Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Discussion of computer chess matches and engine tournaments.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
lkaufman
Posts: 3645
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:15 am
Location: Maryland USA
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by lkaufman » Wed Jun 30, 2010 5:39 pm

Steve B wrote:
lkaufman wrote: If you ever have any desire to sponsor any other computer-human match of any type, just message me.
how about this for an idea??
we have played several matches here pitting dedicated computers vs the forum
these games can be found in the "Tournament Forum"

1 game match
my Conny 3.6 v a real GM
QR odds..GM has white
TC 3 minutes per move
moves to be posted here
GM..YOU
:P

we would have to be on the honor system of course
i certainly trust you to not use any engine help and to time yourself
i could send you the computer after the game ends and you could check each move that was played
with pondering OFF i doubt very highly that the computer would make different moves (even though there might be some built in random factor the computer uses)
i would pay round trip postage for shipping the computer back and forth

appearance fee for you..win lose or draw .. to be discussed by email
game to begin once you receive the appearance fee

moves to be posted here (i will set up a thread for it)at least once per day but i would not claim a win by time forfeit so not strictly enforced
more of a guideline really

if you are game ..please let me know
Best Regards
Steve
Yes, I am agreeable in principle to this. But I am only about a 2400 (FIDE) GM, not a 2700 as you were talking about. I recall that when SuperConstellation came out I was able to do well giving it knight odds, though I don't recall the exact level I tested. Since your machine is somewhat weaker, maybe I have some chance at rook odds though I'm probably an underdog. There would be no need to send me the machine, you clearly have no motive to cheat in this experiment. Anyway if you still want to go ahead with this, message me about the details.

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by Steve B » Wed Jun 30, 2010 5:45 pm

lkaufman wrote:
Steve B wrote:
lkaufman wrote: If you ever have any desire to sponsor any other computer-human match of any type, just message me.
how about this for an idea??
we have played several matches here pitting dedicated computers vs the forum
these games can be found in the "Tournament Forum"

1 game match
my Conny 3.6 v a real GM
QR odds..GM has white
TC 3 minutes per move
moves to be posted here
GM..YOU
:P

we would have to be on the honor system of course
i certainly trust you to not use any engine help and to time yourself
i could send you the computer after the game ends and you could check each move that was played
with pondering OFF i doubt very highly that the computer would make different moves (even though there might be some built in random factor the computer uses)
i would pay round trip postage for shipping the computer back and forth

appearance fee for you..win lose or draw .. to be discussed by email
game to begin once you receive the appearance fee

moves to be posted here (i will set up a thread for it)at least once per day but i would not claim a win by time forfeit so not strictly enforced
more of a guideline really

if you are game ..please let me know
Best Regards
Steve
Yes, I am agreeable in principle to this. But I am only about a 2400 (FIDE) GM, not a 2700 as you were talking about. I recall that when SuperConstellation came out I was able to do well giving it knight odds, though I don't recall the exact level I tested. Since your machine is somewhat weaker, maybe I have some chance at rook odds though I'm probably an underdog. There would be no need to send me the machine, you clearly have no motive to cheat in this experiment. Anyway if you still want to go ahead with this, message me about the details.
excellent
i sent you a PM with the details
it would be enjoyable and instructive if you could post your thoughts in the thread when deciding on your move
no great analysis needed
every now and again ..just a few words as to why you decided to make the move you did

i will make a series of moves by my knight in order to remove your QR
much like you did in the Rybka pawn odds matches
this way the Connie can still castle
if i just use a setup position to remove your QR i think the computer will not be able to castle

it will be on monitor mode(player v player)
this will have no bearing on the game from your standpoint


Best Regards
Steve

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by Steve B » Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:18 pm

Steve B wrote:
lkaufman wrote:
Steve B wrote:
lkaufman wrote: If you ever have any desire to sponsor any other computer-human match of any type, just message me.
how about this for an idea??
we have played several matches here pitting dedicated computers vs the forum
these games can be found in the "Tournament Forum"

1 game match
my Conny 3.6 v a real GM
QR odds..GM has white
TC 3 minutes per move
moves to be posted here
GM..YOU
:P

we would have to be on the honor system of course
i certainly trust you to not use any engine help and to time yourself
i could send you the computer after the game ends and you could check each move that was played
with pondering OFF i doubt very highly that the computer would make different moves (even though there might be some built in random factor the computer uses)
i would pay round trip postage for shipping the computer back and forth

appearance fee for you..win lose or draw .. to be discussed by email
game to begin once you receive the appearance fee

moves to be posted here (i will set up a thread for it)at least once per day but i would not claim a win by time forfeit so not strictly enforced
more of a guideline really

if you are game ..please let me know
Best Regards
Steve
Yes, I am agreeable in principle to this. But I am only about a 2400 (FIDE) GM, not a 2700 as you were talking about. I recall that when SuperConstellation came out I was able to do well giving it knight odds, though I don't recall the exact level I tested. Since your machine is somewhat weaker, maybe I have some chance at rook odds though I'm probably an underdog. There would be no need to send me the machine, you clearly have no motive to cheat in this experiment. Anyway if you still want to go ahead with this, message me about the details.
excellent
i sent you a PM with the details
it would be enjoyable and instructive if you could post your thoughts in the thread when deciding on your move
no great analysis needed
every now and again ..just a few words as to why you decided to make the move you did

i will make a series of moves by my knight in order to remove your QR
much like you did in the Rybka pawn odds matches
this way the Connie can still castle
if i just use a setup position to remove your QR i think the computer will not be able to castle

it will be on monitor mode(player v player)
this will have no bearing on the game from your standpoint


