Page 2 of 3

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:18 am
by Steppenwolf
One additional (maybe not as an expert) remark.
I have read that the Coda-nvidia-driver is not available for Mojave. Is there any additional solution to use the power of mac?

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:03 am
by Steppenwolf
Steppenwolf wrote:
Sun Feb 10, 2019 9:37 am
Dear MikeB,

your efforts are very much appreciated!
One simple naive question: why do I have to use use macports or brew to be installed?
I also do not use these libraries when running the mac-binary of Stockfish?
One additional (maybe not as an expert) remark.
I have read that the Cuda-nvidia-driver for GPU is not available for Mojave. Is there any additional solution to use the power of mac?

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 6:44 pm
by MikeB
Steppenwolf wrote:
Sun Feb 10, 2019 9:37 am
Dear MikeB,

your efforts are very much appreciated!
One simple naive question: why do I have to use use macports or brew to be installed?
I also do not use these libraries when running the mac-binary of Stockfish?
Attached below is a link to download an Lc0 macOS engine - see if that works, if it does not work you must build your own engine ( which was stated on the Lc0 getting started page). If you going to build your own Lc0 Mac engine , you must install macports or homebrew - there is no way around it.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pc8xwij9lssjv0i/lc0.zip?dl=1

https://github.com/LeelaChessZero/lc0/w ... ted#engine



"Mac
Install brew as per the instructions at https://brew.sh/
Install python3: brew install python3
Install meson: brew install meson
Install ninja: brew install ninja
When using Mojave install SDK headers: installer -pkg /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/Packages/macOS_SDK_headers_for_macOS_10.14.pkg -target /
Run ./build.sh
The resulting binary will be in build/release"

It will enables you to rebuild Lc0 whenever there is an update at your desire"

Scroll down to the bottom to see Mac instructions
https://github.com/LeelaChessZero/lc0

From then on - you simply run step 6 ->Run ./build.sh" to refresh.

Now some of that may seem a little bit intimating for a newbie in this endeavor - but I can walk you through the steps. It's quite simple really.

On this question:

"One additional (maybe not as an expert) remark.
I have read that the Cuda-nvidia-driver for GPU is not available for Mojave. Is there any additional solution to use the power of mac?"

To use the GPU of your mac - you must have a GPU that OpenCL compliant - most recent Macs ( 2015 and later - some earlier - depends on the model) are Open CL compliant - On an older 2010/2012 MacPro - its quire simple to install a GPU upgrade> I believe the 2013 Mac Pro models would be compliamt. You might get 35 70 nps using just your CPU, depending on the GPU , you will see 500 to 700 nps (or more if you have a really good GPU. Both my 2015 iMac and Mac Pro see about 500 to 700 nps. Recent models should see more. It's true the Cuda-nvidia-driver for GPU is not available for Mojave - but I believe most recent Macs will work with Open CL even on Mojave ( I am on Mojave).

https://developer.apple.com/opencl/

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:45 am
by Steppenwolf
Thanks MikeB,

I will try out now.
How/where can I see the nps of my CPU resp. GPU on my Mac?

Thanks.

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:23 am
by maxdeg
Thanks Mike .. :D
Followed instructions to the letter.
All installed successfully.

#1 .. your compile has issues or should I say my Mac has
#2 .. ./build.sh had issues too

(build/release >> is it a folder ??)

Last login: Mon Feb 11 04:47:11 on ttys000
You have new mail.
➜ ~ ./build.sh
zsh: no such file or directory: ./build.sh

➜ ~ /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libprotobuf-lite.dylib
Referenced from: /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
Reason: image not found
[1] 11469 abort /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0

➜ ~

Any ideas please ?

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:41 pm
by MikeB
maxdeg wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:23 am
Thanks Mike .. :D
Followed instructions to the letter.
All installed successfully.

#1 .. your compile has issues or should I say my Mac has
#2 .. ./build.sh had issues too

(build/release >> is it a folder ??)

Last login: Mon Feb 11 04:47:11 on ttys000
You have new mail.
➜ ~ ./build.sh
zsh: no such file or directory: ./build.sh

➜ ~ /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libprotobuf-lite.dylib
Referenced from: /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
Reason: image not found
[1] 11469 abort /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0

➜ ~

Any ideas please ?
Unzip the the attached zip file and place it under the subprojects/protobuf-3.5.1 folder as shown. If you move the lc0 executable to a different folder, copy the entire subproject folder to the same folder as show - note lc0 is at the same directory level as the subproject folder.

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:42 pm
by MikeB
MikeB wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:41 pm
maxdeg wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:23 am
Thanks Mike .. :D
Followed instructions to the letter.
All installed successfully.

#1 .. your compile has issues or should I say my Mac has
#2 .. ./build.sh had issues too

(build/release >> is it a folder ??)

Last login: Mon Feb 11 04:47:11 on ttys000
You have new mail.
➜ ~ ./build.sh
zsh: no such file or directory: ./build.sh

➜ ~ /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libprotobuf-lite.dylib
Referenced from: /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
Reason: image not found
[1] 11469 abort /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0

➜ ~

Any ideas please ?
Unzip the the attached zip file and place it under the subprojects/protobuf-3.5.1 folder as shown. If you move the lc0 executable to a different folder, copy the entire subproject folder to the same folder as show - note lc0 is at the same directory level as the subproject folder.

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:43 pm
by MikeB
MikeB wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:42 pm
MikeB wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:41 pm
maxdeg wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:23 am
Thanks Mike .. :D
Followed instructions to the letter.
All installed successfully.

#1 .. your compile has issues or should I say my Mac has
#2 .. ./build.sh had issues too

(build/release >> is it a folder ??)

Last login: Mon Feb 11 04:47:11 on ttys000
You have new mail.
➜ ~ ./build.sh
zsh: no such file or directory: ./build.sh

➜ ~ /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libprotobuf-lite.dylib
Referenced from: /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
Reason: image not found
[1] 11469 abort /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0

➜ ~

Any ideas please ?
Unzip the the attached zip file and place it under the subprojects/protobuf-3.5.1 folder as shown. If you move the lc0 executable to a different folder, copy the entire subproject folder to the same folder as show - note lc0 is at the same directory level as the subproject folder.
Forum would not allow me to place and attachment file and two snapshots in the same post - thus the 3 posts.

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:52 pm
by maxdeg
@MikeB :

Many thanks .. :D
Will retry again later - need to go out for a bit.

:D

Re: McCain X1 Source Available

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:02 pm
by MikeB
maxdeg wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:23 am
Thanks Mike .. :D
Followed instructions to the letter.
All installed successfully.

#1 .. your compile has issues or should I say my Mac has
#2 .. ./build.sh had issues too

(build/release >> is it a folder ??)

Last login: Mon Feb 11 04:47:11 on ttys000
You have new mail.
➜ ~ ./build.sh
zsh: no such file or directory: ./build.sh

➜ ~ /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libprotobuf-lite.dylib
Referenced from: /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0
Reason: image not found
[1] 11469 abort /Users/maxdeg/Desktop/lc0

➜ ~

Any ideas please ?
(build/release >> is it a folder ??) -> yes, but you will not see it until after a successful build

zsh: no such file or directory: ./build.sh -> not sure why , but I never use zsh , you might want to try bash - type "bash -l" at the command prompt , type "zsh" again to go back again. I'm just guessing , I'm not a shell expert by any means. You might have to change build.sh permissions to run, "chmod 755 build.sh" ?

dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libprotobuf-lite.dylib - see my posts above ..( which I think you have seen already)