front-end for lc0 on mac os x

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
smcracraft
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Orange County California
Full name: Stuart Cracraft
Contact:

front-end for lc0 on mac os x

Post by smcracraft » Sun May 26, 2019 3:22 am

Can anyone point me at a URL for a Mac OS X front-end chess-board handler to put in front of lc0?

MikeB
Posts: 3050
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am
Location: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania

Re: front-end for lc0 on mac os x

Post by MikeB » Sun May 26, 2019 4:28 am

smcracraft wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 3:22 am
Can anyone point me at a URL for a Mac OS X front-end chess-board handler to put in front of lc0?
xBoard - it works great.

You can get a preconfigured app bundle or compile yourself.

https://www.gnu.org/software/xboard/

HGM , one of our moderators, is the current author and has helped me with many questions I had over the years.

smcracraft
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Orange County California
Full name: Stuart Cracraft
Contact:

Re: front-end for lc0 on mac os x

Post by smcracraft » Sun May 26, 2019 4:54 am

Hi.

I've installed the Xboard dmg disk image and it is running.

What are the methods for setting it to run lc0?

I set the lc0 directory and executable and played e2e4 but leela/lc0 never plays a move as black.

There is some kind of setting I am missing in xboard?

Stuart

MikeB
Posts: 3050
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am
Location: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania

Re: front-end for lc0 on mac os x

Post by MikeB » Sun May 26, 2019 5:10 pm

smcracraft wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 4:54 am
Hi.

I've installed the Xboard dmg disk image and it is running.

What are the methods for setting it to run lc0?

I set the lc0 directory and executable and played e2e4 but leela/lc0 never plays a move as black.

There is some kind of setting I am missing in xboard?

Stuart
Paste your lc0 engine settings ( the xboard settings) here and paste a UCI engine setting that is working ( try Stockfish). It may be as simple as needing the -fUCI flag,

Here's my lc0 setting

"/Users/*********/cluster.mfb/lc0" -fd "/Users/*********/cluster.mfb" -fUCI

and I always keep the weights file in the same folder as lc0

Post Reply