LC0 0.16

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Rubinus
Posts: 953
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:05 pm
Location: Prague
Contact:

LC0 0.16

Post by Rubinus » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:19 am

blas, cuda, opencl...
Some better info?
cuda no works, other?
Image
what next?

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:21 am

What is "no works"?

CUDA needs some specific DLL's (cuDNN) from NVIDIA that are not free to distribute, and you have to go download them from NVIDIA's website. This is explained on the LC0 download page.

(I thought the lc0 team obtained permission to bundle them, but it seems there was a snag there?)

CUDA (really cuDNN) requires an NVIDIA card and is the fastest option on it. If you have an AMD GPU, use OpenCL. Else, use BLAS.

From the screenshot, you have an AMD GPU. So use OpenCL.

User avatar
Rubinus
Posts: 953
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:05 pm
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Rubinus » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:29 am

Thanks.
It works, I just can not see the move as it was before - so it takes about 7 minutes to show the whole lot ..
I have Radeon (TM) RX 560, currently running opencl ...

Gabor Szots
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:43 am
Location: Szentendre, Hungary
Full name: Gabor Szots

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Gabor Szots » Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:01 pm

Am I right assuming that it makes no sense to use LC0 if I have no graphic card, better to stick with Leela Chess 0.10?
Gabor Szots
CCRL testing group

Milos
Posts: 3387
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:47 am

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Milos » Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:53 pm

Gabor Szots wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:01 pm
Am I right assuming that it makes no sense to use LC0 if I have no graphic card, better to stick with Leela Chess 0.10?
LC0 Blas implementation is still faster than the one from GCP so it makes sense.

Karol Majewski
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Karol Majewski » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:03 pm

One thing I really don't like in 0.16 is its output. In 0.10 the output of search goes from depth to depth whereas in 0.16 (blas) - from seldepth to seldepth, which is annoyng cause I cant't see in my GUI what's going on during analysis.

Milos
Posts: 3387
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:47 am

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Milos » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:15 pm

Karol Majewski wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:03 pm
One thing I really don't like in 0.16 is its output. In 0.10 the output of search goes from depth to depth whereas in 0.16 (blas) - from seldepth to seldepth, which is annoyng cause I cant't see in my GUI what's going on during analysis.
You can always change one line in the source code and recompile. :lol:
If you can't do that there are other ways, like asking someone to do it for you, or just use InBetween ;).

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:41 pm

Milos wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:53 pm
LC0 Blas implementation is still faster than the one from GCP so it makes sense.
It's using the same code ported from lczero FWIW so performance is going to be rather similar, not sure why you think it'd be faster. I checked and the only relevant change seems to be ispc support, but that's a day old and isn't going to be in the release.

Leela Zero now has (4x4, 3x3) Winograd support (larger tiles) but I think that hasn't been backported to lc0 yet.
Last edited by Gian-Carlo Pascutto on Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:57 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:50 pm

Gabor Szots wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:01 pm
Am I right assuming that it makes no sense to use LC0 if I have no graphic card, better to stick with Leela Chess 0.10?
I think they aren't going to update the original engine any more, and the OpenCL and BLAS backends from it have been ported to lc0, so I think you're better off using that now. It should support the same systems but get all the bugfixes and improvements.

Gabor Szots
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:43 am
Location: Szentendre, Hungary
Full name: Gabor Szots

Re: LC0 0.16

Post by Gabor Szots » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:57 pm

Thanks, then I'll switch to LC0 when I test the next network.
Gabor Szots
CCRL testing group

Post Reply