LCZero update (2)

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Dann Corbit, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
CMCanavessi
Posts: 930
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:06 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: LCZero update

Post by CMCanavessi » Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:34 pm

David Xu wrote:LCZero possesses a "-noise" command that applies Dirichlet noise to its move selection, thereby causing randomness in its play.
Quick correction: --noise does not cause randomness in its play, it just introduce some randomness in the search, but the moves introduced are evaluated and discarded if they are found to be not good enough.

The randomness in its play that you see in self-play training games is caused by another thing, temperature=1
Follow my tournament and some Leela gauntlets live at http://twitch.tv/ccls

koedem
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:45 pm

Re: LCZero update

Post by koedem » Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:46 am

I just had an interesting game against slow mode (which is fixed to 2k playouts per move now).
https://lichess.org/8Uzz1wbd#0
[pgn]1. Nf3 d5
2. g3 Nf6
3. Bg2 g6
4. b3 Bg7
5. Bb2 O-O
6. O-O Nc6
7. e3 a5
8. d4 e6
9. Nbd2 a4
10. c4 a3
11. Bc3 h6
12. Rc1 Nb8
13. Ba1 Na6
14. Bc3 c6
15. c5 Bd7
16. b4 b5
17. Qb3 Nb8
18. Nb1 Re8
19. Nxa3 Ra7
20. Nc2 Ra8
21. Nce1 Qc8
22. Nd3 Nh5
23. Ra1 Ra4
24. Nfe5 Ra6
25. f4 Rd8
26. a4 Rxa4
27. Rxa4 bxa4
28. Qxa4 Re8
29. Ra1 Nf6
30. Bf3 Ne4
31. Bxe4 dxe4
32. Nf2 Qb7
33. Nxe4 Qc7
34. Nd6 Rf8
35. Qa7 Qxa7
36. Rxa7 Bxe5
37. dxe5 Rd8
38. Bd4 g5
39. Kf2 g4
40. Ke2 Kf8
41. Kd3 h5
42. Kc4 Be8
43. Kb3 Bd7
44. Ka4 Be8
45. Ka5 Nd7
46. Bc3 Ke7
47. Ka6 Rb8
48. Bd2 Kf8
49. Bc3 Ke7
50. e4 Kf8
51. f5 Ke7
52. f6+ Kf8
53. Ka5 Rd8
54. Ka6 Rb8
55. Ka5 Rd8
56. Ka4 Nb8
57. Ka3 Bd7
58. Kb3 Kg8
59. Ka4 Rf8
60. Ka5 Kh7
61. Kb6 Rg8
62. Kb7 h4
63. Ra8 Na6
64. Rxg8 Kxg8
65. Kxa6 h3
66. Kb7 Kf8
67. Kc7 Be8
68. Kd8 Bd7
69. Kxd7 Kg8
70. Ke7 Kh7
71. Kxf7 Kh8
72. Nc8 Kh7
73. Bd2 Kh8
74. Nb6 Kh7
75. Nd7 Kh8
76. b5 cxb5
77. Nf8 b4
78. Bh6 b3
79. Bg7# [/pgn]

Werewolf
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:24 pm

Re: LCZero update

Post by Werewolf » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:30 am

Is there a way to install LCZ on the PC and set the time controls etc myself? I'll bet it gets a lot stronger with more time.

Also does a faster graphics card = better chess? Does it all more rollouts per second?

pferd
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:49 pm

Re: LCZero update

Post by pferd » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:55 am

Here are some basic instructions for Windows:

https://github.com/glinscott/leela-ches ... ng-Started

Werewolf
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:24 pm

Re: LCZero update

Post by Werewolf » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:33 am

Thanks.

I did all that and it said at the end to type a line into my GUI - which GUI will work?

Werewolf
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:24 pm

Re: LCZero update

Post by Werewolf » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:44 am

I tried it on Arena and got an error message:

libopenblas.dll missing

any ideas?

User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 3807
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon
Contact:

Re: LCZero update

Post by Guenther » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:55 am

Werewolf wrote:I tried it on Arena and got an error message:

libopenblas.dll missing

any ideas?
Well then you did not follow the steps written there.
Otherwise you would have libopenblas.dll already.
Here are some basic instructions for Windows:

https://github.com/glinscott/leela-ches ... ng-Started
Obviously you omitted the step with the leela go version.
This download contains the missing files needed also for leela chess.

Code: Select all

Download LZGo:

    https://github.com/gcp/leela-zero/releases/download/v0.12/leela-zero-0.12-win64.zip

Unzip LZGo, and copy LZChess client.exe and lczero.exe into the same folder.
https://rwbc-chess.de
HGM@'chessqueen' 2018-present, aka: 'George' 2013-2016, 'pichy' 2006-2013, 'Jorge Pichard' 2000-2006 (old forum) wrote: http://talkchess.com/forum3/viewtopic.p ... 79#p789713

Werewolf
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:24 pm

Re: LCZero update

Post by Werewolf » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:07 am

OK, I've followed all steps properly and the command line seems to work now, it shows how many GFLOPS I'm running etc.

After it has completed the command line procedure, how do you actually get the engine to play?

I loaded lczero as an Arena engine (was that the right thing to do?) but it doesn't respond when I play a move.

I feel so close...thanks for your help.

jkiliani
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: LCZero update

Post by jkiliani » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:15 am

Werewolf wrote:OK, I've followed all steps properly and the command line seems to work now, it shows how many GFLOPS I'm running etc.

After it has completed the command line procedure, how do you actually get the engine to play?

I loaded lczero as an Arena engine (was that the right thing to do?) but it doesn't respond when I play a move.

I feel so close...thanks for your help.
Try starting the engine from the command line. If that's successful, it will show an output like

Using 1 thread(s).
Generated 1924 moves
Detecting residual layers...v1...64 channels...6 blocks.

At this point, enter "go" to prompt it to play a move. If that works, the rest is a matter of configuring the command line options in Arena properly, I saw some answers to that in this thread (or the predecessor thread anyway)

User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 3807
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon
Contact:

Re: LCZero update

Post by Guenther » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:16 am

Werewolf wrote:OK, I've followed all steps properly and the command line seems to work now, it shows how many GFLOPS I'm running etc.

After it has completed the command line procedure, how do you actually get the engine to play?

I loaded lczero as an Arena engine (was that the right thing to do?) but it doesn't respond when I play a move.

I feel so close...thanks for your help.

Have you downloaded a network file and extracted it?
(the network file is a compressed file)

Have you added the commands themselves or the batch file in the commandline options for Arena (where ever that is - because I don't use it)?

Also note that LCZero speaks uci.
https://rwbc-chess.de
HGM@'chessqueen' 2018-present, aka: 'George' 2013-2016, 'pichy' 2006-2013, 'Jorge Pichard' 2000-2006 (old forum) wrote: http://talkchess.com/forum3/viewtopic.p ... 79#p789713

Post Reply