How much memory on your development machine?

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply

How much memory on your development machine?

Poll ended at Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:54 am

64 MB or less
0
No votes
128 MB
0
No votes
256 MB
1
2%
512 MB
4
9%
1 GB
13
30%
2 GB
12
27%
2 GB
12
27%
4 GB
2
5%
8 GB or more
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 44

User avatar
sje
Posts: 4675
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:43 pm

How much memory on your development machine?

Post by sje » Thu Jun 07, 2007 6:54 am

How much memory on your development machine? (Round down to nearest value.)

User avatar
Onno Garms
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: How much memory on your development machine?

Post by Onno Garms » Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:42 pm

sje wrote:How much memory on your development machine? (Round down to nearest value.)
The rounding instruction does not make much sense. If a machine has not exactly one of the above amounts, the amount of RAM is almost certainly exactly in the middle between two of these values.

User avatar
sje
Posts: 4675
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:43 pm

Re: How much memory on your development machine?

Post by sje » Thu Jun 07, 2007 6:37 pm

It's just a means of approximation.

Most of Symbolic's development is done on two machines: a dual core with 2 GB and a quad core with 1 GB. So maybe I should have included a choice for a 3 core, 1.5 GB box.

Post Reply