Page 1 of 2

ACT test set

Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:42 pm
by Dann Corbit

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:53 pm
by Paloma
Shredder13 GUI crashed by loading ACT-Analysis.epd

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 1:31 am
by Dann Corbit
Probably my extensions. I make up my own fields like cce (computed ce) which is based on actual wins, losses and draws.

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 6:51 am
by Ferdy
Paloma wrote:
Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:53 pm
Shredder13 GUI crashed by loading ACT-Analysis.epd
There is something wrong in the opcode and operand.

Example:

Code: Select all

6kr/7p/3K3P/8/3N4/5b2/4B3/8 w - - acd 56; bm Ke7; c3 "Ke7"; c6 Arves.06953; ce 32758; dm 5; nid ACT.001; pv Ke7 Bd5 Nb5 Be6 Nd6 Bd7 Bc4+ Be6 Bxe6+;
Add quotes.
c6 "Arves.06953";

Change from nid to id and add quotes.
id "ACT.001";

Comment c6 and position identification id should have a string value.

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 7:05 am
by Dann Corbit
From my reading of the standard it is not necessary unless there is a space. This is seen frequently in other tests. Ayway, the analysis file has only one purpose: to show the solution if your engine cannot find it.

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 7:14 am
by Ferdy
Dann Corbit wrote:
Sun Jun 02, 2019 1:31 am
Probably my extensions. I make up my own fields like cce (computed ce) which is based on actual wins, losses and draws.
For personal or so opcode, you can capitalize the first letter, so cce would be Cce. When other programs parsed the epd, it can ignore all opcodes that starts with uppercase.

Reference
Opcode mnemonics used only by a single program or an experimental suite of
programs should start with an upper case letter. This is so they may be easily
distinguished should they be inadvertently be encountered by other programs.
When a such a "private" opcode be demonstrated to be widely useful, it should
be brought into the official list (appearing below) in a lower case form.
We probably need an update to the so called official list of opcode mnemonics.

I have one candidate to add.
Ae = Analyzing engine

Example, I use this in chess artist.
Ae "Stockfish 10";

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 7:23 am
by Ferdy
Dann Corbit wrote:
Sun Jun 02, 2019 7:05 am
From my reading of the standard it is not necessary unless there is a space. This is seen frequently in other tests. Ayway, the analysis file has only one purpose: to show the solution if your engine cannot find it.
id requires a string.
16.2.5.15: Opcode "id": position identification

The opcode "id" is used to provide a simple identifying label for the indicated
position. It takes a single string operand.
See reference link from my other post.

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 8:36 am
by Dann Corbit
True, but about half of all test suites produce bare values.

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:37 am
by Paloma
Dann Corbit wrote:
Sun Jun 02, 2019 7:05 am
.... Ayway, the analysis file has only one purpose: to show the solution if your engine cannot find it.
Hm, But then I have to do that manually - automatically is better (we live in the 21st century).

Re: ACT test set

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:32 pm
by Dann Corbit
I will make a new version on Monday.
I guess the reason for crashing is that some records are quite long.