LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Dann Corbit
Posts: 10101
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Dann Corbit » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:31 pm

I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:33 pm

Dann Corbit wrote:I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Dann, what GPU do you actually have?

For NVIDIA and AMD cards the OpenCL support is included in the regular video driver. If you only have a built-in Intel GPU (which is inside the CPU), it is better to use the CPU directly.

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:34 pm

Jhoravi wrote: While running in GPU does LCZero use the GPU memory too or just the system RAM?
Leela needs the GPU memory to store the network input, weights and intermediate results. But this isn't all that much memory - a few hundred MB.

The system RAM is used to store the search tree and result cache.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10101
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Dann Corbit » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:35 pm

Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote:I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Dann, what GPU do you actually have?

For NVIDIA and AMD cards the OpenCL support is included in the regular video driver. If you only have a built-in Intel GPU (which is inside the CPU), it is better to use the CPU directly.
AMD Radeon 6950.
2 TFlops
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:15 pm

Dann Corbit wrote: AMD Radeon 6950.
2 TFlops
It appears due to a gross oversight on AMD's end, OpenCL support is missing from the final drivers for these cards: https://community.amd.com/thread/192320

This would explain why it's not being detected.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10101
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Dann Corbit » Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:48 pm

Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote: AMD Radeon 6950.
2 TFlops
It appears due to a gross oversight on AMD's end, OpenCL support is missing from the final drivers for these cards: https://community.amd.com/thread/192320

This would explain why it's not being detected.
I was installing OpenCL 2.0 drivers when I left this morning. If it turns out that the install does not work, I found an end-around:
https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/non-g ... ost5277469
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10101
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Dann Corbit » Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:50 pm

Some AMD guy said it is not a defect and it is not an oversight. The cards are no longer supported.

The cards used to work on OpenCL. They sent an update that broke it.

No wonder Nvidia takes these guys out behind the woodshed and beats the stuffings out of them.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

duncan
Posts: 10313
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:50 pm

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by duncan » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:54 pm

Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote:I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Dann, what GPU do you actually have?

For NVIDIA and AMD cards the OpenCL support is included in the regular video driver. If you only have a built-in Intel GPU (which is inside the CPU), it is better to use the CPU directly.
https://github.com/gcp/leela-zero

great contribution that you are making. thanks.
but may I ask why your program does not seem to be making as much rapid progress as lczero. do you have less people running it.?

User avatar
Leto
Posts: 2028
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Dune

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Leto » Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:59 pm

duncan wrote:
Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote:I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Dann, what GPU do you actually have?

For NVIDIA and AMD cards the OpenCL support is included in the regular video driver. If you only have a built-in Intel GPU (which is inside the CPU), it is better to use the CPU directly.
https://github.com/gcp/leela-zero

great contribution that you are making. thanks.
but may I ask why your program does not seem to be making as much rapid progress as lczero. do you have less people running it.?
The Deepmind team had access to much superior hardware.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10101
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Dann Corbit » Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:41 am

smatovic wrote:
Is there a command line flag or something to tell it to use the GPU?

Code: Select all

  --gpu arg                    ID of the OpenCL device(s) to use (disables 
                               autodetection).
You can run lc0 with --tune-only,
that will output a list of your OpenCL devices with OpenCL IDs,
then you can select the device with --gpu arg and run --tune-only and --full-tuner,
that will try a thousands of configuration options and create a config file for your device.

e.g.

Code: Select all

lczero --tune-only
lczero --gpu 0 --tune-only --full-tuner

--
Srdja
The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)

How do I start up with those settings?
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Post Reply