Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Andres Valverde
Posts: 555
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Almeria. SPAIN
Contact:

Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by Andres Valverde » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:32 pm

Hi all,

New Dirty 03NOV2015 is available at :

http://www.dirtychess.com/downloads.php

Many little changes and bugs fixed. Fonzy Bluemers squeezed out a nice ELO gain in only 6 months. All kudos to him!

One of our tests results :

http://www.dirtychess.com/ratings.html

The Dirty Team.
Saludos, Andres

jdart
Posts: 3842
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by jdart » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:09 pm

Dirty.exe did not work for me even though my CPU has POPCNT (i5-2500k). Dirty_nopopcount does work.

--Jon

F. Bluemers
Posts: 860
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by F. Bluemers » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:19 pm

Hi,
does it give an error message when started from the commandline?

jdart
Posts: 3842
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by jdart » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:56 pm

Just the standard error box "Dirty.exe has stopped working" with these details:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Dirty.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 5639003d
Fault Module Name: Dirty.exe
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 5639003d
Exception Code: c000001d
Exception Offset: 000000000000dba5
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 23bd
Additional Information 2: 23bd9d1c0f43689681d69b3addd1501b
Additional Information 3: 9423
Additional Information 4: 94233d66fa6617b5a1ef3e096871ae0a

Frank Quisinsky
Posts: 4852
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:16 pm
Location: Trier, Germany
Contact:

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by Frank Quisinsky » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:58 pm

Hi Dirty Team,

+1
:-)

Will see ... had a lot of fun in my first test-run.
At the moment one of my favorits!

THANKS!!
And good luck!

Ah, many updates I have to include, I add it on my ToDo.
But you can be sure ... the test-run will start!

Best
Frank
I like computer chess!

User avatar
Andres Valverde
Posts: 555
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Almeria. SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by Andres Valverde » Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:19 pm

jdart wrote:Just the standard error box "Dirty.exe has stopped working" with these details:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Dirty.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 5639003d
Fault Module Name: Dirty.exe
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 5639003d
Exception Code: c000001d
Exception Offset: 000000000000dba5
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 23bd
Additional Information 2: 23bd9d1c0f43689681d69b3addd1501b
Additional Information 3: 9423
Additional Information 4: 94233d66fa6617b5a1ef3e096871ae0a
Same here, but my computer has not popcount
Saludos, Andres

User avatar
Werner
Posts: 2428
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:09 pm

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by Werner » Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:30 pm

Hi, thanks for the engine!

Dirty exe crashes here too on all pcs (all Intel CPUs, Win 7, Win8)
...and on Skylake CPU
best wishes
Last edited by Werner on Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Werner

mar
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Full name: Martin Sedlak

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by mar » Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:34 pm

First of all, congrats guys! :)

Crashes here (i7) as well, it seems to require BMI1 support?
The offending instruction is blsi rdx, rax at 0x40DBA5 if it helps.

User avatar
cdani
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:24 am
Location: Andorra
Contact:

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by cdani » Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:39 pm

jdart wrote:Dirty.exe did not work for me even though my CPU has POPCNT (i5-2500k). Dirty_nopopcount does work.

--Jon
Same for me on an I7-5820K.
It crashes here:

00000000004433B1 bextr rdx,rax,810h
http://www.felixcloutier.com/x86/BEXTR.html

But in an AMD FX-8350 it works. So seems to use specialized assembler instructions for AMD architecture.

Modern Times
Posts: 2421
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 9:02 pm

Re: Dirty 03NOV2015 released

Post by Modern Times » Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:46 am

cdani wrote: But in an AMD FX-8350 it works.
Yes, works on mine too.
.

Opinions expressed here are my own, and not necessarily those of the CCRL Group.

Post Reply