Draws are getting cheaper, are 15W enough?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Ozymandias

Draws are getting cheaper, are 15W enough?

Post by Ozymandias »

The draw rate keeps rising, and it's been years since anybody at the top even lost a game.

When I started playing Freestyle,12 years ago, this was the picture:

Nothing radically different, from what we can see in correspondence chess.

By 2012, I was already at the top and losing 0 games. And yet, it felt like I could lose a game, and true enough, with a 100+ games accumulated, I finally lost one in 2014.

Then came the ICUC a couple of years ago, where only a couple of games were legitimately lost among the top 20 players, that's a draw rate of 99%+. My overclocked 5820K was one of the engines that didn't loose a game, but it needed a long TC, nearly 200W and my private DB to accomplish that.

Fast forward to yesterday's 40th EMT, and I was able to replicate that at a rapid TC, with an i5-8250U and some public books.

And yet, people insist that the draw death of chess isn't here.
zullil
Full name: Louis Zulli

Re: Draws are getting cheaper, are 15W enough?

Post by zullil »

Ozymandias wrote: Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:42 am The draw rate keeps rising, and it's been years since anybody at the top even lost a game.
Just unplug your computer, and actually play chess. Problem solved. :twisted:
Uri Blass

Post by Uri Blass »

Ozymandias wrote: Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:42 am The draw rate keeps rising, and it's been years since anybody at the top even lost a game.

When I started playing Freestyle,12 years ago, this was the picture:

Nothing radically different, from what we can see in correspondence chess.

By 2012, I was already at the top and losing 0 games. And yet, it felt like I could lose a game, and true enough, with a 100+ games accumulated, I finally lost one in 2014.