Page 1 of 1

Why does Lets Check" in Fritz sometimes just show "New Engine"?

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:14 pm
by Kirk
Just curious. Does anyone know why sometimes the engine you are using in Fritz just say "New Engine" and other times with different engines the name does come up?

Is this a program quirk or is it something that needs to be populated in the engine itself to be read by the program?

Re: Why does Lets Check" in Fritz sometimes just show "New Engine"?

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:30 pm
by lkaufman
It seems that Lc0 shows up as "New Engine" in Fritz, but I don't know why.

Re: Why does Lets Check" in Fritz sometimes just show "New Engine"?

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 11:31 pm
by Kirk
lkaufman wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 7:30 pm
It seems that Lc0 shows up as "New Engine" in Fritz, but I don't know why.
It was like this in Fritz 15 too. Maybe Chessbase has approved engines for that function.

Hmm

Re: Why does Lets Check" in Fritz sometimes just show "New Engine"?

Posted: Tue May 07, 2019 3:15 am
by tpoppins
Let's Check recognizes only SF, Houdini, Komodo, Shredder, Fire, Gull, Rybka and the various Fritzes. Everything else, including SF derivatives like asmFish, Brainfish and SuGaR, shows up as "New Engine". The name recognition scheme seems to be based on straightforward string comparison. So you can easily make it recognize Brainfish by renaming it with a hex editor to Stockfish (same number of chars). "asmFish" is shorter but you can pad the difference with spaces which are ignored.

Back when I was on LC's Top 20 list I did some experimenting in this area and found that you could sometimes make it recognize additional engines by running a server in the Cloud from Fritz 15 and renting it yourself. Got BlackMamba recognized that way, for instance; didn't work for some other engines I tried. The Speed Index took a hit, though.

Re: Why does Lets Check" in Fritz sometimes just show "New Engine"?

Posted: Tue May 07, 2019 12:07 pm
by Kirk
tpoppins wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 3:15 am
Let's Check recognizes only SF, Houdini, Komodo, Shredder, Fire, Gull, Rybka and the various Fritzes. Everything else, including SF derivatives like asmFish, Brainfish and SuGaR, shows up as "New Engine". The name recognition scheme seems to be based on straightforward string comparison. So you can easily make it recognize Brainfish by renaming it with a hex editor to Stockfish (same number of chars). "asmFish" is shorter but you can pad the difference with spaces which are ignored.

Back when I was on LC's Top 20 list I did some experimenting in this area and found that you could sometimes make it recognize additional engines by running a server in the Cloud from Fritz 15 and renting it yourself. Got BlackMamba recognized that way, for instance; didn't work for some other engines I tried. The Speed Index took a hit, though.
I found it also recognizes Texel and Bouquet. I wonder why those two particular engines and not others?

Re: Why does Lets Check" in Fritz sometimes just show "New Engine"?

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 11:47 am
by Kirk
Senpai Chess Engine also is recognized