Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, Dann Corbit, hgm

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Ponti
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Curitiba - PR - BRAZIL
Contact:

Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by Ponti » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:28 am

I can´t install it, every time I try (under CB12) BD detects it as a virus or a scan ?!

I've downloaded the last .exe from SF site, for windows. Using SF 6 x64 as my comp is "old" (Q6600).

Any help ?
A. Ponti
AMD Ryzen 1800x, Windows 10.
FIDE current ratings: standard 1913, rapid 1931

Ferdy
Posts: 4308
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 1:15 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by Ferdy » Mon Apr 06, 2015 3:11 am

Ponti wrote:I can´t install it, every time I try (under CB12) BD detects it as a virus or a scan ?!

I've downloaded the last .exe from SF site, for windows. Using SF 6 x64 as my comp is "old" (Q6600).

Any help ?
Run that exe then type uci, see if it is indeed an sf.

Be familiar with BD, there could be option there to allow sf to run. It is also possible to send that exe to BD lab, this would help them detect the real virus in their development.

Try it in arena or winboard.

User avatar
cc2150dx
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:51 am
Location: Canada
Full name: Jason Coombs

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by cc2150dx » Mon Apr 06, 2015 6:54 am

I have Bitdefender Total Security 2015..no issues here

Fritz 13 gui

Stockfish 6 64 - Komodo 8 64-bit, Jason, 20m/40
rnbqkbnr/pppppppp/8/8/8/8/PPPPPPPP/RNBQKBNR w KQkq - 0 1

Analysis by Stockfish 6 64:

1.e4 e6 2.d4 d5 3.exd5 exd5 4.Nc3 Nf6 5.Nf3 Nc6 6.Bb5 Bb4 7.0-0 0-0 8.Bxc6 bxc6 9.Ne5 Qd6 10.Bf4 Bxc3 11.bxc3 Re8 12.Qd3 Ne4 13.c4
= (0.24) Depth: 24/33 00:01:02 103MN
(, 06.04.2015)

or here: https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/9634 ... 428302774/

Strange
Dragon by Komodo Chess (beta tester)

styx
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by styx » Mon Apr 06, 2015 1:39 pm

https://www.virustotal.com

check what other antivirus programs think

User avatar
Werner
Posts: 2560
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:09 pm

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by Werner » Mon Apr 06, 2015 3:40 pm

Ponti wrote:I can´t install it, every time I try (under CB12) BD detects it as a virus or a scan ?!
I've downloaded the last .exe from SF site, for windows. Using SF 6 x64 as my comp is "old" (Q6600).
Any help ?
Hi
I think I wrote here before: every time when I install an engine inside Shredder GUI - I do not own CB12 but maybe its the same (Stockfish, Houdini...) - Bitdefender detects this engine as a virus. When I check this engine file direct with Bitdefender - no virus is detected. I think it is the installation process where new files are created and saved to the HD.

So if you are shure not to have an infected engine you have to put this file into the list of the processes not scanned.

PS: I have now changed to another Antivirus Program...
Werner

tomgdrums
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:48 am

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by tomgdrums » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:32 pm

Bitdefender did the same to me with Fire 4 and Houdini 3. And the last edition of Smarthink.

Then I tried again with Fire 4 and everything was fine. ( a few months later I must add)

So maybe Bitdefender needs a few months to recognize things.

Other than that this has been my favorite Anti-virus program.

User avatar
cdani
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:24 am
Location: Andorra
Contact:

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by cdani » Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:44 pm

I use also Bitdefender and some engines are detected, not as virus, but as problematic because they use lots of cpu power. So it's necessary to put them in the exception list.

User avatar
Ponti
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Curitiba - PR - BRAZIL
Contact:

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by Ponti » Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:55 am

Yes, now it is in the exception list (both the folder and the exe file) and it works now.
Although this is really annoying for a computer chess fan, I still like BD antivirus.
A. Ponti
AMD Ryzen 1800x, Windows 10.
FIDE current ratings: standard 1913, rapid 1931

shrapnel
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:43 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by shrapnel » Tue Apr 07, 2015 6:21 am

Of course Stockfish is a VIRUS..... its the virus which destroyed Houdini and Komodo ! :lol:
i7 5960X @ 4.1 Ghz, 64 GB G.Skill RipJaws RAM, Twin Asus ROG Strix OC 11 GB Geforce 2080 Tis

deefree49
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 2:14 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Bitdefender detects Stockfish 6 as virus ???

Post by deefree49 » Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:47 pm

I had the same experience with Panda. I was able to manually override but Panda thinks all Stockfish programs are viruses! I was a little surprised by this but all along, both McAfee and Panda have always "cautioned" me when downloading any Stockfish engines.

McAfee doesn't even like the Development website and shows an angry red little McAfee symbol whenever I go there.

Maybe it has to do with the open source aspect or maybe it is even political. Sometimes I wonder about stuff like that. But, I suppose that is another discussion...

Post Reply