Banksia GUI released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
IanKennedy
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:38 am
Location: UK

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by IanKennedy » Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:27 am

Michael Sherwin wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:41 am
IanKennedy wrote:
Mon May 25, 2020 9:40 am
Has anyone tried running RomiChess under Banksia? It was in a knockout tournament I ran the other day using the console app not the GUI and ... it won :D

I'm not a winboard expert so it may be something silly going on that I don't follow. First of all it apparently forced Ethereal 11 and Ethereal 12 to 'resign' then

109. Stockfish 281116 64 vs RomiChess64P3n
109) Stockfish 281116 64 vs RomiChess64P3n, #88, 0-1 (resign)
110. RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 281116 64
110) RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 281116 64, #115, 1-0 (resign)

knockout round: 6, pairs: 1, matches: 2
111. RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 10 64 POPCNT
111) RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 10 64 POPCNT, #53, 1-0 (resign)
112. Stockfish 10 64 POPCNT vs RomiChess64P3n
112) Stockfish 10 64 POPCNT vs RomiChess64P3n, #58, 0-1 (resign)

* The winner is RomiChess64P3n
Something had to be wrong with Stockfish, right? Can you post the games? :D
Well something is wrong somewhere, although I fear Romi did lose the games if we're going to be honest. :D



Banksia Log extract:
16:43:52 RomiChess64P3n> move g1h2
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64< position startpos moves g2g3 e7e5 c2c4 g8f6 f1g2 b8c6 b1c3 f8b4 g1f3 e8g8 e1g1 b4c3 d2c3 d7d6 d1b3 a7a5 c1d2 a5a4 b3c2 c8e6 b2b3 h7h6 e2e4 d8b8 h2h3 b7b5 c4b5 a4b3 a2b3 b8b5 c3c4 b5b7 a1a4 f8b8 f1a1 a8a4 b3a4 f6d7 d2e3 d7c5 e3c5 d6c5 a4a5 b8a8 a1a4 a8a6 c2c3 b7b1 g1h2 f7f6 f3d2 b1e1 f2f4 e6f7 f4f5 c6d4 a4a1 e1e2 h2g1 f7e8 d2f1 e8h5 a1a3 h5f7 f1d2 e2e1 g1h2 e1f2 h3h4 f7h5 c3c1 h5g4 c1b2 g8h7 b2c3 a6d6 c3e3 f2e3 a3e3 d4c2 d2f1 c2e3 f1e3 g4e2 h2g1 e2d3 e3d5 d6a6 d5c7 a6a5 c7e6 d3c4 g2f3 c4d3 e6c7 c5c4 c7d5 a5a3 g1f2 c4c3 d5e3 c3c2 e3c2 d3c2 g3g4 h7g8 f3h1 c2d1 h1g2 d1g4 f2g1 g4f3 g2f3 a3f3 g1h2
go wtime 142094 btime 58770 winc 500 binc 500 movestogo 43
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 1 seldepth 1 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 19 nps 19000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5
16:43:52 RomiChess64P3n> resign
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 2 seldepth 2 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 61 nps 61000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64< stop
16:43:52 RomiChess64P3n< force
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 3 seldepth 3 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 113 nps 113000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 4 seldepth 4 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 187 nps 187000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 5 seldepth 5 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 273 nps 273000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 6 seldepth 6 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 389 nps 389000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4 g2f3
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 7 seldepth 7 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 542 nps 542000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4 g2f3 e4h4
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 8 seldepth 8 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 727 nps 727000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4 g2f3 e4h4 f3f2
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 9 seldepth 10 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 926 nps 926000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4 g2f3 e4h4 f3f2 h4f4 f2e3
16:43:52 > 110) RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 281116 64, #115, 1-0 (resign)

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 759
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:55 am

IanKennedy wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:27 am
Michael Sherwin wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:41 am
IanKennedy wrote:
Mon May 25, 2020 9:40 am
Has anyone tried running RomiChess under Banksia? It was in a knockout tournament I ran the other day using the console app not the GUI and ... it won :D

I'm not a winboard expert so it may be something silly going on that I don't follow. First of all it apparently forced Ethereal 11 and Ethereal 12 to 'resign' then

