Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Dann Corbit
Posts: 11221
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by Dann Corbit » Sun Jul 19, 2020 6:46 am

Can someone give step by step instructions on how to use Opera or other browser to set up an identity that works?
I think it might be useful.
I guess the danger might be that whoever inspired this this whole "Lop off entire nations" approach might get ahold of it and start causing problems again.
Clearly there must have been some sort of absurd behavior that spawned this whole problem.
But it would be very nice if good people in foreign lands could connect and contribute
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

User avatar
mclane
Posts: 17329
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:40 pm
Location: US of Europe, germany
Full name: Thorsten Czub
Contact:

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by mclane » Sun Jul 19, 2020 10:23 am

In Opera Browser ist is very easy to do.

E.g. Android. Click on the red O. Go to settings. Activate VPN and set area from optimal to usa.
That's it. Works also on PC.
What seems like a fairy tale today may be reality tomorrow.
Here we have a fairy tale of the day after tomorrow....

syzygy
Posts: 4598
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:56 pm

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by syzygy » Sun Jul 19, 2020 4:55 pm

Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 5:50 am
mclane wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 6:00 pm
The easiest way for the polish users is to install opera browser. There you can easily setup american identity.

We in Germany and other countries also once had to do so, be auseinander they threw us out.

It’s childish.

But do we have an alternative ?
Thank you for your answer. So I understand that the problem does not only belong to Poland but also to other countries.I understand that this is how it should be. Sorry, but strange thing.
Germany is no longer blocked, but it was blocked some weeks ago.

This is of course not how it should be. But whoever is in charge of this doesn't seem to care.

User avatar
mclane
Posts: 17329
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:40 pm
Location: US of Europe, germany
Full name: Thorsten Czub
Contact:

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by mclane » Sun Jul 19, 2020 7:02 pm

The mistake was that we gave the forum to a company. We should have organised it ourselves.
This way they can do whatever they want and we can only pray,
What seems like a fairy tale today may be reality tomorrow.
Here we have a fairy tale of the day after tomorrow....

User avatar
yurikvelo
Posts: 551
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by yurikvelo » Sun Jul 19, 2020 7:07 pm

403 Forbidden is web-server/web-script HTTP error

If you see this error - it is guaranteed that no firewall block route from your IP to this webserver IP.

It is pure HTTP error, not related to TCP/IP policies.

Alexander Schmidt
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 12:49 pm

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by Alexander Schmidt » Sun Jul 19, 2020 8:09 pm

Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 5:50 am
So I understand that the problem does not only belong to Poland but also to other countries.I understand that this is how it should be. Sorry, but strange thing.
I am from germany and never had problems. Looks to me like an admins block of an IP range...

User avatar
mclane
Posts: 17329
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:40 pm
Location: US of Europe, germany
Full name: Thorsten Czub
Contact:

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by mclane » Sun Jul 19, 2020 8:20 pm

Again, opera is your friend, set it up to usa and you have access here,

It’s completely disgusting, but if you have problems. Use it.


If it would be my decision, and I am one of the founders who founded the forum in 1997,
I would evacuate the whole forum to a host that is not blocking IP addresses.

USA is no country anymore that guarantees freedom.
What seems like a fairy tale today may be reality tomorrow.
Here we have a fairy tale of the day after tomorrow....

syzygy
Posts: 4598
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:56 pm

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by syzygy » Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:04 pm

Alexander Schmidt wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 8:09 pm
Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 5:50 am
So I understand that the problem does not only belong to Poland but also to other countries.I understand that this is how it should be. Sorry, but strange thing.
I am from germany and never had problems. Looks to me like an admins block of an IP range...
At least parts of Germany and various other countries were blocked:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=73989
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=74041

Apparently the problem can be fixed on an individual basis:
Sam Hull wrote: I have responded to everyone who contacted me via PM, through other members, or by email at tcadmin@verizon.net - not sure why your email didn't make the trip. Anyone having "access denied" issues can send me their IP4 address and I will forward it to YMC&G for unblocking. As far as I know all those who have done so are now able to log in. Sorry for the inconvenience, it's an issue up the chain from the board itself.

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3370
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by Sylwy » Mon Jul 20, 2020 7:38 am

Opera browser-Tor browser...........

https://www.opera.com/download

https://www.torproject.org/download/languages/

There are so many methods. Where's the problem ? :wink:
SilvianR :wink:

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: Polish users cut off from TalkChess

Post by reflectionofpower » Mon Jul 20, 2020 9:50 am

As one of the users mentioned Opera does have VPN built in. It works very well. You can shut it off or on with just a mouse click. It is a little bit slower than usual connection but what do you expect for FREE VPN. We only come on here to browse a forum so there is not much bandwidth usage.
"Without change, something sleeps inside us, and seldom awakens. The sleeper must awaken." (Dune - 1984)

Lonnie

Post Reply