Page 1 of 2

CB15 bug

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:30 am
by Hurnavich
Hello can anyone using CB15 confirm they have the issue

Annoying bug not present in CB14 only the new CB15

Take a known game for eg in your main reference DB or any db for that matter and scroll to a position and copy the position.
Now paste it as a fen and hit your reference DB search tab comes back game cannot be found even though i know it is there.

If you paste it as a complete game and scroll to the position in question and hit Reference tab and suddenly the game position is listed.

As i say post any fen in CB14 not a problem so it appears they broke something...

I emailed CB support but the language issue may be a problem for them to understand.

If any German speaking member has CB15 and can reproduce the problem and email support we may get a fix thanks. :sm36:

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:17 am
by AdminX
I can confirm, that is a bug. A very serious one. :shock:

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:30 am
by Hurnavich
AdminX wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:17 am
I can confirm, that is a bug. A very serious one. :shock:
I have emailed support perhaps if more or German speaking users inform them it may get fixed

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 12:12 pm
by Hurnavich
I'm not at home to test but I read that if you try to create a new DB
It will not write error
And if you delete an exciting dB then reopen CB15 it brings the deleted dB back
Looks like they have there work cut out

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:30 pm
by Hurnavich
Hello got an email to say this will be fixed next week in an update :D

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:23 pm
by AdminX
Hurnavich wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:30 pm
Hello got an email to say this will be fixed next week in an update :D
Thanks for finding and reporting it. :D I reported it as well.

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:52 pm
by Damir
I was wondering if it is possible for chessbase put weights to the moves. So far this opportunity does not exist in Chessbase, so I need transfer game to Fritz to do this. In the future Chessbase versions would it be possible to add this option? So far only Fritz has this option, and I was wondering if Chessbase could put weights to the moves too?

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 7:05 pm
by AdminX
Damir wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:52 pm
I was wondering if it is possible for chessbase put weights to the moves. So far this opportunity does not exist in Chessbase, so I need transfer game to Fritz to do this. In the future Chessbase versions would it be possible to add this option? So far only Fritz has this option, and I was wondering if Chessbase could put weights to the moves too?
That would be nice.

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 4:16 pm
by Hurnavich
Hurnavich wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:30 am
Hello can anyone using CB15 confirm they have the issue

Annoying bug not present in CB14 only the new CB15

Take a known game for eg in your main reference DB or any db for that matter and scroll to a position and copy the position.
Now paste it as a fen and hit your reference DB search tab comes back game cannot be found even though i know it is there.

If you paste it as a complete game and scroll to the position in question and hit Reference tab and suddenly the game position is listed.

As i say post any fen in CB14 not a problem so it appears they broke something...

I emailed CB support but the language issue may be a problem for them to understand.

If any German speaking member has CB15 and can reproduce the problem and email support we may get a fix thanks. :sm36:
Well nice one Chessbase updated to 15.4 and the above problem still has not been fixed another email to them :shock:

Re: CB15 bug

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:22 pm
by Hurnavich
CBase 15.4 Changelog:
- Raytracing on AMD CPUs.
- Database names with umlauts (or cyrillic characters etc.) in icon lists.
- Instant analysis on CPUs with two cores.
- No repeated texts in repeated Tactical Analysis.
- Switch "only top games" in reference window was inactive
- Moves by other side in reference window visually different.
- Wrong font for special symbols (better is,..) in symbol palette, save dialog, ...
- Find similar endgames displayed results twice.
- Move indicator in evaluation profile larger.
- Creating a database in system folder "Downloads" failed.
- Streaming in multi board was broken.
- Editing keys was disabled.
- Minor errors in manoeuvre dialog and search.
- Don't update search booster during game import.
- Help button in save dialog.
- Inkonsistent numbers in critical line.
- Any single char annotation in parantheses generated a diagram.
- Crash in manoeuvre search if first game in db is a text.
- Crash in tactical analysis on some cpus.
- Error in tactical analysis on positions, some moves were not annotated.
- Searches from database window or games list could generate different results.
- Unload search booster when DB is closed.
- Next/previous game on search result.
- CB diagram in text file with user defined pieces.
- Figurine in RTF.