Page 2 of 5

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2 (epd input and pgn output)

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:59 am
by Ferdy
Regarding epd input and pgn output, here I use epd with hmvc and fmvn values in the epd line.

Code: Select all

2r5/p2nk3/b1r4p/R1p3p1/4P3/1NP2P2/P1PR1KPP/8 b - - sm R8c7; hmvc 1; fmvn 25; ce 158; eco "B00"; c8 "c8c7"; c9 "0-1";
The pgn header is,
[Event "?"]
[Site "?"]
[Date "2015.09.06"]
[Round "1"]
[White "D2015.1.250"]
[Black "Gaviota v1.0 64bit"]
[Result "0-1"]
[FEN "2r5/p2nk3/b1r4p/R1p3p1/4P3/1NP2P2/P1PR1KPP/8 b - -"]
[PlyCount "76"]
[SetUp "1"]
[Termination "adjudication"]
[TimeControl "15+0.1"]
It would be better if the hmvc and fmvn values given in the input epd will be used in the FEN tag, something like this,
[FEN "2r5/p2nk3/b1r4p/R1p3p1/4P3/1NP2P2/P1PR1KPP/8 b - - 1 25"]
If not given just use 0 and 1, as was suggested before.

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:04 am
by Desperado
Good morning, good news,

i was able to solve my issue with my batch too. In my case it was an inconstancy in my json config file too.

I changed:

Code: Select all

"command" : "Omen0002", ...
into

Code: Select all

"command" : "Omen0002.exe", ...
The "exe" file extension was not necessary in previous versions.
Adding it, all engines that i use seem to start from the location they are referenced to. Different other test will start soon.

Happy Sunday!

PS: Thanks Ferdi, to check the json file was a very good hint, i did not expect to find an issue in it, because it worked flawlessly before.
Even if it was a different issue than yours it was the right place to solve the problem.

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:37 am
by Ferdy
Desperado wrote:Good morning, good news,

i was able to solve my issue with my batch too. In my case it was an inconstancy in my json config file too.

I changed:

Code: Select all

"command" : "Omen0002", ...
into

Code: Select all

"command" : "Omen0002.exe", ...
The "exe" file extension was not necessary in previous versions.
Adding it, all engines that i use seem to start from the location they are referenced to. Different other test will start soon.

Happy Sunday!

PS: Thanks Ferdi, to check the json file was a very good hint, i did not expect to find an issue in it, because it worked flawlessly before.
Even if it was a different issue than yours it was the right place to solve the problem.
You have no space but I have, but you don't have extension and I have.
Ilari had just released the perfect cutechess-cli that is guaranteed not to work for both of us :).
Have a good Sunday too.

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 11:27 am
by Desperado
kranium wrote:
...
Also, If you intend to start up the same engine twice as indicated above, you may want to create 2 different configs in the engines.json file...
for example:
engine conf="Nemo_1" engine conf="Nemo_2"

Hope this helps,
Norm

PS cutechess is awesome...
thanks much Ilari for the fine work!
Hello, Norman,

well, to reference the same configuration twice

Code: Select all

::Engines
Set eng=%eng% -engine conf=Nemo
Set eng=%eng% -engine conf=Nemo

:: Common Config
Set eng=%eng% -each

::Working Folder
Set eng=%eng% dir="C:\_CHESS\CutechessEngine"
...
is not a problem. Just as minor note.

Thanks, anyway.

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 1:39 pm
by ilari
Desperado wrote:Hi, thanks.

Unfortunately the new version is not able to start any engine.

Here is my batch (using windows 7/64bit)...

OOPS! Indeed, if the executable name includes spaces, starting the engine didn't work. I think I just fixed this issue. Can you give this one a try: http://koti.mbnet.fi/~ilaripih/bin/cute ... -win32.zip
The engine command should include the full executable file name, including the extension. Otherwise things should work just like they did in 0.7.1.

Note: The original 0.7.2 version should work fine for Linux and Mac users. The latest changes are Windows-only.

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 1:47 pm
by ilari
Ferdy wrote:Another issue, while tour is running, I hit control + break keys to stop the tour (I am using win7). The cutechess-cli exited, but the engines are still there visible in task manager but are not using cpu.

This behaviour does not happen in version 0.7.1.
The only change that I can imagine causing this would be the use of the CREATE_NO_WINDOW flag when creating a new process. The flag prevents Windows from opening a new console for the engine process (via the CuteChess GUI). Mostly when I kill cutechess-cli violently or if it crashed, the engine processes were left floating around. This was also with previous cutechess-cli versions so I think you've just been lucky.

I suggest using CTRL+C instead of CTRL+BREAK. Cutechess-cli handles CTRL+C quite nicely - asks the engines to exit cleanly and if they don't comply, terminates them. With CTRL+C you also get the rankings, SPRT info, etc.

