Komodo TCEC is doing really well so far against Stockfish

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

JJJ

Komodo TCEC is doing really well so far against Stockfish

Post by JJJ »

All in the title. I m a little bit surprised here. I didn't expect Komodo doing so good, sample is yet small, but still, usually the lead of Stockfish is slighty more. So , is Komodo making good progress lately after all ?
Gary Internet

Re: Komodo TCEC is doing really well so far against Stockfish

Post by Gary Internet »

There's an update from Larry from 2 weeks ago - http://talkchess.com/forum3/viewtopic.p ... 26#p776469

I've also read in the TCEC chat that new compiles of Komodo are even fast still, and there's some other improvements that I'm not technical enough to understand. I think it's good that Komodo is improving. Houdini 6.03 is now a benchmark engine, having been in used in 4 consecutive seasons of TCEC, and having lost badly to SF in Season 11 and in CCC Rapid Rumble Final as well. It doesn't look like Houdini will be updated any time soon. Without Komodo, the only thing that might pose a threat to SF is Lc0. Everything else is much too weak.
Mike S.

Post by Mike S. »

It has certainly helped much that the startup performance problem has been fixed. But also, the intermediate result lets us predict a 12-2 or 12-3 by wins, only. Anyway, one thing is clear: This Komodo cannot be steamrolled! :mrgreen:
Regards, Mike
Eelco de Groot
Full name:   

Post by Eelco de Groot »

It seems to me that Houdini in a direct confrontation will get beaten on speed. Even on TCEC where pure speed should not matter it will get beaten because of a poorer branching factor. Komodo is a much tougher opponent. It is a huge oversimplification, but it has better knowledge.
Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first
place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you