Scaling of Lc0

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Hugo

Scaling of Lc0

Post by Hugo »

Me again

I am quite new with Lc0, but highly interested.
What could be the ELO benefit from 1 x RTX 2070 to 2 x RTX 2070 ?
In analysis I noticed that the main line does not change after 10 - 20 seconds.
So maybe the benefit is very low compared to energy hunger and the investment of a second RTX card.

C.K.
MikeB

Re: Scaling of Lc0

Post by MikeB »

Hugo wrote: Tue Feb 19, 2019 8:42 pm Me again

So maybe the benefit is very low compared to energy hunger and the investment of a second RTX card.

C.K.
It's not 100% clear at this point - but typically doubling of speed by adding a second CPU would be capped to 50 or 60 Elo. Similar to a CPU, there is no evidence, to my knowledge, that second GPU would offer more than a 60 Elo gain and perhaps the gain would be less than 60 Elo. If true, the return is very low when compared to the energy cost and the investment of a second RTX card, especially as compared to the return of the first GPU and its cost. I welcome any additional comments from anyone who has actually experimented with this.
Hugo

Post by Hugo »

The main question to me is, how does Leela play chess?
AB engines calculate, and the more cpu power they have, the more can be calculated (theoretical)

Leela seems to be different. Maybe I am wrong, but it seems like Leela is searching in her weights file.
BAsed on what can be found there, the actually board possition will be estimated.
I have not seen yet, that a variant has changed after 2 or more minutes. Thats why I doubt that doubling the GPU power has same effect as on AB engines.

C.K.
henk2
Full name: Henk Verbaasdonk

Post by henk2 »

Hugo wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:42 am The main question to me is, how does Leela play chess?
AB engines calculate, and the more cpu power they have, the more can be calculated (theoretical)