PyChess 0.99.1

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
gbtami
Posts: 377
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

PyChess 0.99.1

Post by gbtami » Tue Dec 26, 2017 8:05 pm

We're pleased to announce, that a new PyChess Morphy 0.99.1 has been made available.
This is the second alpha of upcoming 1.0 release.
- New chess variant: Horde
- Board theme enhancements: texture, frame, grid
- Play Chess960 games on ICC
- Play with problembot/trainingbot/tacticaltrainer on ICC
- Countless GUI enhancements and bugfixes (by ecrucru)

Merry Christmas and happy holidays to all chess lovers!

Downloads: https://github.com/pychess/pychess/releases

User avatar
gbtami
Posts: 377
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: PyChess 0.99.1

Post by gbtami » Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:05 am

Just to wet your appetite here is a shot where I play with ICC problembot a famous puzzle.

Image

styx
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PyChess 0.99.1

Post by styx » Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:57 pm

looks very good :)

will it support opening books (engines following the book in the opening)? one of very few drawbacks of older versions.

User avatar
gbtami
Posts: 377
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: PyChess 0.99.1

Post by gbtami » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:06 am

styx wrote:looks very good :)

will it support opening books (engines following the book in the opening)? one of very few drawbacks of older versions.
Filed as https://github.com/pychess/pychess/issues/1538

Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1637
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Re: PyChess 0.99.1

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:58 pm

Hello,

I have installed PyChess 0.99.1 on Windows 7 SP1 32 bit successfully, but if I make a double-mouseclick on the python-chess engine (.exe-file) > cf error indication:
cx_Freeze: Python error in main script
Traceback (most recent call last)

File C:\python34\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console.py
line27, in <module>
File lib/___main___./py, line 21 in <module>
File lib\pychess\Players\PyChessCECP.py, line 93, in run
File lib\pychess\Players\PyChessCECP.py, line 35, in get_input
RuntimeError: input (): lost sys.stdin

It is possible to run python-engine into other GUIs like WinBoard Interface or Arena too?


Norbert

User avatar
gbtami
Posts: 377
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: PyChess 0.99.1

Post by gbtami » Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:30 pm

Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:Hello,

I have installed PyChess 0.99.1 on Windows 7 SP1 32 bit successfully, but if I make a double-mouseclick on the python-chess engine (.exe-file) > cf error indication:
cx_Freeze: Python error in main script
Traceback (most recent call last)

File C:\python34\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console.py
line27, in <module>
File lib/___main___./py, line 21 in <module>
File lib\pychess\Players\PyChessCECP.py, line 93, in run
File lib\pychess\Players\PyChessCECP.py, line 35, in get_input
RuntimeError: input (): lost sys.stdin

It is possible to run python-engine into other GUIs like WinBoard Interface or Arena too?


Norbert
On Windows python-chess engine (.exe-file) is only usable inside PyChess GUI. If you want to run python-chess engine outside of PyChess GUI you have to grab the latest engine from https://github.com/pychess/pychess/rele ... 161204.pyz
and run it with a Python interpreter. .pyz files are python executable zip files. See https://blogs.gnome.org/jamesh/2012/05/ ... zip-files/

Guenther
Posts: 3280
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon
Contact:

Re: PyChess 0.99.1

Post by Guenther » Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:53 pm

gbtami wrote:
Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:Hello,

I have installed PyChess 0.99.1 on Windows 7 SP1 32 bit successfully, but if I make a double-mouseclick on the python-chess engine (.exe-file) > cf error indication:
cx_Freeze: Python error in main script
Traceback (most recent call last)

File C:\python34\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console.py
line27, in <module>
File lib/___main___./py, line 21 in <module>
File lib\pychess\Players\PyChessCECP.py, line 93, in run
File lib\pychess\Players\PyChessCECP.py, line 35, in get_input
RuntimeError: input (): lost sys.stdin

It is possible to run python-engine into other GUIs like WinBoard Interface or Arena too?


Norbert
On Windows python-chess engine (.exe-file) is only usable inside PyChess GUI. If you want to run python-chess engine outside of PyChess GUI you have to grab the latest engine from https://github.com/pychess/pychess/rele ... 161204.pyz
and run it with a Python interpreter. .pyz files are python executable zip files. See https://blogs.gnome.org/jamesh/2012/05/ ... zip-files/
IIRC 0.12.4 only had changes for Crazyhouse and I already tested it long ago for Crazyhouse?
For chess I still have 0.12.1 as the last with relevant changes and after extracting the new PyChess installation I see it is still the same.

BTW I always run it (the pychess-engine.exe!) without any problems through inbetween w/o any special commands in Winboard.