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2 (epd input and pgn output)

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 1:48 pm
by ilari
Ferdy wrote:Regarding epd input and pgn output, here I use epd with hmvc and fmvn values in the epd line.

Code: Select all

2r5/p2nk3/b1r4p/R1p3p1/4P3/1NP2P2/P1PR1KPP/8 b - - sm R8c7; hmvc 1; fmvn 25; ce 158; eco "B00"; c8 "c8c7"; c9 "0-1";
The pgn header is,
[Event "?"]
[Site "?"]
[Date "2015.09.06"]
[Round "1"]
[White "D2015.1.250"]
[Black "Gaviota v1.0 64bit"]
[Result "0-1"]
[FEN "2r5/p2nk3/b1r4p/R1p3p1/4P3/1NP2P2/P1PR1KPP/8 b - -"]
[PlyCount "76"]
[SetUp "1"]
[Termination "adjudication"]
[TimeControl "15+0.1"]
It would be better if the hmvc and fmvn values given in the input epd will be used in the FEN tag, something like this,
[FEN "2r5/p2nk3/b1r4p/R1p3p1/4P3/1NP2P2/P1PR1KPP/8 b - - 1 25"]
If not given just use 0 and 1, as was suggested before.
This is a very good suggestion and will be implemented soon. But first we want to get a stable 0.7 release out, and any new features or improvements are going to be in cutechess-cli 0.8.

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 2:26 pm
by Ferdy
ilari wrote:
Ferdy wrote:Another issue, while tour is running, I hit control + break keys to stop the tour (I am using win7). The cutechess-cli exited, but the engines are still there visible in task manager but are not using cpu.

This behaviour does not happen in version 0.7.1.
The only change that I can imagine causing this would be the use of the CREATE_NO_WINDOW flag when creating a new process. The flag prevents Windows from opening a new console for the engine process (via the CuteChess GUI). Mostly when I kill cutechess-cli violently or if it crashed, the engine processes were left floating around. This was also with previous cutechess-cli versions so I think you've just been lucky.
I don't think it is luck, version 0.7.1 with control+break keys will exit engines and cutechess-cli cleanly, at least in my computer. Try this in your computer if you like.
Link to the download of 0.7.1 win 32.
http://www.talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=57472
ilari wrote: I suggest using CTRL+C instead of CTRL+BREAK. Cutechess-cli handles CTRL+C quite nicely - asks the engines to exit cleanly and if they don't comply, terminates them. With CTRL+C you also get the rankings, SPRT info, etc.
This control+C keys works, thanks.

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 4:37 pm
by Ferdy
ilari wrote:Can you give this one a try: http://koti.mbnet.fi/~ilaripih/bin/cute ... -win32.zip
The engine command should include the full executable file name, including the extension. Otherwise things should work just like they did in 0.7.1.

Note: The original 0.7.2 version should work fine for Linux and Mac users. The latest changes are Windows-only.
This one works, no more problem on space in filenames. SPRT looks fine from my test.

Suggestions:
1. Add other info in the console output when doing sprt.

From,
Score of D2015.1.250 vs D2015.1.241: 117 - 134 - 199 [0.481] 450
ELO difference: -13
SPRT: llr -0.405, lbound -2.94, ubound 2.94
Started game 456 of 8000 (D2015.1.241 vs D2015.1.250)
To,
Score of D2015.1.250 vs D2015.1.241: 117 - 134 - 199 [0.481] 450
ELO difference: -13
alpha = 0.05, beta = 0.05
elo0 = 0, elo1 = 4

SPRT: llr -0.405, lbound -2.94, ubound 2.94
Started game 456 of 8000 (D2015.1.241 vs D2015.1.250)
That would make it easy to read when trying to evaluate every point in the sampling while test is in progress.

2. Reduce decimal places of llr from 3 to 2 to match the lbound and ubound.

From,
SPRT: llr -0.405, lbound -2.94, ubound 2.94
To,
SPRT: llr -0.41, lbound -2.94, ubound 2.94

Re: cutechess-cli 0.7.2

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 8:39 pm
by Desperado
Hello,

just some easy little questions about cutechess parameters.

1. What is the trust parameter used for ?

Code: Select all

trust
Trust result claims from the engine without validation. By default all claims are validated.
2. Does the st parameter accept fractions of seconds, like 0.25 ?
If so, should timemargin be used with st parameter ?

Code: Select all

st=n
Set the time limit for each move to n seconds. This option cannot be used in combination with the tc option.
3. What is the use for the inf parameter ?

Code: Select all

tc=[tcformat | inf]
Thanks in advance.