64 compiles and the x32 compile are crashing.'

On my old WinXP machine the same x32 compile runs pretty good.

Someone can please give a helping hand.

Thanx

User avatar
velmarin
Posts: 1600
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:48 am

Re: Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Post by velmarin » Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:50 am

mike angel wrote:On my two Win7-machines -2 and 4 cores- Scorpio 2.76ja didnt run.
Both x64 compiles and the x32 compile are crashing.'

On my old WinXP machine the same x32 compile runs pretty good.

Someone can please give a helping hand.

Thanx
Try this program (recommended by Microsoft), needs no installation and will tell you if you are missing any dll.


http://www.dependencywalker.com/

User avatar
geots
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:42 pm

Re: Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Post by geots » Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:14 am

mike angel wrote:On my two Win7-machines -2 and 4 cores- Scorpio 2.76ja didnt run.
Both x64 compiles and the x32 compile are crashing.'

On my old WinXP machine the same x32 compile runs pretty good.

Someone can please give a helping hand.

Thanx




Heading to bed soon, but if you want to run it in a UCI gui adapted from Winboard to UCI and works GREAT and strong- just PM me or get my email address from Ray Banks, Pete Skinner or Don Dailey- either way when I awake I will send you my folders already set up, logo and all- ready to install.



Will be glad to help-

george

User avatar
Werner
Posts: 2611
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:09 pm

Re: Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Post by Werner » Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:38 pm

mike angel wrote:On my two Win7-machines -2 and 4 cores- Scorpio 2.76ja didnt run.
Both x64 compiles and the x32 compile are crashing.'
On my old WinXP machine the same x32 compile runs pretty good.
Someone can please give a helping hand.
Thanx
Hi Mike,
I made my tests only with 1CPU and had no crashes.
So I just tried to analyze with 2CPU and 4CPU - and the engine did not Crash here.
So I think we Need further Infos about the crashes. Do the engines Crash at once, only sometimes e.g. in the endgame, does the engine work inside cmd prompt, which GUI, do you use wb or uci via wb2uci Adapter?

regards
Werner

mike angel
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Post by mike angel » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:13 am

Thx to all who gave me a reply ... will go with it lateron

User avatar
Dr.Wael Deeb
Posts: 9773
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Amman,Jordan

Re: Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Post by Dr.Wael Deeb » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:28 am

Here is my Wb2UCI file....

The engine works perfectly under the Deep Fritz 13 GUI.....

[ENGINE]
Name=Scorpio x64 MP q_2012
Author=François Karr, France
Filename=ScorpioUCI.exe

[OPTIONS]
Program=scorpio-276-64-ja.exe
Ponder=false
Logfile=false
MateScore=9999
OwnBook=true
LevelExtend=Strict
ShowThinkingMove=true
TerminateHard=true
Visible=ShowThinkingMove,Hash
_No one can hit as hard as life.But it ain’t about how hard you can hit.It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward.How much you can take and keep moving forward….

mike angel
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Post by mike angel » Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:33 pm

.. have checked it out so far - but no success

Gui used - Arena 3.0
Time - 40 / 5 repeating
winboard

crashed at once when starts - Arena logfile stopped after set time

Console says:

"feature done=O
ht .... = 64.0 MB
eht ... = 8.0 MB
pht ... = 0.8 MB
+ Thread 1 started
processors [2]
EgbbProbe not Loaded!
loading_time = 0s" ... end

I used the tool "depends", that tell me, that could not find the following dlls.

api-ms-win-core-com-l1-1-1.dll
api-ms-win-core-winrt-error-l1-1-1.dll
api-ms-win-core-winrt-l1-1-1.dll
api-ms-win-core-winrt-robuffer-l1-1-1.dll
api-ms-win-core-winrt-string-l1-1-1.dll
api-ms-win-share-scaling-l1-1-1.dll
dcomp.dll

after some google-search i found those dll should belong to
MS-Virtual C++ 2010, so I installed MS-Virtual C++ 2012 redistriutable
but after a reboot its all the same .. it crashed and "depends" give the same output

older versions of Scorpio did well as winboard engines
so i dont want to use the wb2uci-adapter cause it costs some performance

what went wrong ?

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3605
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: Really ?

Post by Sylwy » Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:44 pm

mike angel wrote: so i dont want to use the wb2uci-adapter cause it costs some performance

what went wrong ?
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Take a look here :

http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 69&t=48225

All was with the last Scorpio, on Fritzy 11 GUI , via Wb2Uci, on WinXP, blah-blah-blah......The engine is superb, the Wb2Uci is super-OK,................the user-I DON'T KNOW !
Scorpio 2.7.6 runs also very well on Win 7 OS !

Regards,
SilvianR :wink:

Daniel Shawul
Posts: 4105
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Ethiopia
Contact:

Re: Really ?

Post by Daniel Shawul » Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:02 pm

the user-I DON'T KNOW
Tell me about it. This is deja vu and the conclusion so far has been scorpio is not idiot-proof. If I say my engine doesn't crush, I have to nurse wounds of butthurt people. Creating a fake scenario to have a second go at me since first time didn't work, second time didn't work etc... Downright pathetic if you ask me. My suggestions
->Apply cold water on wounded area
->Leave my engine alone, let her crash all she wants.
->Send crush reports to bopo194@yahoo.com if you have to.

User avatar
Werner
Posts: 2611
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:09 pm

Re: Scorpio 2.76 ja didnt run on Win7

Post by Werner » Tue Aug 20, 2013 4:22 pm

mike angel wrote:Console says:
"feature done=O
ht .... = 64.0 MB
eht ... = 8.0 MB
pht ... = 0.8 MB
+ Thread 1 started
processors [2]
EgbbProbe not Loaded!
loading_time = 0s"
...that´s normal, the engine has not crashed!
type:

sd 10
go

and post the result!
Werner

Post Reply