Code: Select all

&#91;InBetween&#93;
Debug &#58;= 3
CommandLine &#58;= C&#58;\PyChess\PyChess-engine.exe
Log &#58;= PyChess.log

Code: Select all

0.000&#58; - Starting server&#58; C&#58;\PyChess\PyChess-engine.exe
1.856&#58; - Priority class set to normal
1.856&#58; - Thread priority set to normal
6.193&#58; > go
6.895&#58; < # PyChess 0.12.1 &#91;C&#58;\PyChess\PyChess-engine.exe 3.4.3&#93;
6.895&#58; < # Searching to depth 10 without timelimit
Guenther
https://rwbc-chess.de
https://rwbc-chess.de/chronology.htm
--------------------------------------------------
The troll explosion at talkchess:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... KSptBx9AUs

User avatar
gbtami
Posts: 377
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: PyChess 0.99.1

Post by gbtami » Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:09 pm

Guenther wrote:
gbtami wrote:
Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:Hello,

I have installed PyChess 0.99.1 on Windows 7 SP1 32 bit successfully, but if I make a double-mouseclick on the python-chess engine (.exe-file) > cf error indication:
cx_Freeze: Python error in main script
Traceback (most recent call last)

File C:\python34\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console.py
line27, in <module>
File lib/___main___./py, line 21 in <module>
File lib\pychess\Players\PyChessCECP.py, line 93, in run
File lib\pychess\Players\PyChessCECP.py, line 35, in get_input
RuntimeError: input (): lost sys.stdin

It is possible to run python-engine into other GUIs like WinBoard Interface or Arena too?


Norbert
On Windows python-chess engine (.exe-file) is only usable inside PyChess GUI. If you want to run python-chess engine outside of PyChess GUI you have to grab the latest engine from https://github.com/pychess/pychess/rele ... 161204.pyz
and run it with a Python interpreter. .pyz files are python executable zip files. See https://blogs.gnome.org/jamesh/2012/05/ ... zip-files/
IIRC 0.12.4 only had changes for Crazyhouse and I already tested it long ago for Crazyhouse?
For chess I still have 0.12.1 as the last with relevant changes and after extracting the new PyChess installation I see it is still the same.

BTW I always run it (the pychess-engine.exe!) without any problems through inbetween w/o any special commands in Winboard.

Code: Select all

&#91;InBetween&#93;
Debug &#58;= 3
CommandLine &#58;= C&#58;\PyChess\PyChess-engine.exe
Log &#58;= PyChess.log

Code: Select all

0.000&#58; - Starting server&#58; C&#58;\PyChess\PyChess-engine.exe
1.856&#58; - Priority class set to normal
1.856&#58; - Thread priority set to normal
6.193&#58; > go
6.895&#58; < # PyChess 0.12.1 &#91;C&#58;\PyChess\PyChess-engine.exe 3.4.3&#93;
6.895&#58; < # Searching to depth 10 without timelimit
Guenther
IIRC tournament time control support was added after 0.12.1
So in theory 0.12.4 should produce less forfeit on time games.

Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1637
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Re: PyChess 0.99.3

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:31 pm

a short explanation how to run PyChess 0.99.3 WB-Engine on WinBoard-GUI including the necessary files is here:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... jVtUDVTUG8
Thank you Günther!


PyChess 0.99.3 - WinBoard GUI

Download WinPython 3.6.30Qt5 x64 (390 MB) https://github.com/winpython/winpython/ ... 3.0Qt5.exe and install it on a drive e.g. C:\
This procedure can take more than 30 minutes.

Create a directory on C:\Engines\WB\PyChess_20180928 with the following working components:
> InBetween
> PyChess Editor (text document)
> PyChess Windows executable file
> PyChess Zip application

Run WinBoard GUI > Load first engine > PyChess.exe (without any commandline-parameters) under protocol WB-2

PyChess 0.99.3 vs. Fairy-Max: +0 =1 -9 (0.5:9.5)

Guenther
Posts: 3280
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon
Contact:

Re: PyChess 0.99.3

Post by Guenther » Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:14 pm

Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:31 pm
a short explanation how to run PyChess 0.99.3 WB-Engine on WinBoard-GUI including the necessary files is here:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... jVtUDVTUG8
Thank you Günther!


PyChess 0.99.3 - WinBoard GUI

Download WinPython 3.6.30Qt5 x64 (390 MB) https://github.com/winpython/winpython/ ... 3.0Qt5.exe and install it on a drive e.g. C:\
This procedure can take more than 30 minutes.

Create a directory on C:\Engines\WB\PyChess_20180928 with the following working components:
> InBetween
> PyChess Editor (text document)
> PyChess Windows executable file
> PyChess Zip application

Run WinBoard GUI > Load first engine > PyChess.exe (without any commandline-parameters) under protocol WB-2

PyChess 0.99.3 vs. Fairy-Max: +0 =1 -9 (0.5:9.5)
Just a quick note:

In the example setup I sent to you, there is no
> PyChess Windows executable file
actually this is just the renamed Inbetween.exe itself.

Also you have of course to call it by the exact name in WB or Arena or Cute or whatever runs native
xb programs, or you have to rename it to your taste. The current name is PyChess_20180928.exe
in my example and not PyChess.exe (this is my usual naming convention).
(Also the path is my usual folder naming convention, which could be changed of course,
if adapted in the inbetween.ini file - same if using a different python install path)

and a not related side note:

It will not run with pypy on win, because there are only 32-bit pypy installs for win available,
while at least latest pychess.pyz seems to rely on some 64-bit python stuff, which throws some
known exceptions (according to my google research) in this case.
https://rwbc-chess.de
https://rwbc-chess.de/chronology.htm
--------------------------------------------------
The troll explosion at talkchess:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... KSptBx9AUs

Post Reply