(just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Dann Corbit, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
velmarin
Posts: 1600
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:48 am

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by velmarin » Wed Dec 30, 2015 6:54 pm

Jim Ablett wrote:I've re-done the whole package. I forgot to add matescore fix and a few other things.
Jim.
Hi Jim, his idea has been great for crafty and other engines give more comfort to the less advanced user.
You can try this and avoided much work, in fact in Fritz works.
In source option.c add "threads"

Code: Select all

else if (OptionMatch("smpmt", *args) || OptionMatch("mt", *args)
	  || OptionMatch("cores", *args) || OptionMatch("threads", *args))
in Wb2Uci.eng add "Threads" //(64 is max)

Code: Select all

[EXTRAS]
Threads=threads|spin|1|1|64 
This is a test compiled with Intel x 64 popcnt and Enigma Virtual Box.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/x55mt ... 0-x64-U.7z
Thanks, jim.

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:56 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by Jim Ablett » Wed Dec 30, 2015 6:58 pm

Hi Jose,

wow that's a great tip and would indeed save an awful lot of time & effort compiling many different thread versions.

Cheers,
Jim.

ernest
Posts: 1928
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by ernest » Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:25 pm

Jim Ablett wrote:I've re-done the whole package. I forgot to add matescore fix and a few other things.

New download link:

http://tinyurl.com/zx4yurl

Jim.
Hi Jim,

How does that work with uci ?

I chose the crafty-25-uci-ja 32 bit ponder off 2 core
and got the files :
crafty-25-32-ja.exe (Winboard exe)
crafty-25-32-uci-ja.exe (uci exe)
crafty.rc
wb2Uci.bmp
wb2Uci.eng
wb2Uci.exe

But double-clicking on the uci exe file (crafty-25-32-uci-ja.exe)
did not work (on go infinite, I just got the response: info depth 1 score cp 1).
I suppose some parameters have to be set...

How do you use that crafty-25-32-uci-ja.exe ?
(I know I could run the winboard exe in Fritz, using Wb2Uci.eng and Wb2Uci.exe, but I want to use your uci exe)

styx
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by styx » Thu Dec 31, 2015 6:48 pm

As far as I remember you have to add the wb2Uci.exe as the engine. In its configuration file there is a path, pointing to the actual winboard engine

The engine itself will never be UCI I think. In between there is just the adapter which translates between the two different protocols

hope this information is all correct :)

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:56 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by Jim Ablett » Thu Dec 31, 2015 8:05 pm

Don't double-click on anything. Just install 'crafty-25-32-uci-ja.exe' as uci engine in your favourite Chess gui. It won't work from command line.

Jim.

ernest
Posts: 1928
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by ernest » Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:46 pm

Jim Ablett wrote:Don't double-click on anything. Just install 'crafty-25-32-uci-ja.exe' as uci engine in your favourite Chess gui. It won't work from command line.
Thanks, Jim, indeed that works !

Question : How do you indicate the Nalimov path?
I modified crafty.rc for that, and indeed I got hits (blinking) on my Nalimov USB stick (but no tb=xxx numbers indicated in the Fritz GUI, is that normal?).
But when I looked at the crafty.rc after that, it was back to the original unmodified crafty.rc (the one with tbpath=d:\progra~1\arena\nalimov)

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:56 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by Jim Ablett » Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:51 pm

I thought in uci mode things like tablesbases are supposed to be handled by gui. :-)

Jim.

ernest
Posts: 1928
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by ernest » Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:07 pm

Well obviously here this is not the case ! :)

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:56 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by Jim Ablett » Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:14 pm

What I mean is with Uci isn't the gui is supposed to bypass the engine completely and handle the tablebase moves itself independently ?

Jim.

Dan Cooper
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 2:15 am

Re: (just for fun) Crafty 25.0 JA UCI

Post by Dan Cooper » Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:17 pm

ernest wrote:
Jim Ablett wrote:Don't double-click on anything. Just install 'crafty-25-32-uci-ja.exe' as uci engine in your favourite Chess gui. It won't work from command line.
Thanks, Jim, indeed that works !

Question : How do you indicate the Nalimov path?
I modified crafty.rc for that, and indeed I got hits (blinking) on my Nalimov USB stick (but no tb=xxx numbers indicated in the Fritz GUI, is that normal?).
But when I looked at the crafty.rc after that, it was back to the original unmodified crafty.rc (the one with tbpath=d:\progra~1\arena\nalimov)
It won't report tb hits, but I verified it was accessing the egtb on my machine. It also supports multiple paths. However after each game the crafty.rc file got deleted.

Post Reply