Best Regards
Steve
Slight glitch
in perusing the manual i notice i cannot turn PONDERING OFF
the "work around" for this is that i will have to turn off the computer after every move
normally not a problem but the Conny 3.6 does not retain the position in memory
this means i will have to enter all of the moves from the start (including the pre -game moves.. removing your QR)for each and every move of the game until Conny Castles ...then i can just set up the current position

not a problem for me but i just wanted to make it clear that turning pondering off is not an available built in option

you can download the manual here to see this for yourself

http://alain.zanchetta.free.fr/docs/Nov ... n3.6US.pdf

Regards
Steve

lkaufman
Posts: 3645
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:15 am
Location: Maryland USA
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by lkaufman » Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:51 pm

"Slight glitch
in perusing the manual i notice i cannot turn PONDERING OFF
the "work around" for this is that i will have to turn off the computer after every move
normally not a problem but the Conny 3.6 does not retain the position in memory
this means i will have to enter all of the moves from the start (including the pre -game moves.. removing your QR)for each and every move of the game until Conny Castles ...then i can just set up the current position"

Another solution that would save you time might be to leave the machine on, and when you input my move, force a reply and take both moves back, then reenter my move. But I'm not sure if this would have some unintended consequences.

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by Steve B » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:44 pm

lkaufman wrote:"Slight glitch
in perusing the manual i notice i cannot turn PONDERING OFF
the "work around" for this is that i will have to turn off the computer after every move
normally not a problem but the Conny 3.6 does not retain the position in memory
this means i will have to enter all of the moves from the start (including the pre -game moves.. removing your QR)for each and every move of the game until Conny Castles ...then i can just set up the current position"

Another solution that would save you time might be to leave the machine on, and when you input my move, force a reply and take both moves back, then reenter my move. But I'm not sure if this would have some unintended consequences.
good idea..
i'll try it
Reading the manual a bit further it does mention that Conny can Castle in setup positions
as i mentioned i just acquired the Conny 3.6 so ill fool around with it a bit and see what works best
Steve

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by Steve B » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:30 pm

Steve B wrote:
lkaufman wrote:"Slight glitch
in perusing the manual i notice i cannot turn PONDERING OFF
the "work around" for this is that i will have to turn off the computer after every move
normally not a problem but the Conny 3.6 does not retain the position in memory
this means i will have to enter all of the moves from the start (including the pre -game moves.. removing your QR)for each and every move of the game until Conny Castles ...then i can just set up the current position"

Another solution that would save you time might be to leave the machine on, and when you input my move, force a reply and take both moves back, then reenter my move. But I'm not sure if this would have some unintended consequences.
good idea..
i'll try it
Reading the manual a bit further it does mention that Conny can Castle in setup positions
as i mentioned i just acquired the Conny 3.6 so ill fool around with it a bit and see what works best
Steve
Just played a game against Conny from a SETUP position removing Blacks QR
i am happy to report that the Conny did 0-0 and did allow me to 0-0-0
i am also happy to report i crushed the computer
of course there were some minor /slight differences in playing conditions then you will be playing under
1.level was 0-5 Sec Per move
2. i had the extra R

i guess this proves i am rated at least 646 ELO
:P

1-0 Regards
Steve

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by Steve B » Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:48 pm

Don wrote: That's no problem, I am glad you made it public.
OK Don
looks like the match is on..

here is the Conny 3.6 in normal full metal jacket:

Image

and here it is battle ready
notice the missing WQR:

Image

BTW..your avatar is not showing
wasn't it a photo of Alfred E Neuman?
Whats Up Doch Regards
Steve

User avatar
Don
Posts: 5106
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:27 pm

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by Don » Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:21 am

Steve B wrote:
Don wrote: That's no problem, I am glad you made it public.
OK Don
looks like the match is on..

here is the Conny 3.6 in normal full metal jacket:

Image

and here it is battle ready
notice the missing WQR:

Image

BTW..your avatar is not showing
wasn't it a photo of Alfred E Neuman?
Whats Up Doch Regards
Steve
I'm not sure what happened to it, but I will put it back on so that people remember what I look like.

Steve B
Posts: 3697
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by Steve B » Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:41 am

Don wrote:
Steve B wrote:
Don wrote: That's no problem, I am glad you made it public.
OK Don
looks like the match is on..

here is the Conny 3.6 in normal full metal jacket:

Image

and here it is battle ready
notice the missing WQR:

Image

BTW..your avatar is not showing
wasn't it a photo of Alfred E Neuman?
Whats Up Doch Regards
Steve
I'm not sure what happened to it, but I will put it back on so that people remember what I look like.
loved the old Mad Magazines
i remember there would be times when the Mag would have the words "Up Doc"..scribbled in tiny letters interspersed throughout the cartoons for no apparent rhyme or reason

i remember falling for the trick several times and saying to myself..now that's odd
Whats ..Up Doc?
:P

Steve

Dann Corbit
Posts: 9895
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: Question to the members of the ranking lists..

Post by Dann Corbit » Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:11 am

Don wrote:
Steve B wrote:
Don wrote: That's no problem, I am glad you made it public.
OK Don
looks like the match is on..

here is the Conny 3.6 in normal full metal jacket:

Image

and here it is battle ready
notice the missing WQR:

Image

BTW..your avatar is not showing
wasn't it a photo of Alfred E Neuman?
Whats Up Doch Regards
Steve
I'm not sure what happened to it, but I will put it back on so that people remember what I look like.
My favorite was Don Martin.
http://www.donmartinwebsite.com/big1.html

Post Reply