Dear Google AlphaZero chess team.

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
syzygy
Posts: 4470
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:56 pm

Re: Dear Google AlphaZero chess team.

Post by syzygy » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:48 pm

Milos wrote:
hgm wrote:But AlphaZero was not using 6-men Syzygy, right? So it was seriously handicapped.
A0 is not capable of using 6-men Syzygy otherwise they would state it in the paper.
It is rather ridiculous to assume that one is handicapped because it cannot use something it is not capable of using.
I fully agree that Stockfish was not handicapped by its inability to use the four TPUs :-)

Milos
Posts: 3389
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:47 am

Re: Dear Google AlphaZero chess team.

Post by Milos » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:53 pm

syzygy wrote:
Milos wrote:
hgm wrote:But AlphaZero was not using 6-men Syzygy, right? So it was seriously handicapped.
A0 is not capable of using 6-men Syzygy otherwise they would state it in the paper.
It is rather ridiculous to assume that one is handicapped because it cannot use something it is not capable of using.
I fully agree that Stockfish was not handicapped by its inability to use the four TPUs :-)
Such typical Ignorantio Elenchi.
No one ever claimed SF is handicapped for not using 4 TPUs. SF was handicapped for using only 64 threads instead of 1024 real cores for example ;).

syzygy
Posts: 4470
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:56 pm

Re: Dear Google AlphaZero chess team.

Post by syzygy » Sun Jan 07, 2018 2:22 am

Milos wrote:
syzygy wrote:
Milos wrote:
hgm wrote:But AlphaZero was not using 6-men Syzygy, right? So it was seriously handicapped.
A0 is not capable of using 6-men Syzygy otherwise they would state it in the paper.
It is rather ridiculous to assume that one is handicapped because it cannot use something it is not capable of using.
I fully agree that Stockfish was not handicapped by its inability to use the four TPUs :-)
Such typical Ignorantio Elenchi.
Why? I simply agree with what you wrote and applied it to a specific case. I did not mean to say or imply anything beyond the single sentence I wrote.
No one ever claimed SF is handicapped for not using 4 TPUs. SF was handicapped for using only 64 threads instead of 1024 real cores for example ;).
Many did claim that SF played against AlphaZero with a hardware disadvantage because of AlphaZero's TPUs.

Post Reply