109. Stockfish 281116 64 vs RomiChess64P3n
109) Stockfish 281116 64 vs RomiChess64P3n, #88, 0-1 (resign)
110. RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 281116 64
110) RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 281116 64, #115, 1-0 (resign)

knockout round: 6, pairs: 1, matches: 2
111. RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 10 64 POPCNT
111) RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 10 64 POPCNT, #53, 1-0 (resign)
112. Stockfish 10 64 POPCNT vs RomiChess64P3n
112) Stockfish 10 64 POPCNT vs RomiChess64P3n, #58, 0-1 (resign)

* The winner is RomiChess64P3n
Something had to be wrong with Stockfish, right? Can you post the games? :D
Well something is wrong somewhere, although I fear Romi did lose the games if we're going to be honest. :D



Banksia Log extract:
16:43:52 RomiChess64P3n> move g1h2
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64< position startpos moves g2g3 e7e5 c2c4 g8f6 f1g2 b8c6 b1c3 f8b4 g1f3 e8g8 e1g1 b4c3 d2c3 d7d6 d1b3 a7a5 c1d2 a5a4 b3c2 c8e6 b2b3 h7h6 e2e4 d8b8 h2h3 b7b5 c4b5 a4b3 a2b3 b8b5 c3c4 b5b7 a1a4 f8b8 f1a1 a8a4 b3a4 f6d7 d2e3 d7c5 e3c5 d6c5 a4a5 b8a8 a1a4 a8a6 c2c3 b7b1 g1h2 f7f6 f3d2 b1e1 f2f4 e6f7 f4f5 c6d4 a4a1 e1e2 h2g1 f7e8 d2f1 e8h5 a1a3 h5f7 f1d2 e2e1 g1h2 e1f2 h3h4 f7h5 c3c1 h5g4 c1b2 g8h7 b2c3 a6d6 c3e3 f2e3 a3e3 d4c2 d2f1 c2e3 f1e3 g4e2 h2g1 e2d3 e3d5 d6a6 d5c7 a6a5 c7e6 d3c4 g2f3 c4d3 e6c7 c5c4 c7d5 a5a3 g1f2 c4c3 d5e3 c3c2 e3c2 d3c2 g3g4 h7g8 f3h1 c2d1 h1g2 d1g4 f2g1 g4f3 g2f3 a3f3 g1h2
go wtime 142094 btime 58770 winc 500 binc 500 movestogo 43
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 1 seldepth 1 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 19 nps 19000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5
16:43:52 RomiChess64P3n> resign
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 2 seldepth 2 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 61 nps 61000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64< stop
16:43:52 RomiChess64P3n< force
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 3 seldepth 3 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 113 nps 113000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 4 seldepth 4 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 187 nps 187000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 5 seldepth 5 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 273 nps 273000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 6 seldepth 6 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 389 nps 389000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4 g2f3
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 7 seldepth 7 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 542 nps 542000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4 g2f3 e4h4
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 8 seldepth 8 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 727 nps 727000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4 g2f3 e4h4 f3f2
16:43:52 Stockfish 281116 64> info depth 9 seldepth 10 multipv 1 score mate 17 nodes 926 nps 926000 tbhits 0 time 1 pv h6h5 h2g1 f3f4 g1g2 f4e4 g2f3 e4h4 f3f2 h4f4 f2e3
16:43:52 > 110) RomiChess64P3n vs Stockfish 281116 64, #115, 1-0 (resign)
Oops! Now I see the bug, thanks all! :lol: :oops:
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

zenpawn
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 6:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by zenpawn » Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:22 am

phhnguyen wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:42 am
zenpawn wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 9:37 am
Did you try challenging another bot to 180s + 2s? Perhaps it works when challenged, but not as the challenger?

Another thought is BG appears to not be waiting for the "done=1" before sending further commands after the "protover 2", but even so, I wouldn't think that would cause it to then not send "level".
Thanks a lot, I can reproduce and fixed for the next release. It is turn out there is a bug on playing book moves for Winboard engines.

However, I can't reproduce the missing "level". Can you check if you see it (command "level") in tournament games? Thanks
Using the new version, I had my bot challenge me to a casual 3+2, and the "level 0 3 2" was sent. However, I then challenged a bot to a rated 3+2, and it was not sent. Book was enabled for both games. So, maybe challenging another bot to a rated game is what it will take to reproduce?
Erin Dame
Author of RookieMonster

zenpawn
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 6:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by zenpawn » Sat Jun 06, 2020 4:37 pm

zenpawn wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:22 am
phhnguyen wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:42 am
zenpawn wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 9:37 am
Did you try challenging another bot to 180s + 2s? Perhaps it works when challenged, but not as the challenger?

