Test no.1 (DiscoCheck w32 comparative)

Discussion of computer chess matches and engine tournaments.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Test no.1 (DiscoCheck w32 comparative)

Post by Sylwy » Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:04 pm

Conditions:

-TC = 4'+2"
-Hash = 128 MB
-Book = Shredder12.ctg
-GUI = Fritz 11
-CPU = Athlon 64 3800+

Regards,
SilvianR :wink:

Image

Image

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: Test no.2 (w32 - Crafty 23.8 vs. Scorpoio 2.7.6)

Post by Sylwy » Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:04 pm

A long awaited match !

Conditions:

-TC = 4'+2"
-Hash = 128 MB
-Book = Shredder12.ctg
-GUI = Fritz 11
-CPU = Athlon 64 3800+

Scorpio 2.7.6 JA was linked to Scorpio egbbbs.
Crafty 2.8 was linked to Nalimov TBS.

A very interesting match with many superb games !
SilvianR :wink:

Image

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: Test no.3 (w32 - SmarThink 1.40 vs. Bison 9.11)

Post by Sylwy » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:06 pm

Very good this new SmarThink 1.40 ! A pleasant chess and for sure the number one in pure Russian league ( no clones or derivatives) !
Bison 9.11 of Mr.Bonkin (a strong engine) was badly crushed !

Conditions:

-TC = 4'+2"
-Hash = 128 MB
-Book = Shredder12.ctg
-GUI = Fritz 11
-CPU = Athlon 64 3800+

SmarThink 1.40 was linked to Nalimov TBS.

Have - you all - a nice weekend !

SilvianR :wink:

Image

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: Test no.4 (w32 - Nirvanachess 1.3 vs. SmarThink 1.40)

Post by Sylwy » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:05 pm

Conditions:

-TC = 4'+2"
-Hash = 128 MB
-Book = Shredder12.ctg
-GUI = Fritz 11
-CPU = Athlon 64 3800+

SmarThink 1.40 was linked to Nalimov TBS.

Test 3 (see the precedent post, please) + test 4 conclusion ------> Nirvanachess 1.3 w32 is over Bison 9.11 ! A fantastic progress !
Congratulations to its author !!!

Regards,
SilvianR :wink:

Image

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: Test no.5 (ProDeo 1.86 - comparative)

Post by Sylwy » Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:50 pm

Hello folks !

Conditions:

-TC = 4'+2"
-Hash = 128 MB
-Book = Shredder12.ctg
-GUI = Fritz 11
-CPU = Athlon 64 3800+

Chess Tiger 2007.1 was linked to Nalimov TBS.

No comments !

SilvianR :wink:

Image

Image

User avatar
lucasart
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:29 am
Full name: lucasart
Contact:

Re: Test no.5 (ProDeo 1.86 - comparative)

Post by lucasart » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:19 pm

Nobody can read these pictures you keep attaching to all your posts. Can you post the results in normal textual form instead?

Also, I'm curious about DiscoCheck 'w32'. Where did you get a 32-bit Windows compile? I wouldn't be surprised if this compile is broken and/or slow, as are most third party compiles.
Theory and practice sometimes clash. And when that happens, theory loses. Every single time.

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: The responses

Post by Sylwy » Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:26 am

lucasart wrote: 1.-Nobody
2.-[nobody]can read these pictures you keep attaching to all your posts.
3.-Can you post the results in normal textual form instead?

4.-Also, I'm curious about DiscoCheck 'w32'. Where did you get a 32-bit Windows compile? I wouldn't be surprised if this compile is broken and/or slow, as are most third party compiles.

Hello Maestro !

1.-If "nobody" means just you, I'm sorry ! Weren't much complaints !
2.-They are just screen captures. You can:
-change the resolution of you monitor ; I use 1024x768 pixels;
-use a new monitor;
-ignore my captures/posts.
3.-Yes, but I love the captures. The images are important for me. I have a very good images memory.Think, at my 62 years old I keep in my memory the images of all the girls I sympathized along the years. And they were a lot ! :roll:
4.-It is a 32-bit compile of Mr. Tony Mokonen. From here:

http://tmokonen.net84.net/

And works perfectly. I did a lot of tests. Of course , if a DiscoCheck w32 author's compile will appear I'll test it.
Until,

Regards,
SilvianR :wink:

Charles Browne
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:36 pm

Re: The responses

Post by Charles Browne » Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:51 am

If you are open to suggestions may I offer for your consideration the checking out of a screen capture utility such as Gadwin PrintScreen? It has options for the selecting of the area of a screen to be captured.

Then posted images that don't really need to be so large, don't have to be.

Image

The company is still on the Internet but I prefer the older versions of PrintScreen.

A link from the archive.org site for the older freeware version 3.1. Stated to run on Windows 98/Me/2000/2003/XP, or Windows NT 4.0SP6. I don't know if this version runs on later Windows versions.

http://web.archive.org/web/200601101931 ... _Setup.exe

The archive.org link for the web page of this version:

http://web.archive.org/web/200601111404 ... intscreen/


Image

Image

Image

Image

And thank you for having posted about Tony Mokonen's 32bit compile of DiscoCheck:

http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 11&t=50006

Should you decide to give Gadwin PrintScreen a look it might seem complicated to get the sequence down to operate it, but it is fairly easy. It does have a help file.

mar
Posts: 2001
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Full name: Martin Sedlak

Re: The responses

Post by mar » Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:42 pm

Charles Browne wrote:If you are open to suggestions may I offer for your consideration the checking out of a screen capture utility such as Gadwin PrintScreen? It has options for the selecting of the area of a screen to be captured.
What about Alt+PrintScreen?

Charles Browne
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:36 pm

Re: The responses

Post by Charles Browne » Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:18 pm

mar wrote: What about Alt+PrintScreen?

On my Windows XP Home version Alt+PrintScreen doesn't do anything but if that is an alternative, Great.

With the utility I was only suggesting, which I have used for years, with "Rectangular Area" chosen as the source in the program, a person would press the Hotkey once, and then starting at a corner of the desired capture hold down the left mouse button and pull the mouse over the area of the screen wanting to capture (the area chosen is then within an outline) and then let go of the left mouse button. Then while the mouse pointer is inside or outside of the area selected click the right mouse button once to have the utility capture the chosen area.

Post Reply