Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
awsmak
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 3:29 am
Full name: Akshay Chacko

Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by awsmak » Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:05 am

I have a new laptop with ryzen7 4800h 8core 16threads (zen2)processor. I was planning to use it to improve my chess and to find best moves. Previously i was using my smartphone with Snapdragon 855 processor for that. I am using stockfish 12 avx2 Binary on my laptop and using analyze this pro (sf12)application my smartphone. My laptop settings for stockfish are threads =8 and hash=512MB, all other settings are kept default even the network file. SF12 on my laptop give 9000+knps at opening whereas on my smartphone it is below 1600knps. I decided to compare the performance hoping that my laptop will easily win against my smartphone but interestingly it was my laptop always loosing or draw against my smartphone.i tried using stockfish 11 on both and now my smartphone always wins. I tried using different hashtable sizes and threads but still nothing changes. I also tried cfish,brainfish, sf12 development builds, bmi version and some other binaries that are made for zen2 based processors but there is no change in the results. Can anyone help me please.

Nay Lin Tun
Posts: 628
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:34 am

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by Nay Lin Tun » Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:29 am

Why your Droidfish is running < 1.6 mnps, are you using 1 core? 4 cores droidfish should be around 5 mnps.

awsmak
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 3:29 am
Full name: Akshay Chacko

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by awsmak » Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:33 am

Nay Lin Tun wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:29 am
Why your Droidfish is running < 1.6 mnps, are you using 1 core? 4 cores droidfish should be around 5 mnps.
Stockfish 11 gives 5000-6000knps stockfish 12 gives only 1500knps using 6 cores

User avatar
yurikvelo
Posts: 569
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by yurikvelo » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:25 am

laptop always loosing or draw against my smartphone
how did you organize tournament?
Can anyone help me please.
you should improve your testing (tournament) framework
Nay Lin Tun wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:29 am
droidfish should be around 5 mnps.
he doesn't use droidfish, but sf12 (nnue) via "analize this" GUI

awsmak
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 3:29 am
Full name: Akshay Chacko

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by awsmak » Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:10 am

yurikvelo wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:25 am
laptop always loosing or draw against my smartphone
how did you organize tournament?
Can anyone help me please.
you should improve your testing (tournament) framework
Nay Lin Tun wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:29 am
droidfish should be around 5 mnps.
he doesn't use droidfish, but sf12 (nnue) via "analize this" GUI
I tried using Microsoft remote desktop app and also tried playing myself by copying each others moves. I have conducted atleast 200 games. I also tried playing against an i5 8300h processor on stockfish 12 bmi version which gets around 4000knps and it always wins against my smartphone. That is why I arrived at a conclusion that there is something wrong with stockfish on amd cpu.

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5478
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by AdminX » Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:48 am

awsmak wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:10 am
yurikvelo wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:25 am
laptop always loosing or draw against my smartphone
how did you organize tournament?
Can anyone help me please.
you should improve your testing (tournament) framework
Nay Lin Tun wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:29 am
droidfish should be around 5 mnps.
he doesn't use droidfish, but sf12 (nnue) via "analize this" GUI
I tried using Microsoft remote desktop app and also tried playing myself by copying each others moves. I have conducted atleast 200 games. I also tried playing against an i5 8300h processor on stockfish 12 bmi version which gets around 4000knps and it always wins against my smartphone. That is why I arrived at a conclusion that there is something wrong with stockfish on amd cpu.
There is a better way to do this, just use Chess for Android to setup and automate the task. There is a old app by Bernhard Wallner called netChess which will make this possible. I am even using it with Banksia and it works very well for in house (Windows to Windows) network games.

https://web.archive.org/web/20121014223 ... Chess.html

Here is an old post (2012) by Aart Bik Blog to get you started.

https://aartbik.blogspot.com/2012/03/co ... emote.html

The only issue you may have to look out for is making sure that your Network Port is open in your Firewall / Router.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
yurikvelo
Posts: 569
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by yurikvelo » Mon Sep 14, 2020 1:34 pm

awsmak wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:10 am
I tried using Microsoft remote desktop app
you tell nothing about time controls (how it is organized) and books (which engine where and when start to play on its own and what book it uses before)