Another thought is BG appears to not be waiting for the "done=1" before sending further commands after the "protover 2", but even so, I wouldn't think that would cause it to then not send "level".
Thanks a lot, I can reproduce and fixed for the next release. It is turn out there is a bug on playing book moves for Winboard engines.

However, I can't reproduce the missing "level". Can you check if you see it (command "level") in tournament games? Thanks
Using the new version, I had my bot challenge me to a casual 3+2, and the "level 0 3 2" was sent. However, I then challenged a bot to a rated 3+2, and it was not sent. Book was enabled for both games. So, maybe challenging another bot to a rated game is what it will take to reproduce?
It seems pretty random, so if you don't see it on your first try, do another few challenges.
Erin Dame
Author of RookieMonster

silitho
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:44 am
Location: Germany
Full name: Silitho Danuur
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by silitho » Sun Jun 07, 2020 9:11 am

I am currently playing with Arasan 22.0 on lichess.org with my BOT Silitho (https://lichess.org/@/Silitho) via BanksiaGUI v0.28.

Unfortunately, a game "hangs" from time to time, i.e. BSG thinks it is the opponent's turn and his time is running, but the time of my BOT is running on lichess. Therefore, many games end in defeat because my time is up (see https://lichess.org/@/Silitho/all).

I cannot reproduce exactly why this is happening. In my opinion it occurs very often when I set Ponder to On (usually I play with Ponder = off). Another suspicion: during a game I switched the books from the gmbook to chessdb.cn in the corresponding dock and it also seems that the system hangs.

Since I had to listen to harsh comments from opponents every now and then, I founded a Team BanksiaGUI BOTs https://lichess.org/team/banksiagui-bots. Here you can find those BOTs who also test their lichess bots via BSG and who know about the current beta status. New team members are welcome :wink: .

MCDermont
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:26 am
Full name: Robert Söhnlein

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by MCDermont » Sun Jun 07, 2020 11:46 am

phhnguyen wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 10:32 am
MCDermont wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 7:15 am
MCDermont wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 5:03 pm
i will still remember you on the casteling problem :D
its still there , the move is stored in the bin book but no engine will use the stored move :(

greetings
please dont forgot it :P
Thanks a lot for reminding me :D

BTW, it is very hard to forget anythings here since all posts are clear and written down in one topic! Just wait for me a bit since sometimes busy and/or get hard issues.
Hi phhnguyen

I can tell you that the problem with the casteling is solved !!!! so you have fixed it with the last update 0.28 i think its was the problem with the
WB UCI engines or something else now the gui is a super gui for me and my book work :-)
thx for youre great work

Regards
Robert

RubiChess
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:20 am

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by RubiChess » Mon Jun 08, 2020 4:58 pm

I'm trying hard to substitute Arena with Banksia but so far I'm not very successful.

What I'm doing with Arena most of the time is
- load 1-3 engines
- load a game from pgn or even a single fen via clipboard or file
- let the engines analyze the current position
- optional: select a position from the pgn by going back and forth while the engines still analyzing
- optional: Do moves (and take them back) manually while the engines are still analyzing.

How is this possible with Banksia. I found the "Auto analyse game" button but that is probably not what I want to do.

Thanks in advance.
Andreas

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5428
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by AdminX » Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:48 pm

Help please,

Code: Select all

option name UCI_ShredderbasesPath type string default shredderbases/bases.ini
How should I modify JSON file for Shredder so I can pass it the correct path to the bases.ini file?

Thanks
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5428
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by AdminX » Tue Jun 09, 2020 5:01 pm

AdminX wrote:
Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:48 pm
Help please,

Code: Select all

option name UCI_ShredderbasesPath type string default shredderbases/bases.ini
How should I modify JSON file for Shredder so I can pass it the correct path to the bases.ini file?

Thanks
Nevermind, I got it working by adding the following: :D

Code: Select all

		{
			"default" : "true",
			"name" : "UCI_ShredderbasesPath",
			"type" : "string",
			"value" : ""
		},
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5428
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by AdminX » Wed Jun 10, 2020 2:44 pm

Idea:

You may want to contact Ed Schröder and see if he would not mind you adding his collection of programs to your download section. He has a nice collection of classics. :D

Rebel's
Prodeo's
Benjamin
Mephisto Gideon Pro

His contact info is located on his website: http://rebel13.nl/index.html or you can message him on the forum.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

Post Reply