Banksia GUI released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Version 0.33 beta released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:49 pm

Version 0.33 beta released

* Fixed serious bug: did not send options to engines
* Some improvements/adjustments
  • Open PGN via URL: faster, can open multi-URLs, show more info and can control more
  • Lichess bot: improve challenge dialog
  • Tab names in different colors based on their tasks
* New features:
  • Customizable Armageddon result type (none, white-must-win, black-must-win)


Image
Select Armageddon result type
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5452
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by AdminX » Thu Jul 23, 2020 4:35 pm

Suggestion:

Is it poosible to have the remote engine send back engine data to the host system? Such as Move Time and Eval, so that they can be displayed in the host GUI. Currently I have been using Chessbase to merge the PGN's from the remote and host systems, however if this is possible I would no longer need to do that. Plus it would be nice to see the eval graph for the other side all in the same Gui.

Click Image for larger view:
Image
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Fri Jul 24, 2020 9:17 am

AdminX wrote:
Thu Jul 23, 2020 4:35 pm
Suggestion:

Is it poosible to have the remote engine send back engine data to the host system? Such as Move Time and Eval, so that they can be displayed in the host GUI. Currently I have been using Chessbase to merge the PGN's from the remote and host systems, however if this is possible I would no longer need to do that. Plus it would be nice to see the eval graph for the other side all in the same Gui.

Click Image for larger view:
Image
Thanks a lot for the suggestion. It is implemented for the next release.
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Version 0.34 beta released

Post by phhnguyen » Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:34 am

Version 0.34 beta released

* Fixed a serious bug: did not add new engines
* Some small improvements/adjustments:
- Engines playing in the local network send computing information
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5452
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Version 0.34 beta released

Post by AdminX » Fri Jul 24, 2020 11:01 am

phhnguyen wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:34 am
Version 0.34 beta released

* Fixed a serious bug: did not add new engines
* Some small improvements/adjustments:
- Engines playing in the local network send computing information
I will have to start calling you Ricochet Rabbit! Damn your fast! :D

Image
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5452
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by AdminX » Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:00 pm

I have two systems, both with two video cards (Intel and Nvidia). One is a Desktop and the other a laptop. On the laptop "Opacity" appears to control opactiy for both the App and Panel BK. On the desktop for some reason it only controls the App BK. Any ideas on why this is? I think that in a earlier version you could set opacity for each individually.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

perejaslav
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:01 am
Location: Cold

Re: Version 0.34 beta released

Post by perejaslav » Sat Jul 25, 2020 1:35 am

phhnguyen wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:34 am
Version 0.34 beta released
GUI crashes for me during test tournaments. 3 times in a row, so I switched to LittleBlitzer

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Sat Jul 25, 2020 2:48 am

AdminX wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:00 pm
I have two systems, both with two video cards (Intel and Nvidia). One is a Desktop and the other a laptop. On the laptop "Opacity" appears to control opactiy for both the App and Panel BK. On the desktop for some reason it only controls the App BK. Any ideas on why this is? I think that in a earlier version you could set opacity for each individually.
Usually, BSG doesn't control the opacity of Panel background. There is only a trick for setting up its opacity: select Plain color then change the opacity of that the selected color.

It is not hard to add an opacity controller for Panel BK. However, I worry about the complexity for users (too many things to control) :shock:
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Version 0.34 beta released

Post by phhnguyen » Sat Jul 25, 2020 2:51 am

perejaslav wrote:
Sat Jul 25, 2020 1:35 am
phhnguyen wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:34 am
Version 0.34 beta released
GUI crashes for me during test tournaments. 3 times in a row, so I switched to LittleBlitzer
Sorry to hear that! :oops:

Do you mind to give me some more information to help both me and other users: what is your system (OS, CPU, RAM), which engines (names) did you use for that tournament?

Thanks a lot for your help.
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5452
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by AdminX » Sat Jul 25, 2020 10:56 am

Suggestion:

Can we get an option to set a default name for human? It would be nice not to always have to type your name in. :D
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

Post Reply