Teki chess engine

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

mkchan
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:17 pm
Location: India

Teki chess engine

Post by mkchan »

I have released Teki 1 after the random mover last time.
It is available here:

https://github.com/Mk-Chan/Teki/releases/latest

It is a basic engine right now with focus on simplicity (hopefully). It should have approximately 2200 strength.
I want to add FRC support ASAP and cover as much of the UCI protocol as I can following that with Threads, EGTB, MultiPV, Pondering, etc. before moving forward with anything else.

Hopefully the windows executables are working fine :)
User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 4605
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by Guenther »

mkchan wrote:I have released Teki 1 after the random mover last time.
It is available here:

https://github.com/Mk-Chan/Teki/releases/latest

It is a basic engine right now with focus on simplicity (hopefully). It should have approximately 2200 strength.
I want to add FRC support ASAP and cover as much of the UCI protocol as I can following that with Threads, EGTB, MultiPV, Pondering, etc. before moving forward with anything else.

Hopefully the windows executables are working fine :)
Thanks for this one Manik.
The 64-bit version works here on my no popcount hardware.

Guenther
https://rwbc-chess.de

trollwatch:
Chessqueen + chessica + AlexChess + Eduard + Sylwy
LocutusOfPenguin
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 6:52 pm
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Full name: Jürgen Précour

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by LocutusOfPenguin »

Hi Manik,

thats great. Thanks.
I like the idea to have a SMALL engine with its basics alot...Mainly cause i wanted to learn how to do chess engines again..I did that 1000 years ago, but im out of business ;-)

I know the uci is not ready/finished...but pressing a CR let the engine calc forever (until "stop") when a best move is displayed. Prob. very easy to "fix".
On my linux it works, but i had to change the build.sh line 68 cause i dont have a cmake. Perhaps y can test this (too)?

Looking forward to see more of Teki. Thanks again.
Jürgen
Create a dedicated chess computer based on tiny ARM computers with the DGT e-board on picochess.com
mkchan
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:17 pm
Location: India

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by mkchan »

Hi Jurgen,

I made the cmake thing just for flexibility. You can build with the makefile in src/ if you just do

Code: Select all

 make BUILD=release 
It will produce a simple 64-bit non-static binary. It uses clang by default but you can change it with

Code: Select all

 make CXX=g++ BUILD=release 
I just personally prefer clang. Not looking to min-max the speed in Teki :lol:
mkchan
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:17 pm
Location: India

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by mkchan »

Just to inform anyone interested, I have relicensed Teki from GPL to MIT.
User avatar
Scally
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:34 pm
Location: Bermondsey, London
Full name: Alan Cooper

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by Scally »

Hi Manik,

It builds fine on the 32bit Linux Raspberry Pi by using the provided Makefile.


Thanks,

Al.
mkchan
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:17 pm
Location: India

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by mkchan »

Scally wrote:Hi Manik,

It builds fine on the 32bit Linux Raspberry Pi by using the provided Makefile.


Thanks,

Al.
Thanks Al. I have compiled and uploaded a binary from my Raspberry pi too. It should work on Android phones as well (both being ARM) but I've not been able to get it to run on my phone yet.
mkchan
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:17 pm
Location: India

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by mkchan »

I think I managed to get the android version working fine. It'd be great if someone could try it out and tell me about it.
I tested it on Droidchess and Chess for Android.
It's available here: https://github.com/Mk-Chan/Teki/releases/tag/v1.0
flok

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by flok »

Can't get it to work. Both on an intel pc as well as a raspberry pi:

Code: Select all

Starting program: /data/QueenBee/docs/Teki/src/release/Teki1_linux64
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".
uci
id name Teki 1
id author Manik Charan
option name Hash type spin default 1 min 1 max 1048576
uciok
go
info score cp 80 depth 1 nodes 22 time 1 pv b1c3
 
Thread 1 "Teki1_linux64" received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()
(gdb) bt
#0  0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()
#1  0x000000000048dee5 in std::thread::detach() ()
#2  0x000000000040cee6 in handler&#58;&#58;go&#40;Position&, std&#58;&#58;__cxx11&#58;&#58;basic_stringstream<char, std&#58;&#58;char_traits<char>, std&#58;&#58;allocator<char> >&) &#40;pos=..., stream=...)
    at /data/QueenBee/docs/Teki/src/uci.cpp&#58;248
#3  0x000000000040bfd3 in loop&#40;) () at /data/QueenBee/docs/Teki/src/uci.cpp&#58;278
#4  0x00000000004009b5 in main () at /data/QueenBee/docs/Teki/src/main.cpp&#58;44
mkchan
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:17 pm
Location: India

Re: Teki chess engine

Post by mkchan »

Sorry for the confusion, if you compile by yourself using build.sh (which is the cmake build) it will compile static binaries so you need the static linking libraries like glibc-static or whatever on many linux distributions.
You can remove the line containing "-static" from build.sh or just use the makefile:

Code: Select all

make CXX=g++ BUILD=release