Would someone be interested in programming....

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Ovyron
Posts: 4392
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:30 am

Re: Would someone be interested in programming....

Post by Ovyron » Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:34 pm

So, does it only support ttf files?
Your beliefs create your reality, so be careful what you wish for.

User avatar
hgm
Posts: 24740
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller
Contact:

Re: Would someone be interested in programming....

Post by hgm » Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:03 am

I guess so. I did not change anything in the basic mechanism for accessing and interpreting the fonts; it is still as Allessandro Scotti made it. I just expanded the number of piece types Winboard can support. In the native bitmap mode of Winboard the Queen-side alternatives for Rook, Knight and Bishop just show up as copies of of their King-side counterparts.

Perhaps I should have a go now at changing the board size as well. I have no idea how difficult this will be; one problem is that Winboard defines board width and height though the same constant BOARD_SIZE. So I would have to go through the entire code to decide in every place where this constant is used if it refers to the height or width of the board, and specify it accordingly...

nczempin

Re: Would someone be interested in programming....

Post by nczempin » Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:24 am

hgm wrote:I guess so. I did not change anything in the basic mechanism for accessing and interpreting the fonts; it is still as Allessandro Scotti made it. I just expanded the number of piece types Winboard can support. In the native bitmap mode of Winboard the Queen-side alternatives for Rook, Knight and Bishop just show up as copies of of their King-side counterparts.

Perhaps I should have a go now at changing the board size as well. I have no idea how difficult this will be; one problem is that Winboard defines board width and height though the same constant BOARD_SIZE. So I would have to go through the entire code to decide in every place where this constant is used if it refers to the height or width of the board, and specify it accordingly...
You could also leave the constant and just make it uniformly bigger, and somehow invalidate the extra squares. Just a hacker's thought.

User avatar
hgm
Posts: 24740
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller
Contact:

Re: Would someone be interested in programming....

Post by hgm » Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:09 pm

Wow! I have a user-selectable board size now, through command-line options /boardWidth and /boardHeight. 8-)

Post Reply