User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 4355
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am
Location: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by MikeB » Mon Sep 14, 2020 1:46 pm

Can you try this "exe" it was specifically compiled for AMD processors ...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/x4q40z21sx5on ... D.exe?dl=0
Note - binary is large 70MB - has NNUE and 55 EGTB's built in.
based on current Honey source:
https://github.com/MichaelB7/Stockfish/tree/honey

benches on a 3970x
current bench - classic mode 64 threads command:"Bluefish-12-W-AMD.exe b 2048 64 18 true >/dev/null" :
=================================
Total time (ms) : 41255
Nodes searched : 5387767058
Nodes/second : 130596k

NNUE mode 64 threads command "Bluefish-12-W-AMD.exe b 2048 64 18 true >/dev/null" :
=================================
Total time (ms) : 36933
Nodes searched : 4184508490
Nodes/second : 113299k

with 6 cores Classic mode:
"Bluefish-12-W-AMD.exe b 512 6 13 >/dev/null"
=================================
Total time (ms) : 4160
Nodes searched : 63355817
Nodes/second : 15229k

with 6 cores NNUE mode
Bluefish-12-W-AMD.exe b 512 6 13 true >/dev/null
=================================
Total time (ms) : 5122
Nodes searched : 68626044
Nodes/second : 13398k
Image

Jonathan003
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:23 pm
Full name: Jonathan Cremers

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by Jonathan003 » Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:49 pm

awsmak wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:05 am
I have a new laptop with ryzen7 4800h 8core 16threads (zen2)processor. I was planning to use it to improve my chess and to find best moves. Previously i was using my smartphone with Snapdragon 855 processor for that. I am using stockfish 12 avx2 Binary on my laptop and using analyze this pro (sf12)application my smartphone. My laptop settings for stockfish are threads =8 and hash=512MB, all other settings are kept default even the network file. SF12 on my laptop give 9000+knps at opening whereas on my smartphone it is below 1600knps. I decided to compare the performance hoping that my laptop will easily win against my smartphone but interestingly it was my laptop always loosing or draw against my smartphone.i tried using stockfish 11 on both and now my smartphone always wins. I tried using different hashtable sizes and threads but still nothing changes. I also tried cfish,brainfish, sf12 development builds, bmi version and some other binaries that are made for zen2 based processors but there is no change in the results. Can anyone help me please.
I also have Analyze This pro, installed on my Samsung Galaxy S20 plus smartphone. I don't see stockfish 12 listed, only stockfish 11.
How did you install stockfish 12 on your android device?

awsmak
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 3:29 am
Full name: Akshay Chacko

Re: Stockfish performing bad on ryzen cpu.

Post by awsmak » Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:15 pm

Jonathan003 wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:49 pm
awsmak wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:05 am
I have a new laptop with ryzen7 4800h 8core 16threads (zen2)processor. I was planning to use it to improve my chess and to find best moves. Previously i was using my smartphone with Snapdragon 855 processor for that. I am using stockfish 12 avx2 Binary on my laptop and using analyze this pro (sf12)application my smartphone. My laptop settings for stockfish are threads =8 and hash=512MB, all other settings are kept default even the network file. SF12 on my laptop give 9000+knps at opening whereas on my smartphone it is below 1600knps. I decided to compare the performance hoping that my laptop will easily win against my smartphone but interestingly it was my laptop always loosing or draw against my smartphone.i tried using stockfish 11 on both and now my smartphone always wins. I tried using different hashtable sizes and threads but still nothing changes. I also tried cfish,brainfish, sf12 development builds, bmi version and some other binaries that are made for zen2 based processors but there is no change in the results. Can anyone help me please.
I also have Analyze This pro, installed on my Samsung Galaxy S20 plus smartphone. I don't see stockfish 12 listed, only stockfish 11.
How did you install stockfish 12 on your android device?
Download Android version from stockfish site and add it to the app.

Post Reply