cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Nordlandia
Posts: 2376
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:38 pm
Location: Sortland, Norway

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by Nordlandia » Thu May 19, 2016 10:43 pm

ilari wrote:
Nordlandia wrote:Do 0.8.0 support two computer match do benefit from ponder?
Can you please rephrase your question? Pondering is supported for all tournament types regardless of the number of players.
Two computers connected so it avoids shared resources on ponder.

Ferdy
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 1:15 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by Ferdy » Fri May 20, 2016 5:28 am

ilari wrote:
Ferdy wrote:Thanks for the update.

How the bracket are created in knockout?

How to setup a knockout tour such that the best engines will most likely battle in the latter rounds?
There's a new "-seeds n" parameter which sets the first n players as seeds in the tournament. The top two seeds can't face each other before the final, top 4 before the semifinals and so on. And if the total number of players in the tournament is not a power of 2, seeded players are prioritized to receive a BYE (ie. go straight to round 2).

Unseeded players are positioned randomly. By default all players are unseeded.
That's what I need the -seeds n :).

Spark and Rybka are set as top 2 seeds.

Code: Select all

1:
---------------------------------------------------------------------
crafty_25.0.1_64bit_pop    10=1  2.5 /  4   Deuterium v2016.1.35.333 
Spark 1.0 x64              1011  3.0 /  4   EXchess_v7.88b_win64     
Rybka_v2.3.2a_64bit        01=0  1.5 /  4   Spike 1.4                
Dirty_Nov62015_64bit       =00   0.5 /  3   Quazar_0.4_x64           
---------------------------------------------------------------------

2:
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Spark 1.0 x64              0100  1.0 /  4   crafty_25.0.1_64bit_pop  
Spike 1.4                  00=   0.5 /  3   Quazar_0.4_x64           
---------------------------------------------------------------------

3:
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Quazar_0.4_x64             000   0.0 /  3   crafty_25.0.1_64bit_pop  
---------------------------------------------------------------------

25 games: +9 -12 =4

Ferdy
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 1:15 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by Ferdy » Fri May 20, 2016 5:30 am

TimoK wrote:Hi Ilari,

thank you very much for the new release!

I tested it and possibly found a bug: Engines don't switch the sides any more if you set up a tournament with >2 participants.

Example 1: cutechess-cli.exe -tournament gauntlet -engine conf="Komodo" -engine conf="Gull" -engine conf="Stockfish" -each tc=5+0.05 -rounds 10
This command leads to Komodo only playing white in all games against both opponents.

Example 2: cutechess-cli.exe -tournament gauntlet -engine conf="Komodo" -engine conf="Gull" -each tc=5+0.05 -rounds 10
There are only 2 participants left - now everything works like it should: Sides are switched after each game, so Komodo plays 5 games with white and 5 games with black.

This error didn't appear in version 0.7.3 which was the last version I tested.

Best regards
Timo
I use the following option to do it.

Code: Select all

-repeat

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by ilari » Fri May 20, 2016 7:02 am

TimoK wrote:Hi Ilari,

thank you very much for the new release!

I tested it and possibly found a bug: Engines don't switch the sides any more if you set up a tournament with >2 participants.

Example 1: cutechess-cli.exe -tournament gauntlet -engine conf="Komodo" -engine conf="Gull" -engine conf="Stockfish" -each tc=5+0.05 -rounds 10
This command leads to Komodo only playing white in all games against both opponents.

Example 2: cutechess-cli.exe -tournament gauntlet -engine conf="Komodo" -engine conf="Gull" -each tc=5+0.05 -rounds 10
There are only 2 participants left - now everything works like it should: Sides are switched after each game, so Komodo plays 5 games with white and 5 games with black.

This error didn't appear in version 0.7.3 which was the last version I tested.

Best regards
Timo
Thanks for the report, bug confirmed. I'll fix this ASAP, but for now you can work around the problem by using the -games parameter:

Code: Select all

cutechess-cli.exe -tournament gauntlet -engine conf="Komodo" -engine conf="Gull" -engine conf="Stockfish" -each tc=5+0.05 -rounds 5 -games 2
The above command plays the same number of games in total as your previous example with "-rounds 10", but every encounter has two games and colors will be switched between games.

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by ilari » Sat May 21, 2016 9:02 am

The bug with alternating color has been fixed: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... a743a82d30

We'll upload a patch release soon.

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by ilari » Sat May 21, 2016 3:52 pm

Nordlandia wrote:
ilari wrote:
Nordlandia wrote:Do 0.8.0 support two computer match do benefit from ponder?
Can you please rephrase your question? Pondering is supported for all tournament types regardless of the number of players.
Two computers connected so it avoids shared resources on ponder.
Cutechess-cli doesn't support it explicitly, but you can certainly run your engines on a remote host via ssh if you wish: https://blog.chendry.org/2016/04/05/com ... s-cli.html

TimoK
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 11:28 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by TimoK » Mon May 23, 2016 8:39 am

Ilari, thank you very much for the quick fix!

Best regards
Timo

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by ilari » Tue May 24, 2016 6:52 am

SzG wrote:Symantec Endpoint Protection put it into quarantine.
That's unfortunate. Did it provide any explanation for flagging cutechess-cli?

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by ilari » Fri May 27, 2016 5:22 pm

ilari wrote:The bug with alternating color has been fixed: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... a743a82d30

We'll upload a patch release soon.
Cutechess-cli 0.8.1 is now officially released and the binaries have been updated: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... /cli-0.8.1

Download links here: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess

Ferdy
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 1:15 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: cutechess-cli 0.8.0 released

Post by Ferdy » Tue May 31, 2016 9:25 am

ilari wrote: Cutechess-cli 0.8.1 is now officially released and the binaries have been updated: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... /cli-0.8.1

Download links here: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess
I tried to run atomic variant game match using epd as opening file. There was a warning.

Code: Select all

Warning: The opening suite is incompatible with the current chess variant
The game continues from start position.

Here is my batch file.

Code: Select all

set C=2
set fname=%~n0

set TCV=60+1

set E1="atom_e1"
set E2="atom_e2"

set startfile=.\pos\atomic_2start.epd
set save=.\games\atomic\g-%E1%-%fname%.pgn

cutechess-cli ^
-variant atomic ^
-tournament gauntlet ^
-rounds 2 ^
-games 2 ^
-repeat ^
-draw movenumber=120 movecount=10 score=1 ^
-resign movecount=5 score=10000 ^
-openings file=%startfile% order=random format=epd ^
-concurrency %C% ^
-pgnout %save% ^
-wait 30 ^
-recover ^
-engine conf=%E1% tc=%TCV% ^
-engine conf=%E2% tc=%TCV%
Typical entries in jason file.

Code: Select all

{ 
      "command" : "atom_e1.exe",
      "name" : "atom_e1",
	  "variant" : "atomic",
      "protocol" : "xboard", 
      "workingDirectory" : "C:\\chess\\engines\\atomic"
   },
   { 
      "command" : "atom_e2.exe",
      "name" : "atom_e2",
	  "variant" : "atomic",
      "protocol" : "xboard", 
      "workingDirectory" : "C:\\chess\\engines\\atomic"
   },
The epd in atomic_2start.epd.

Code: Select all

rnb2k2/p1p3p1/1p2pp2/8/4P3/8/PPPK1PP1/7R b - -
rnbk3r/p1p2ppp/3pp3/1p6/7Q/2P1P3/PP4PP/RNBK4 b - -
However using opening file from pgn works.

Post Reply