Using profiler on linux

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
Look
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:14 pm
Location: Iran
Full name: Mehdi Amini
Contact:

Using profiler on linux

Post by Look » Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:53 pm

Hi,

As I remember , one could use Visual Studio profiler on Windows OS. What about that on Linux OS ? I found this link , any better idea ?

abulmo2
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:04 am
Contact:

Re: Using profiler on linux

Post by abulmo2 » Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:26 pm

As your link show, gprof is a possible solution.
Another one is using perf: https://perf.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Main_Page
Richard Delorme

Joost Buijs
Posts: 927
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:47 am
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Using profiler on linux

Post by Joost Buijs » Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:46 pm

If you have an Intel CPU another option would be Intel Vtune.

https://software.intel.com/en-us/vtune/ ... standalone

dragontamer5788
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:05 pm
Full name: Percival Tiglao

Re: Using profiler on linux

Post by dragontamer5788 » Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:29 pm

Joost Buijs wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:46 pm
If you have an Intel CPU another option would be Intel Vtune.

https://software.intel.com/en-us/vtune/ ... standalone
And if you have an AMD CPU, AMD uProf is okay. Not anywhere as good as VTune, but access to hardware-level counters is always useful.

Look
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:14 pm
Location: Iran
Full name: Mehdi Amini
Contact:

Re: Using profiler on linux

Post by Look » Fri Sep 06, 2019 2:03 pm

I played around with gcc profiler and produced the text output. It was fun. In future I may try heavier projects to see what happens.

Post Reply