Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Damir
Posts: 2219
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: Denmark
Full name: Damir Desevac

Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by Damir » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:56 pm

I have no idea if this engine is a clone of Lc0. I have tried and search for GitHub about it..... could not find any link...

I have found it here: http://www.chess2u.com/t13376-alpha-subzero-nn-for-cpu

https://www.filemail.com/d/grxtwvlbtpudhyr

Damir
Posts: 2219
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: Denmark
Full name: Damir Desevac

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by Damir » Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:36 pm


User avatar
Laskos
Posts: 9757
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:21 pm
Full name: Kai Laskos

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by Laskos » Sun Jan 12, 2020 6:51 pm

A 16x3 distilled net or so? Test it strength-wise on 4 CPU against a BLAS backend 128x10 net at 60s + 0.6s.

User avatar
Eduard
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:58 pm
Location: Germany
Full name: Eduard Nemeth
Contact:

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by Eduard » Sun Jan 12, 2020 6:53 pm

It is fraud! "subzero.gz" is not a own engine network! It is a sergio network
256x20-mod-swa-1467000.pb (Dec 29 2019).

crem
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 7:29 pm

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by crem » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:23 pm

It seem it just checks subzero.zip, libopenblas.dll and client.exe (why?) to be there, computes their md5sum to confirm that they are intact (and exits with error if they are not), but otherwise doesn't use them.
And after it starts, it's just stockfish.

User avatar
Ovyron
Posts: 3082
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:30 am

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by Ovyron » Sun Jan 12, 2020 9:52 pm

Thanks crem, as Eduard said, a fraud indeed!

cucumber
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:21 pm
Full name: J Gonzalez

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by cucumber » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:44 pm

I can confirm that it's a modified Stockfish (or Brainfish...) that reports an artificially lowered depth.

supersharp77
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 5:54 am
Location: Southwest USA

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by supersharp77 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:16 pm

cucumber wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:44 pm
I can confirm that it's a modified Stockfish (or Brainfish...) that reports an artificially lowered depth.
You sure its really SF? The size seems small 468k for a Stockfish compile........asmFish Perhaps?...Thx AR :) :wink:

bmp1974
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:25 am
Full name: Prasanna Bandihole

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by bmp1974 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:01 am

Looks like some kind of Leelafish!!

Damir
Posts: 2219
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: Denmark
Full name: Damir Desevac

Re: Alpha subZero - NN for CPU

Post by Damir » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:28 am

supersharp77 wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:16 pm
cucumber wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:44 pm
I can confirm that it's a modified Stockfish (or Brainfish...) that reports an artificially lowered depth.
You sure its really SF? The size seems small 468k for a Stockfish compile........asmFish Perhaps?...Thx AR :) :wink:
asmFish is even smaller than 468 kb. It is only 121 kb in seize….

Post Reply