MateFinder 10

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
jhellis3
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:36 pm

MateFinder 10

Post by jhellis3 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:50 pm

For those who may find interest in such things: https://github.com/jhellis3/Stockfish/r ... /tag/MF_10

Changelog:
Increased max depth from 127 to 191.
Merged upstream SF changes in sync with Stockfish 10.

So not many changes since MF 9.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 9055
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: MateFinder 10

Post by Dann Corbit » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:58 pm

Thanks.
I think it is marvelous.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

JohnS
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:08 am

Re: MateFinder 10

Post by JohnS » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:11 am

Thanks Joe. I like this version of Stockfish.

Jim Logan
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:14 am
Location: Nevada, USA

Re: MateFinder 10

Post by Jim Logan » Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:14 pm

Very strange - I cannot get Chessbase 14 or Fritz 16 to recognize the engine once installed. For those who know the interface, it will show up when I go to the engine management screen, but when I try to add it as a kibitzer, the engine is not an available choice - it does not appear in that list. Any suggestions?

This is one of two engines to exhibit this behavior (Mate 2.20 is another - but I can't recall when I installed that). I can add Sting, Stockfish 10, Stockfish Dev versions, etc. without incident. Matefinder 9 had no issues either. I have not tried other GUI's - at least not yet.

jhellis3
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:36 pm

Re: MateFinder 10

Post by jhellis3 » Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:58 pm

The peculiarities of GUIs is not an area of expertise for me, but I seem to remember there being some issue with Chessbase products and engines with certain names.

The first thing I would try is simply renaming the executable file (to something without the word mate in it). If that does not work, one might try renaming the engine in misc.cpp and making a new compile.

Post Reply