Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Daniel Shawul
Posts: 4185
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Ethiopia

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by Daniel Shawul »

Werner wrote: Sat Sep 08, 2018 4:38 pm Hi Daniel,
thanks for the detailed Information. It works now!
I have had a wrong configuration:
the eggb files in C:\egbbs with the old egbbdll

and the new egbbdll inside the scorpio Folder - so the setup did not work of course.

Werner

nodes = 280883 <94% qnodes> time = 11156ms nps = 25177 eps = 20816 nneps = 185
Tree: nodes = 75252 depth = 32 pps = 228 visits = 2547
qsearch_calls = 72724 search_calls = 0
move d2d4
Bye Bye
Thanks a lot Werner!!

Phew..that is a huge burden off my shoulders.

I would appreciate it if you can help me with testing the GPU version too -- i.e. if you have an NVIDIA GPU.

Much appreciated.
Daniel
User avatar
Werner
Posts: 2871
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: Germany
Full name: Werner Schüle

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by Werner »

Sorry Daniel,
I have no GPU on my PCs, only Intel graphics on CPU.
Hope you find one with a NVIDIA Card.
best wishes
Werner
Werner
User avatar
Werner
Posts: 2871
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: Germany
Full name: Werner Schüle

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by Werner »

Hi Daniel,
there is perhaps a problem using more than 1 core with CPU version.
When I set mt to 4 my cpu-usage is going down from 25% to 8% on a quad.

… and what strength can I await in comparison to Scorpio 2.8 ?
Werner
Daniel Shawul
Posts: 4185
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Ethiopia

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by Daniel Shawul »

Werner wrote: Sat Sep 08, 2018 5:49 pm Hi Daniel,
there is perhaps a problem using more than 1 core with CPU version.
When I set mt to 4 my cpu-usage is going down from 25% to 8% on a quad.

… and what strength can I await in comparison to Scorpio 2.8 ?
Hi Werner,
The neural network version on the CPU would be very week (maybe not more than 2200).
The best strength on the CPU (close to 2.8) is turning off neural network usage (use_nn = 0) and
set the following options in scorpio.ini

Code: Select all

use_nn 0
montecarlo 1
frac_alphabeta 100
backup_type 0
But then you wouldn't be testing neural networks.

I had a better parallel implementation for the CPU + NN that will utilize all cores 100% but now that
I added batching just for the sake of the GPU, the NN evaluation is done by a single core.
No matter how many cores you have it will not help much the CPU+NN version at the moment.
I will add support for turning off batching when running on the CPU.

However, if you turn off neural networks (use_nn), it will utilize the CPU cores 100%
and become really strong.

Daniel
User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 6340
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by AdminX »

Problems loading NN (I get nneps=0)

Code: Select all

#######################################
# Path to neural network
#######################################
use_nn                   1
nn_path                  \nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
device_type              CPU
n_devices                1
The NN is located here: D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl

I have tried:

D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb

I am on Windows 10 Pro, Can you show me your path setup? Also would like to download 40x256 NN, can you provide a link? Thanks.

PS: I have a 1060 GPU, once I get CPU working correctly how to config for GPUs
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers
Daniel Shawul
Posts: 4185
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Ethiopia

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by Daniel Shawul »

AdminX wrote: Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:48 pm Problems loading NN (I get nneps=0)

Code: Select all

#######################################
# Path to neural network
#######################################
use_nn                   1
nn_path                  \nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
device_type              CPU
n_devices                1
The NN is located here: D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl

I have tried:

D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb

I am on Windows 10 Pro, Can you show me your path setup? Also would like to download 40x256 NN, can you provide a link? Thanks.

PS: I have a 1060 GPU, once I get CPU working correctly how to config for GPUs
Try this instead -- you had a backslash at the beginning

Code: Select all

nn_path                  nets-ccrl/net-12x64.pb
The 40x256 is about 500 mb and is only trained with half a million games.
I don't know where to upload that big a file at the moment.

Ok, the only difference with setting up for the GPU would be installing CUDA v9.2 from
https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-downl ... exenetwork

The tensorflow.dll and cudnn.dll come prepackaged with egbbdll so no need for separate install for those.

I have only tested the GPU version on linux machines.

Daniel
User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 6340
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by AdminX »

Daniel Shawul wrote: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:02 pm
AdminX wrote: Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:48 pm Problems loading NN (I get nneps=0)

Code: Select all

#######################################
# Path to neural network
#######################################
use_nn                   1
nn_path                  \nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
device_type              CPU
n_devices                1
The NN is located here: D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl

I have tried:

D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
D:\Chess Engines\ScorpioNN\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb\
\nets-ccrl\net-12x64.pb

I am on Windows 10 Pro, Can you show me your path setup? Also would like to download 40x256 NN, can you provide a link? Thanks.

PS: I have a 1060 GPU, once I get CPU working correctly how to config for GPUs
Try this instead -- you had a backslash at the beginning

Code: Select all

nn_path                  nets-ccrl/net-12x64.pb
The 40x256 is about 500 mb and is only trained with half a million games.
I don't know where to upload that big a file at the moment.

Ok, the only difference with setting up for the GPU would be installing CUDA v9.2 from
https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-downl ... exenetwork

The tensorflow.dll and cudnn.dll come prepackaged with egbbdll so no need for separate install for those.

I have only tested the GPU version on linux machines.

Daniel
Thanks Daniel! That worked.

Image
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers
Daniel Shawul
Posts: 4185
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Ethiopia

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by Daniel Shawul »

Nice!!

Lets try and get the gpu version working.

Daniel
User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 6340
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by AdminX »

I can host it (40x256) for you. Give me a minute to set it up.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers
Daniel Shawul
Posts: 4185
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Ethiopia

Re: Scorpio 2.8.7 MCTS+NN windows version

Post by Daniel Shawul »

Daniel Shawul wrote: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:15 pm Nice!!

Lets try and get the gpu version working.

Daniel
I have now made it so that the necessary CUDA 9.2 dlls come pre-packaged as well.
If you have a GPU already, you should have the driver i.e. nvcuda.dll so no need to put that in.
The process for installing egbbdll for the gpu should be equally easy as the CPU counterpart now.

Download egbbdll for the gpu here https://github.com/dshawul/Scorpio/rele ... ws-gpu.zip

Extract it somewhere and set the "Path" environement variable. I should be able to write an install script for this soon.

Daniel